We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Owl's Nest

View of The Owl's Nest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of The Owl's Nest.
Simple but charming log cabin View from east,picnic area south facing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
View of The Owl's Nest.
Simple but charming log cabin
View from east,picnic area south facing
Open plan sitting and kitchen area
Views over the fields with grazing horses & goats
Cosy and comfortable sitting area with views across open fields
Kitchen with oven,gas hob & microwave
Light,airy bedroom comfortable double bedroom
Bathroom with shower
No owls in here !
One of many rescued barn owls at The Sanctuary
Beautiful views from cabin across open field; grazing horses & goats to feed
Stunning but never quiet !
Smile ! You're Going on Holiday !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
EmmaSqu
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely place to spend a few nights away. Bedroom and bathroom lovely and warm. The lounge area was heated by an electric heater which never really warmed the large room up. Lots of blankets provided but this room could do with central heating like the bedroom and bathroom in the winter months. Other than that can't fault the place it was very well equipped, plenty of hot water. We enjoyed feeding the horses, ponies and goats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful except for the trains”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Arrived Monday afternoon but did not actually meet with anyone at the site until Wednesday morning. The door to the Owl's Nest was open however any everything we required was supplied and the place spotlessly clean. My two grandchildren loved feeding the horses and goats but the only other animals on view were the rabbits and peacocks, the latter regularly trying to come indoors. Because it was October the weather was not very good. It would probably be much better in the summer time but I would still consider going back again. Unfortunately the wifi was switched off when we arrived and was not on until day 3

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: How easy it was for the children to run around outside in perfect safety
Liked least: The noise of the trains passing a very short distance away at 6am
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette19...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You must stay here!!!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

When I first arrived at the Owls Nest I squealed with delight and told my boyfriend we were never leaving this place.
Unfortunately we did have to eventually leave. But not before making friends with the goats, sheep, donkeys, horse, pony and peacocks.

The Owls Nest is a fantastic home away from home. It was cosy but spacious. Clean and nicely decorated. The little touchs like the milk for a brew was much appreciated. The bed is comfy and so is the couch. The kitchen was well kitted out with a selection of plates, glasses and bits and pieces. Waking up in the morning and opening the blind to the sight of the goats was lovely. The power shower was an unexpected find! Nothing worse than a weak shower.
Overall we loved our stay here. And we do plan on returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you for a fantastic review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The goats,ponies and peacocks are great neighbours aren't they - especially when they call for their breakfast !
See you here again one day soon. Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayDr...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect - everything close by but peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We are so happy we chose the Owl's Nest - clean, peaceful and close to amenities. Everything you could ask for in a holiday home. Gifts on arrival, pleasant owners, animals, play park. Perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely place to stay
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael P
1 review
“Recommended place to relax!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely peaceful place to relax, very clean accommodation, everything there you need! Lovely surroundings and the animals are charming!! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing