We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful stay - beautiful rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otterburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunns Houses Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful stay - beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our party of 5 stayed in a family and single room. The family room was a great size and both rooms were nicely furnished in what I'd call a 'vintage farmhouse' style, with views over the fields. The owner Jane was very busy with her horses and largely left us to enjoy a very peaceful stay. On a rainy day she was happy for us to use the fireplace in the lounge all day, and kept the woodpile well stocked, which was marvellous. The kids loved seeing the horses and lambs in the fields beside the house.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mezphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunnsHouses, Owner at Dunns Houses Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
We appriciate your comments about Dunns Houses Farmhouse B & B in Northumberland we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us thank you.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed 4 nights this time - a return visit. Jane is the perfect hostess, frequently asking whether her guests need anything more. The farmhouse is large and my bedroom has the most stunning views across the valley to Otterburn and beyond with the Cheviots in the distance. Breakfast was a joy with choices for all tastes and plenty of it. The guest lounge (where breakfast is also served) has an open fire which Jane lights if wanted with a TV, soft furniture and books/magazines.
Beds are comfortable and towels are large enough which is a luxury!
Good location for the Cheviots, Kielder etc as it sits on the side of the A68 down a drive so quiet and peaceful.
Plenty of animals around this working farm.

Room Tip: Rede has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfolk_HelenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham. S Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is a very large working farm with sheep, cattle and horses but the whole farm area was kept very clean and tidy with no “farm yard” smells. My wife and I stayed for two nights before travelling on to Alnwick. Mrs Walton was the perfect, attentive host. Our room was comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. My wife (who has to have wheat/gluten free meals) was presented with the best breakfast choice she has ever experienced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Dunn's Houses was our first B&B stop on our recent magical trip to the UK. I wasn't sure what to expect, (and didn't realize I could program postal codes into my GPS so had some trouble finding it at first) but it surpassed my expectations. The farmhouse is a jewel set in a magnificent setting high in the Cheviots, surrounded by beautiful paddocks that give way to long rolling fields and soaring hills. Jane met us and showed us into our pretty room, complete with fresh milk for our tea before we headed off to have adventures.
We returned on the late side, and I went out to wander the grounds before bed. I had a lovely chat with the jump racers whom Jane trains with her daughter, then had a lovely walk around the gardens. It was after 11pm and the sky was still ablaze in the west. Astonishing!
The bed was very comfortable, the room clean as a pin. The TV is a little small but I think a bigger one would be incongruous. The bathroom is also on the small side, with a shower that's a little tight for a gal of my...er....generous proportions. But the view overlooking the paddocks, and the welcoming warmth of the room itself more than made up for it.
Breakfast was sheer delight, in a beautiful drawing room with loads of hot coffee, fruit and yogurt on the sideboard and a delicious cooked meal prepared by Jane.
Quiet and beauty were our main goals, and this lovely place more than provided them.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridetbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed for 3 nights to explore Northumberland and Holy Island. The house is an old large farmhouse with, I think, 3 guest rooms. Our room was a large family room which meant that two of us had loads of room. We had windows on two sides with great views across country. The bathroom was built within the room and had a shower, basin and toilet. The decor was a little dated and the television small bt it was very clean and well looked after.
When you arrived or returned for the day, Jane met you and gave you a jug of fresh milk for tea and coffee. On arrival you also selected your breakfast for the duration of the stay. The breakfast was fresh and well cooked and kept us going until mid afternoon on our travels.
On our first night we had dinner pre booked and it was a good choice which we enjoyed. On the other nights there are other local pubs and hotels within 5 miles where you can obtain a discount from the B&B. You need to bring your own wine or beer but that is not a problem for them.
The farmhouse is off the main road but the road itself is not busy so you are not bothered by any road noise. The family are very welcoming anf friendly and overall it was an enjoyable stay and we will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshireman abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

I stayed here one night with my wife during a driving holiday through England. We always try to choose country B&Bs as they offer the peace and quiet we don't get living in London! Dunns Farmhouses is a lovely place to stay, and the hosts are very friendly and cook a great English breakfast! This really is a family home and doesn't have the more flash or modern look of some B&Bs but to me this adds to its charm. The surrounding countryside is ideal for an evening stroll, and even their horses are very friendly! I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, peaceful location
  • Disliked — The room was a little overcrowded with furniture!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
1.2 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
10.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
6.4 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#6 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunns Houses Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunns Houses Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dunns Houses Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Otterburn | Northumberland, Otterburn NE19 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star rural farmhouse bed and breakfast. Newly refurbished en-suite rooms.Beautiful location in Northumberland National Park. Working farm and racehorse yard on sight. Close to numerous Northumberland attractions. A fantastic spot for a summer holiday with great hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunns Houses Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing