We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a ghost in sight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Newcastle uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not a ghost in sight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the otterburn castle and must say I was very impressed. Our room (room 7) the Library Suite was huge and very grand and with sparkling wine & chocolates waiting for us I felt almost royal. The four poster bed set the room off perfectly. The room was freezing when we got there (could have been all the ghosts we'd heard about) but with a little help from an electric heater we were soon cosy. What else can you expect from a building made of stone. We didn't eat in the hotel at night but the breakfast in the morning was very nice. All in all a very pleasant weekend away.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wennortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    201
    107
    47
    42
See reviews for
78
388
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel outside is very grand when you arrive. Open log fires in the reception and main lounge - which were very welcome as the hotel is an old building with large rooms which were quite cold in November. Reception staff very accommodating. We attended a wedding nearby and left our room at lunchtime - only to return to an unmade room; perhaps we should have asked for the room to be serviced.

Room 4 with the four posted bed was very nice. White towelling bath robes are very welcome. Heavy curtains made the room cosy and we slept very well.

Evening meal in the restaurant was ok, £18 for 2 courses (local cheese very nice - but comes with Northumberland oat cakes - which were an acquired taste.

Amazing setting - walk in the grounds or to the local Otterburn Mill.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

It's difficult not to be impressed as you roll up to the front of the hotel. Neat gardens and the exterior looks not at all bad, considering its age and history.

The entrance lobby was warm and inviting and check-in was swift. The receptionist shoed us to our room, which was a nice touch.

Things then went decidedly Pete Tong for a few minutes, as our room totally underwhelmed us, as it was tired with well worn fittings and furniture. I put most of it down to the lack of paint brush action, but my good lady said that some arm muscle wouldn't have gone amiss. A dusty mirror and a nice array of cobwebs added to the wow factor! The bathroom was no better, with numerous condensation marks and a dated bath and shower combination. There were some bathroom accessories, but you wouldn't want to hang around in there any longer than necessary. And then there was the marquee, conveniently situated to block the view from our bedroom window. The room was also cold when we entered, although it warmed up quickly enough when we fired up the heaters.

However, we don't do moping, so we decided to do what we always do when fortune has not been kind: head for the bar!

The newly completed Stable Bar is a real plus, and its modern, funky interior contrasts nicely with the period charm of the main building. It has a pool table, TV, juke-box [!], but more importantly, a fine selection of foreign lagers and some impressive local real ales. The seating area for bar meals is situated away from afore mentioned pool table, so you won't be disturbed by any noise from excited hustlers!

The food was as good as I can remember from any hotel stay in recent years, and was equally enjoyable in both the bar and in the impressive, wood panelled dining-room. The head chef was on the sick, so the sous chef had taken the reigns, and what a job he did. One to watch, me thinks. Breakfast was superb as well, with locally sourced ingredients.

As always, it's the staff that make a place, and the quality of the team here could not be faulted. Smiling, helpful without being overly intrusive.

I heard that the Malaysian owner had planned to start upgrading the bedrooms earlier this year, but that this has been put back to early next year. He's got the potential to create something really special here, so the sooner the work commences the better.

I've given the visit 4 stars, which might seem generous considering the room quality, but we slept well, enjoyed our visit and drove away happy. Is that not what it's all about?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Octoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have stayed here before and had a good time, but on our second visit we were a little disappointed. The staff were pleasant, but the hotel is looking a little tired now. The main reception rooms were somewhat lacking in atmosphere, especially the bar. The food was nice in the evening, and the dining room has the welcoming feel that the rest of the place lacks. The bistro next door is like a community hall! Very stark. Sadly we would not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

myself and husband have just returned after a weekend stay at the castle and would like to say it was fantastic the room was beautiful, on entering i was drawn towards the old tv in a corner of the room but we had not started to unpack when a young guy brought a flat screen tv with built in dvd very please about that.
the staff was 1st class,helpful and very pleasant, food was all served by two very hard working polite young girls and was wonderfully presented top marks to the chef.
the castle was everything and more that i was expecting,the grounds were fantastic i can`t wait to return in the summer to see it in full bloom.
the room was cleaned with fresh towels
after booking the castle i read reviews and i was quite took back with what people had wrote, the castle is old and very well kept, the tower dates back to 1245 so please expect and respect the fact the castle is OLD and not a modern country hotel.
we were very impressed with the well on your way to the toilets off from the sitting room, what a feature fab loved it.
our overall stay was great we will most definately be going back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Ushered straight to our room upon arrival as bar and lounges full with a funeral wake and were told it would clear in a couple of hours. I know it's an old building but furnishings quite grubby and in need of a refurb and rooms were very cold throughout hotel.

Bistro was closed, had dinner in restaurant, food ok, bit cold. Had a four poster bed which was why we booked but mattress was rock hard and very uncomfortable.

Staff could have made stay better if they tried to but seemed not to want to! Overall, disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here from 1-2 November. I have to admit we were worried having read some reviews the night before we were due to stay. However, we had a very enjoyable stay. We ate in the hotel on the first night and had breakfast both mornings. Our meal was enjoyable but could have been a bit warmer. Breakfast however was good and plenty of choice. We found the staff to be very pleasant and attentive. Our room was large and warm. A few comments we read people were complaining that the room was cold, we never found our room cold at all. Our TV reception was good and we had all freeview channels. Again lots of reviews complained about the tv reception!! We certainly had no problems. The hotel is beautiful from the outside and we found it to be full of character which you would associate with this type of building. Perhaps people pay a reasonable price for their stay but expect the Ritz....be realistic, you get what you pay for and we were more than happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
14.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Property: Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing