We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful exterior but very dated and tired interior.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Northumberland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful exterior but very dated and tired interior.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I are in our thirties and decided upon a night away together at the hotel. The castle is beautiful from the outside, as are the grounds and surrounding countryside. Inside however is a different story. Our room was very dated. Desperately in need of money spent inside, a complete refurb is needed. Our bed was extremely uncomfortable. We only paid 79 quid including breakfast so you get what you pay for. Breakfast was just okay, nothing special. Our meal in the bistro next door was very good, but unfortunately there were a group of local young men in, playing drinking games and being rowdy. Unfortunately two female staff members were encouraging the behaviour. Not very romantic! Stay in the a la carte restaurant if you don't want to be bothered by this. Overall it was a poor stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj1982Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    214
    110
    49
    42
See reviews for
81
416
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I had a two night stay in a very pleasant room with a huge bathroom. Although it could not be described as a "period" room it was full of character with original internal wooden shutters on the windows and the feel of a place where people have been sleeping for several hundred years! We loved it. The first night we had a three course meal in the Oak Room, a lovely oak panelled dining room which again had entertained folk for hundreds of years. The food and service were excellent as was the wine. Service was slow because the food is obviously prepared as it is ordered but sitting in this lovely setting enjoying the atmosphere is a bonus, not a distraction. The second night we chose to eat in the Stables Bar since we did not want a multi course meal. This, again ,was excellent, the food being prepared in the same kitchen by the same chef.
The breakfast selection was great with the Northumbrian Breakfast being a definite recommendation! Lovely, pleasant and helpful staff.
The grounds and location are wonderful -it always surprises us that this stunning area is not more of a tourist attraction. To anyone who does not know this area make a point of driving though Coquetdale from Otterburn to Rothbury to see what I mean.
We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The room we had, number 10, would be the one we would request again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a wedding present with a 3 course meal. The hotel has a lot of character and charm and we were very comfortable there. The room was large and extremely warm with a wall radiator and separate free-standing radiator, which stayed on all night. There was a new lcd flat screen television also... The bathroom was well-appointed and is one of the few hotels I have stayed in with a bidet! The 3 course meal was delicious with a good selection of food and wine. The breakfast was also of a very high standard.The staff made us feel very welcome during all parts of the stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahorseuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle, england
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I booked a DBB break as a base for some wonderful Autumn hill walking in Northumberland. The previous Tripadvisor reviews were positive with 10% uncomplimentary. Having been to the Castle I have to wonder what the people who were unhappy want for their money!!!
Not much more than 30 minutes from Newcastle City Centre, the castle is impressive from the outside with a huge free car park. The staff could not be more friendly and competent and the food was of a really high standard. Sitting with a drink next to roaring log fires is always a pleasure and the price I paid for this (including 2 excellent meals) was less then I would pay for a box room with no window in a grubby part of London.
Some of the furnishings are a little tired but I have no doubt I will stay here again and I ask every reasonable person to disregard the handful of poor reviews which have been written by people who want true 5 star luxury but wouldn't dream of paying what that costs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Took 3 rooms there on 1st November. The rooms had loads of character and we had a particularly charming room with a four poster and great views over the Estate.
The bar lacked a little atmosphere and the lounge where we had our drinks looked a little sparse, but I have to compliment the staff on their wonderful service.
It was probably one of the most friendly Hotels I have ever stayed in and worth a visit to be looked after by such a lovely team.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Came here with a voucher from deal monster and overall wasent a bad stay. The place is looking rather tired inside but looks very impressive from the outside. The food was ok nothing to get to excited about though but very disappointed to be served frozen cheesecake. We have stayed at the nearby Otterburn Hall Hotel and much prefer there.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 that overlooks the marquee, very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunderlandFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAKEFIELD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My Friend and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel.

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely huge log fire in the foyer. The receptionist was very polite and we were shown to our room, it was fine, but the place is in need of some love. It is run down and scruffy, windows that would not open, so constantly covered in condensation and mould. The cleaners must get rather despondent at having to try and make the place look presentable. The television only had 3 channels, the shower was fine, water very hot, and we had a bidet in our bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and the linen and towels were clean and fresh.

The food was un memorable, the breakfast buffet was sparse, cooked breakfast ok but nothing special.

We stayed one weekend when a Disco was on and a Hypnotist was performing. This was held in a marquee which was very cold and draughty. I did not particularly enjoy the entertainment it was average and predictable.

On a positive note, the hotel staff were all very polite and welcoming, and all took the time out to chat to us and they all worked very hard to accommodate the guests.

The hotel is quite a distance from civilisation, but looked to have some beautiful walks in the area. There is a village store, and a mill shop within close proximity, so if you are looking for a very quiet, lots of fresh air, relaxing break, and not offended by peeling wallpaper, damp patches ect:, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Property: Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing