We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Manchester - UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Not quite finished the renovations still needs the finishing touches BUT what was done was brilliant. Huge log fires lit in both lounges, evening meal was perfect presentation first class. Breakfast ten out of ten and served on hot plates, bacon well cooked as requested. the lady on reception was out standing every request dealt with immediately and so willingly. The other staff also a pleasure friendly, smiley and hard working. A HUGE thank you to you ALL. ( the playing of the piano! an hysterical moment).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    208
    110
    49
    42
See reviews for
79
408
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in a family room with our 3 year old and baby for 125.00 bed and breakfast. The room was a reasonable size and newly carpeted and painted. We only realised when we went to bed that there was no blind nor curtains in the room - so the sun came in early in the morning to wake up the little ones, there was also a yapping dog that sounded like it was very close to our room, perhaps in the hotel that was irritating when trying to get to sleep and a fire alarm at around midnight to top it off - caused by someone in another room smoking so not really the hotels fault.

On a positive note the staff were pleasant and the cooked breakfast was nice but there was little of the continental breakfast left when we went down at 9am

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer7879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I have just spent Saturday night at this delightful Castle hotel. We upgraded to a suite and this was well worth the extra £25. We ate a 3 course meal in the restaurant and it was fantastic. The setting is absolutely amazing, the room was warm and extremely comfortable, TV reception was hit and miss but we didn't go there for the TV. I read the previous reviews and was a little bit wary but we had no issues at all. There was roaring fire in the guest lounge and this could just do with a little more personalisation.The bar prices were very good, no rip offs here. The staff were very helpful and extremely courteous and a great asset to the hotel. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is fantastic with superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobo_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at Otterburn Castle on the 22nd March as a getaway treat for my birthday. We had a lovely stay, the room as excellent, clean, comfortable, plenty of space, comfy bed, and warm as it was a little cold outside.
We had dinner in the restaurant and had the £30 menu which was very good, and a nice bottle of Merlot at a reasonable price topped it off perfectly.
Breakfast was delicious, we both had the full English, well you have to really, although we did offset it a little with some fruit to start. The location was lovely but we didn't do much outside exploring as the ground was very wet after the recent rains and we didn't bring our walking gear. The hotel was fairly busy but there was plenty of space in the 2 lounges and a roaring fire in both during the evening.
The whole hotel had recently been refurbished and was spotless. The staff were very helpful and a special mention goes to the waiting team in the restaurant who were lovely.
We'd highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay in a stunning location.
Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alantomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We went to Otterburn Castle for a mid week spontaneous get away. Although we'd driven through the area many times this was the first time we'd stayed. The welcome from the receptionist was warm and friendly and we were shown up to the most fabulous room (room15) with a hallway, bedroom, separate sitting room and bathroom. Lovely views over the gardens from the front of the castle completed the picture. The room and the hotel had been recently refurbished with new carpets, fresh paintwork, lovely bedding and towels and was extremely comfortable and warm. We opted to eat in the Bistro and although there was only one other table in the service was very professional and friendly and the food was great and excellent value. It was a shame the place wasn't busier as that would have added atmosphere to what was a lovely meal. Breakfast was fantastic, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and a full English - well cooked, good quality ingredients and piping hot - and the extra treat was having it served to you rather than the usual queue at a lack lustre buffet so common in most hotels these days. Plentiful supplies of toast and tea set us up for the day ahead. The staff were without exception the friendliest, happiest and most professional people you could wish to have looking after you. We only wish we had booked in for a second night.
If there are any points for improvement it would be that in refurbishing the hotel a little of the original feel has been taken away. Some rugs, pictures and a scattering of antiques would set off the magnificent rooms so well, however given the money already spent in getting the basics right I'm sure this will follow in time.
We look forward to coming back to Otterburn Castle soon and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great stay in a lovely building at a great value price.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 15 which was bigger than some flats we have viewed and was at the front of the cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorksRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The room and views were excellent,so nice and warm we felt totally relaxed in it.
The food was excellent, my husband and I thought it was the best we have had in a hotel for a long time?Staff were very helpful,would definitely recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon and were shown to our room by a friendly receptionist. The room was lovely, new carpet throughout, a huge king size bed, fluffy towels in the bathroom and very warm. The furniture was old but this is a castle after all.
We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant with great service from the manager who was friendly and efficient.
The bar area needed a few homely objects, maybe some rugs and a picture or two and some plants or flowers. The wood burning fire was lovely to sit beside before dinner.
Breakfast was lovely, scrambled eggs with lots of smoked salmon.
I would love to return to this hotel again. Well done everyone!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.9 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Property: Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing