We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stopover”

Butterchurn Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterchurn Guest House
Ranked #4 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This really is a fab little place if you are just looking for a stopover on a trip to the North of England.
Val Anderson is very friendly host and you can come and go as you please.
All the rooms have en-suite bathroom and either have road view or garden view.
It is lovely and quiet in the area, with just one village shop and the Otterburn Mill.
Woodhall Hill is a 5 monute drive away or 20 min walk in case you are around for a wedding in that venue. a Taxi ride from Butterchurn Guest House to Woodhill Hall is only £5.00
The breakfast included with the room is just perfect, either continental or full English or both if you wish. Very reasonable room rates too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1909Flemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed one night as we were going to a wedding at Woodhill Hall. This was exactly what we needed and in a very handy location. The room was nice, bed was comfy and the shower was good which ticks all boxes for me!

I liked the living room area where guests congregated. That was a nice touch and seemed to be used by most people which I find quite dare. The breakfast was also pretty good, I got an extra tomato as they'd ran out of beans!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Butterchurn for four nights. Lovely B and B and nothing is too much trouble for Val. Rooms at the front and overlooking the garden at the back. Dining room with lovely breakfast and nice choice. We'll be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BootsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had a really nice weekend here and although the rooms appear a little dated, they are spotless.
Really nice welcome and a good choice for breakfast.

Good Off road parking
Clean rooms
Ensuite shower
Friendly owner and staff
Good choice of cereals, full cooked breakfast or a mix.
Tip:
If you need cash then either buy something from the village shop and get cash back or pop into Bellingham for a hole in the wall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TartanPimpernel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Butterchurn is exactly what I expected. Comfortable, clean and homely. Rooms are big, but fairly basic. Quite a lot of traffic noise if you have a roadside room. Breakfast is first class and the service cheerful and friendly. I'd go again.

Room Tip: Don't go for a roadside room if you want any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoupeColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Made to feel really comfortable and at home, staff go out of their way to help you. Really friendly and inviting atmosphere :) beautiful scenery nearby, nice escape from busy built up areas. Not too far for a trip to either Newcastle or Scotland border!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the 27th September to attend a wedding at Otterburn castle. The room was very comfortable and staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was superb we had the full English both days followed by toast and jam. There was a menu and you could have whatever you wished, the view from the dinning room is beautiful and to top it all we only had to stagger across the road from the castle after the wedding! Perfect :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileenmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.1 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
10.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
16.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
William de Percy Inn & Creperie
0.9 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#5 of 6 in Otterburn
31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dunns Houses Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterchurn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterchurn Guest House

Address: Main Street, Otterburn NE19 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Butterchurn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterchurn Guest House Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing