We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dull place to stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the hotel over bank holiday weekend. The exterior is very grand and is surrounded by lovely scenery. We checked in at reception to be told there would be no food served during our stay and the only two places to eat were 5 miles away, however for some reason they could serve hot breakfasts. I presume this was because the breakfast was microwaved. This put a bit of a dampner on our trip as we had already drove nearly 3 hours. We now couldn't have a relaxing evening as we had to venture out again. This added another 20 miles onto the trip. We decided to try the stables bar one evening. It was very bizarre. There was only one couple in there on a Saturday night at 8pm. The bar resembled a student union with its plastic chairs, large screen TV and pool table. It was a total contrast from the grand exterior of the castle. We stayed for one drink as it lacked any kind of atmosphere and I wish I never bothered to get dressed up to go there. We stayed in room 10 and it it had a mismatch of modern and old furniture. The TV was 15 inch and not worth putting on. The shower was the worst I've used. It was Luke warm and just let out a pathetic drizzle. The bed was comfy and the carpet looked new and was clean. Overall we were very disappointed with our weekend here. I complained to the receptionist who said she would get the manager to contact us at 12 when she came in but I had to ring her the next day as we received no call. She apologised and offered vouchers to eat there. However as it's a 3 hour trip to get there so we will not be using them as we are not staying there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castles_Management, General Manager at Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments!

As you were made aware on checking-in, due to unforeseen circumstances, we were not able to serve dinner during your stay and I would like to sincerely apologies for the inconvenience! Me and the team tried to make the best of the situation, however it was beyond our control. I would like to assure you that the problem is now resolved and we are serving dinner as normal.

As I presume you are aware of the fact that Otterburn Castle Hotel has just been completely refurbished and some of the furniture had to be replaced. Due to the nature of the building, which is nearly 1000 years old with an enormous amount of history, all antique furniture was kept and I believe this is the reason why you had the feeling of mismatching. All TV's were also replaced with the smallest ones being 22". Unfortunately we have not been made aware of problems with the shower and I can assure you the problem was going to be attended immediately, should we were informed about it. With regards to Stable Bar, this will be our next project, which will be completed very soon.

I would like to apologise for not being able to get in touch with you within the timescales discussed with my reception colleague, but I can assure you that I will certainly do! Once again, I am really sorry for all inconvenience and I hope we will be able to welcome you back in Otterburn Castle Hotel where you will experience a nice and relaxing stay in a country house.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    222
    111
    49
    42
See reviews for
81
426
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Slaley,United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

From outside the building was amazing very impressive! When we checked in we asked if there was a possibility of an upgrade ( paid of course) and was sharply told no as they we're busy with travelzoo vouchers! Fair enough but the lady never even checked!

Our room although a good size stunk of paint! Was overpowering at one point I was in tears ready to go home! We decided to leave the window open and go for dinner. 3 hours later the room smelt better, however as soon as we closed the window it became horribly overpowering once again! We were on the bottom floor so I didn't want to leave the window open! After a horrible sleepiness night of feeling suffocated we went for breakfast before a hasty checkout!

On reflection we should have asked reception for a move but the receptionist wasn't exactly helpful! Lovely surroundings but needs improvement!

Room Tip: Avoid room 2
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 571Lou571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a TravelZoo offer for one night D,B&B with a bottle of wine but booked for two nights. The hotel has been undergoing major redecoration and it is just beautiful. Fantastic interior furnishings and carpet (curtains were being fitted in the public rooms whilst we were there). The staff were great and the food was excellent, most of it sourced locally. Otterburn is quite remote which suited us but just be prepared to drive for days out. Our room was beautifully furnished, clean and had the usual tea/coffee making facilities and a TV. The bed linen was high thread-count cotton, lovely. We were warned that wifi would be patchy because the walls are so thick but not a problem as we took our iPads down to the lounge and the signal was fine. Only one downside, the windows did not open in our room or bathroom. Probably because of repainting recently? A couple who checked out before us made a point of mentioning that at reception. We'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Such great potential. nice location, great building. Good value with Travelzoo voucher. The hotel itself is good and staff were lovely, friendly and local. The public areas are clean, nicely furnished and decorated. Our room (paid £20 for upgrade) was fantastic, with a very large bathroom, but was let down by stained/worn carpet; the fact was brought to our attention by the member of staff who showed us the room, with an apology and assurance that it was to be re-carpeted - but that didn't make it better for us! Very comfortable large bed with crisp cotton linen; large fluffy soft white towels. However, several light bulbs had been removed (penny-pinching or energy saving?). The big let-down was the evening meal; the menu was limited and a little strange. When food arrived, it was all very spicy, some inedible, and not as described on the menu. The only veg was pureed. The impression was of a chef with ideas above his station who was experimenting with weird combinations. Doesn't work in Northumberland - in such a place, I think good honest, wholesome, unpretentious food (with fresh veg!) would go down better. Sweet was delicious, though. We weren't the only complainants. Breakfast was nothing special, but good enough. We'd stay again, but eat out.

Room Tip: When new carpets arrive, room 1 is great - large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Was looking forward to our stay.
Arrived after traveling 100 miles from our home to find only one car on the car park and nobody else to be seen but the receptionist behind her desk.
We handed over our accomodation voucher which was for dinner, bed and breakfast. We provided the usual personal details and signed the hotel registration. We were then asked "did you get our message on your answer phone?" the answer being no. ( we later found there was no message on our phone). It was then we were told there was a problem with the kitchen and there was no food service for our stay! But we could still stay for room only.
The receptionist did not know what was wrong with the kitchen, but the hotel was going to be full for a wedding function the following night?We asked if they would provide vouchers for us to eat somewhere else, NO.
Could we have a refund and was told NO because it was a voucher deal. There was no where to eat within a mile five radius of the hotel anyway. I asked the receptionist to speak to the manager and she came back and said he would do nothing, did not even have the manners to come and speak to us. We just had to get back in our car and drive 100 miles home.
My theory is that we were the only people booked into the hotel and they did not want to open the kitchen for one couple. The kitchen was going to be open the following day for the wedding party?
Shame on you Otterburn Castle Country House management.
This hotel is obviously catering for wedding parties with a full hotel and not bothered about a few people staying at other times.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nuclearfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Was looking forward to our stay. Little let down to be told no dinner available for what ever reasons we were told. Food should have been served in another area of the hotel if they have a private function. Hotel guests should never be told no food available. It's a no no in our trade.
Library room amazing. Sadly no wifi in that part of the hotel. Even though the front office rebooted the Internet.
Beautiful grounds.
Breakfast excellent. Craster kippers and Scottish smoked salmon is a must.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wayan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a dbb stay at otter burn castle via a travel zoo voucher and cannot fault any aspect of our stay. We were in room no 8 which was roomy,well furnished, spotlessly clean with an excellent bathroom. The food was first class and the location was really stunning. Give it a try, you'll just love it !!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IamArkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,107 reviews
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Property: Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing