We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality at its finest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otterburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our stay at the Dolphins was a pleasure from start to finish - from the pickup by Harry from Newcastle train station, the comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean room (very comfy bed!), the fantastic full breakfast cooked by Jen (fresh laid eggs from their own hens!), and Harry ferrying us to and from the wedding venue. Really made to feel at home - nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful location too - plenty of nice walking in the area, which we are sure to go back and explore further another time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
79
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annitsford, Cramlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at The Dolphins Guesthouse after attending a wedding at the nearby Woodhill Hall. From the very warm welcome to the beautiful room, our stay was fantastic! Our room was comfortable, clean and well decorated and included everything we needed and some lovely extra touches (the sweets and chocolates were a welcome treat). We were impressed with the offer of lifts to and from the wedding venue and it was no trouble for Harry to pick us up even as late as midnight! Our breakfast the next morning did not disappoint either with a choice of food that was both plentiful and high quality, We would definitely recommend The Dolphin to anybody wanting to visit and explore the beautiful countryside or attend an event at any of the local venues!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemimalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Dolphin for a wedding at nearby Woodhill Hall and from start to finish the whole experience was second to none. Before arriving at the Dolphin I had conversed over email with the owner Jen who was extremely informative and quick to answer any questions I had before our stay. On arrival to the Dolphin we were greeted by Jen who was very welcoming and made us feel right at home, she gave us the guided tour of her beautiful house and showed us to our room. The room we stayed in, with its attached en-suite, was clean, well decorated and spacious with amazing views of the Northumberland countryside. After getting ready for the wedding we went down the beautiful kitchen and met Harry, Jen's husband, who was very friendly and again made us very much at home. Harry offered a lift back from the venue on the night time as he knew taxis for hard to get. The next morning we woke to an amazing choice of cereals and fruits to start and then Jen made a full English breakfast (just one thing on the gorgeous breakfast menu). It was beautiful, with a flow of tea, coffee and fruit juice. Couldn't have asked for anything better than the whole experience and we will definitely be staying here again and would recommend to anybody staying in the Otterburn area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Jenny and Harry were so lovely and the breakfast fantastic. We thought the bed was one of (if not the) most comfortable we have slept in. But the best part was the hospitality of J+H. We'll be back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathmanduo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I along with our two small children stayed for a wedding at Otterburn Castle for two nights and Jen and her husband could not have been more hospitable. Beautiful part of Northumberland too, will return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJoicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have recently returned from a one night stay at The Dolphins, as we were attending a wedding nearby, and have enjoyed a truly wonderful stay. The whole house is lovely and feels really welcoming and homely, and the room we stayed in was really spacious and immaculately presented, with lovely little personal touches, like chocolates and sweet treats! The breakfast in the morning was amazing, and our hosts were very friendly and attentive, and even gave us a lift to and from the wedding venue. We will definitely try to visit again!
(Annabel and Lee)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarzannabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed here last weekend while attending a friend's wedding at Woodhill Hall. I can't enough nice things about the rooms and the hospitality! The guest house and the surrounding area is gorgeous. Our room was immaculate and had everything we could need. We were treated to a lovely home cooked breakfast in the morning and our hosts were really nice people. Harry even gave us a lift to and from the wedding!
Would certianly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.2 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#6 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
William de Percy Inn & Creperie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Dolphins Leslies Drive, Otterburn NE19 1HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family business situated in the heart of Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing