We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly B&B!”

Butterchurn Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterchurn Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 December 2012

A group of us stayed here on the weekend for a friends wedding that was in the area.
Very friendly and helpful owner.
The rooms were spacious and very clean with a comfy bed.
Lovely cooked breakfast both mornings.
I would be extremely happy to stay here again and would highly recommend this to be the place to stay if you're ever in Otterburn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieSam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and two children stopped for a night on the way down the UK. The B&B is very clean and there is pleanty of space in the room. The decor is a little tired, and could do with an update.The family room fronts onto the road, and the churchyard across the way. I found the road noise and the bell in the chuch (which chimed the time through the night) a little disturbing. Breakfast was fabulous, and the service was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvd_blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at Churnside with our dog while attending a wedding in August. The web site stated that they now served afternoon tea upon arrival. We were informed that the owner was away and they didn't know anything about tea. Later we did meet the owner, who said there was a charge for the tea and you had to book ahead for it. That was not stated on the web site.
However, the room was clean and did have all the necessary requirements, if a bit basic. But the TV didn't work and when we sat in the 'lounge' to try and watch the news from there, the owner seemed quite put out about it. Her general attitude seemed to be that we were a bit of an imposition in staying there at all. Not the reception you expect to receive at a 'friendly' B & B.
The following morning we reported for breakfast (only served between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m.) This turned out to be one of the meanest 'full English' I have ever seen. I'm not say if it said 'mushroom' or 'mushrooms' but whichever it must have been a miniscule button one. Since I didn't have tomato and baked beans a little extra here wouldn't have gone amiss.
We won't be going back there in a hurry, or recommending it to friends, which is a shame since the location is excellent, despite the limited parking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backinbritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Me and my fiance stayed at thw Guest House in June for a friends wedding at Otterburn Tower. Its ideally situated in the village, only a short 5 min walk to the Tower (even less to the pub!). It was lovely and clean! The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was also lovely! The only negative thing i would say is it is a bit dated and could do with a revamp. Overall though i would stay again :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Delightful 4 nights spent here while 2 of the party walked the Pennine Way. The weather was exceedingly cold and wet for May but Val was so helpful with drying facilities and lovely warm rooms to cheer us up at the end of the day. Time spent in the very comfortable , warm guest lounge was a great way to end the day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed on our way up to Edinburgh as it was a bit ambitious to drive all the way on a Friday evening! This B & B was a great place to stop off for an evening! The owners were very accommodating when I called ahead to say we were going to be later than 9:00 p.m. It was no issue at all that we were going to be late and they were courteous enough to tell us that food would no longer be served in the local pubs when we arrived and suggested places to stop before hand. The room was full of character, clean and a good size! Although we left early the next morning, we did enjoy a lovely breakfast but did not have the time to check out the beautiful back garden! Highly recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fradeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had a fab stay at the Butterchurn recently despite some dramas that affected the whole village!

Were there fro a friends wedding and the whole village lost power for 12 hours. Val was fantastic throughout as I called her through the day for updates, she provided hot water bottles for my Mum and I and was so warm and chatty throughout our whole stay.

Rooms very clean, nicely appointed, beds perfect and crisp clean warm bedding, none of that blanket rubbish you get proper quilts here!

Breakfast when you please, good selection of buffet and the cooked breakfast to die for!!! Lovel room to eat in too with nice views.

Didnt feel rushed at all it was a lovely trip and again Val was thoughtful and kind throughout.

Prices excellent and would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground floor and a residents lounge too - ideal for guests in wheelchairs or with mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach_disco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otterburn hotels
20.3 mi away
Dunns Houses Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
22 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
284 reviews
21 mi away
William de Percy Inn & Creperie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
23.6 mi away
Border Forest Holiday Park
Border Forest Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Otterburn
98 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#5 of 6 in Otterburn
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterchurn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterchurn Guest House

Address: Main Street, Otterburn NE19 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Butterchurn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterchurn Guest House Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing