We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Border Forest Lodges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Border Forest Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Border Forest Lodges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just recently got back from the Border Forest Lodges with family and had an absolutely brilliant time. We stayed in the Goshawk Lodge and it was spotlessly clean, warm and cosy. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you need. The site is quiet but that's what we like, somewhere to go to totally relax away from the hussle and bussle of everyday life. There are plenty of lovely walks through the forest which is right on your doorstep, our dog Holly had a great time running through the forest. The hot tub is an absolute bonus, especially after a long, hard walk. We were in there every night and morning. It was -6 outside and 40 degrees in the tub. I would certainly recommend this place if you enjoy the countryside and peace and quiet. It was great meeting the owners pet pigs, Bubble and Squeak, they used to greet us every morning. The owners are very friendly and helpful and do everything they can to ensure you enjoy your stay. Kelso is a nice place to visit and we drove to Hawick which we enjoyed. The nearest pub is about 4 miles drive called the First and Last and we ate there most nights, pub grub - never had a bad meal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed in the Goshawk lodge for 4 nights in December. The lodge was spotless warm and cosy. Kitchen was very well equipped. The owners were very friendly and helpful lovely people .The hot tub was amazing even in the cold dark nights in december.Plenty of walks on the doorstep for our dog Bobby. Kielder Forest is on the doorstep.Very lovely peaceful location. We realy enjoyed this break just before the run up to Christmas mad rush. Loved the little Chrismas Tree that was lit up for our arrival. Will return one day soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbysocksNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

20 minute drive from the closest shop , and a 5 minute walk from the closest forest sums up where you are ! the site is very clean and the heron (log cabin) where we stayed for the week was very spacious and well equipped with everything needed for a quiet break . The owners are very helpful and are very knowlegable of the local area and walks considering they are from london ! all in all its fantastic place and the hot tub is a real treat !!

Room Tip: im not sure of the difference in price but the hot-tub is a real treat and would be worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirkbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just returned from a half term break and had a really lovely relaxing time the camp was clean and catered for every need my 3 grand children took their play station with them and only put it on twice which believe me is a record would recommend this place to everybody can't wait for next year

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suebaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here in one of the lodges while on a walking holiday last April. The accomodation was simple, but had everything we needed and was warm and spotlessly clean. The owners are friendly and helpful and are happy to give advice on local areas of interest and nearby walking tracks.

The park itself is in a beautiful location and ideal for those who enjoy the countryside. There is no restaurant, but there is a nice pub a short drive away that does decent meals. If you're looking for a quiet get-away this is a great place. The accomodation is certainly not 5 star, but the cleanliness of the site and the helpfullness of the owners certainly is.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phnompers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
20.3 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kielder Lodges
Kielder Lodges
#1 of 3 in Kielder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
9.4 mi away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#4 of 20 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
PoSHHuts
PoSHHuts
#1 of 1 in Falstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#6 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Border Forest Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border Forest Holiday Park

Property: Border Forest Holiday Park
Address: Cottonshopeburnfoot, Otterburn NE19 1TF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Out of 10 dogs prefer to bring their owners to Border Forest Holiday Park.We are situated on the Pennine Way with direct access onto the mighty Kielder Forest and in the very centre of the 'Dark Skies' gold award area.There are miles and miles of walks and cycle tracks and fantastic opportunities to see wildlife in its natural habitat. You do not have to have a four legged friend to enjoy the peace and tranquility here. The park has 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Lodges with hot tubs, two 'Bijou' type cottages each sleeping 2 and at the lower end of our park, Electric hookups and hard standings for tourers and motor homes. There is a campers kitchen and toilets and the showers blocks at the top of the park are included in our tariffs.Please note we are a Quiet family run park with no Bar,Restaurant or shop.Please note we no longer accept tents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Border Forest Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Border Forest Holiday Park Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing