We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in England!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otterburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best B&B in England!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

It's a big statement I know, but it's certainly the best I've stayed at.

We where visiting Otterburn to attending a wedding, we were a family of 8, 6 adults, 1 child and a 2 year old toddler.

Upon arrival Jen met us at the front of house and showed us to our rooms. The rooms are just fantastic, with special little added touches like sweets/chocolates and quality toiletries.

We stayed for 2 nights and had a evening meal on the first night cooked and served by Harry and Jen. The meal was lovely as was the breakfast both mornings.

What a great couple they are, going the extra mile in everything they do.
Spending time with their guests seems to be something they enjoy and making you feel very welcome.

If ever we visit otterburn again it will only be to spend another night at the dolphins.

Well done Harry and Jen for presenting such a lovely home and hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future.

Jon/Amy and little ernie.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonr1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We are due to get married in July in Otterburn, so took the opportunity of spending a couple of nights at one of the recommended B&B's from our venue- and we were so happy we chose The Dolphins!
From the moment of our arrival our hosts Harry and Jenny could not do enough for us, and were so happy and helpful throughout our stay. It would be worth revisiting just to catch up with them, as I'm sure we will at some point in the future!
In addition to the excellent hospitality, the room was beautiful as well as spacious and was the perfect place to return to after exploring the local area. Jen gave us a tour of the rest of the B&B, and every room would provide an additional treat whether it is a luxurious bed or stunning views of the local countryside.
Jen's breakfasts were amazing, the perfect way to start a weekend morning, and there is truly nothing we think that could be improved- it is the perfect get-away location, with the perfect hosts.
Chris and Rachel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmason83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here the weekend before Christmas to attend a wedding at Oterburn Castle. When we arrived Jen showed us to our room. The room was huge and well equipped with everything we could need! The bathroom was lovely and clean. You couldnt fault anything about it. Jen gave us a lift down to the castle as it was raining which was so kind. The breakfast the next day was delicious, with loads of choice on the menu. After breakfast Jen gave us a tour of the house which was all stunning! We even had a game of pool in the games room. Jen and Harry couldnt have been more helpful. They were so friendly we felt like we had known them for ages. When we left Jen sent us off with Christmas Cake and a card. This is by far one of the best stays we have had. We stayed in the Butternchurn the second night and it didnt compare at all to the Dolphins at all. We wish now we had of lost our deposit on the Butterchurn to stay at the Dophins a second night!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The room we had in the Dolphins was better equipped and more spacious than a lot of four star hotels i have stayed in, beautifully decorated and every home comfort you could wish for.
Jenny and Harry are the most helpful and friendly couple you could wish to meet nothing was too much trouble. Treat this as your home was the first thing Jen said to us and we were certainly made to feel at home.
The food was wonderfully home cooked and the house and surroundings are beautiful, we will certainly return for another stay.
We would recommend The Dolphins to anyone as our stay was superb.

Room Tip: all rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The room we stayed in at The Dolphins was spacious and stylish, with a large en-suite bathroom and a fantastic shower. Jen and Harry made us feel so welcome in their beautiful home, and nothing was too much trouble. Harry provided a taxi service to and from the wedding we were attending nearby. Jen's breakfast was amazing, so much choice, much better than in many hotels I have stayed in. Jen showed us around the other bedrooms and all of them were spacious and beautifully presented. We would not hesitate to recommend The Dolphins, you will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A friendly, good-humoured couple who clearly love to entertain, Jenny and Harry made me most welcome from my arrival at 'The Dolphins' to the end of my stay, accommodating me cheerfully and with alacrity for an extra, unplanned day. Jenny went (literally) the extra mile by driving me to Newcastle for my train home when I was incapacitated.

A nice, spacious room with en-suite - bath and shower - a very good bed, and generous and wholesome food, I couldn't have asked for more.

Diane P.

Room Tip: I had the best room at the front, which had a king-sized bed, whilst rooms at the back had a splendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannymags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

although we arrived late from a wedding, Harry stayed up to show us to the accommodation. the room we stayed in was extremely comfortable and warm and the facilities are excellent. the breakfast was first class and we felt very well looked after. we had our two young daughters with us and we were all made to feel very welcome, I'd certainly recommend for young families. would definitely come back if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardginns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
10.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
7.1 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
William de Percy Inn & Creperie
0.6 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#5 of 6 in Otterburn
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Dolphins Leslies Drive, Otterburn NE19 1HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family business situated in the heart of Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing