We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Incomparable Hospitality’”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otterburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“'Incomparable Hospitality’”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were attending a wedding at the 'usual' spot with family scattered over various hotels. We were so glad we chose here.
Other commentators say it all really; the welcome, the service, the standard of accommodation are all exceptional. Harry and Jen are relatively new to this apparently but they are the most friendly, professional and caring hosts I have ever met anywhere . Their attention to detail in all aspects is beyond comparison and their flexibility in allowing lie-ins and late breakfasts restored my faith in the British Hospitality industry. ( why do lesser establishments want to throw you out at 10.00 am with a raging hangover? ) .
The quality of every furnishing from the en-suite to the bed, in my opinion, is unequalled in B&B land. In fact the accommodation is more like a 5* boutique hotel but with a much more friendly but perfectly unobtrusive service. This makes the Dolphin exceptional value for money
This was our first visit to this part of Northumbria and our hosts ambassadorial zeal for their guests and their area means we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracegl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Friends and i were wondering where to stay whilst invited to a wedding at Woodhill Hall , we decided after looking on Trip Advisor this was the place, so glad we did there was two couples and from the moment we stepped into the place we were greeted with such a warm welcome Jen and Harry were just lovely,
We stayed in a room upstairs and were greeted with crisp white sheets and purple trim runners and cushions , lovely view of the garden.
As it was Easter we had a lovely Easter Card welcome from Jen and Harry and some little easter fluffy chicks scatterd around the room , what a lovely touch. Also another touch i liked in particular was the sweet jar , it was full of treats , there were wine glasses, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room , as well as a hairdryer and fluffy robes..excellent
The en suite was huge with all you can wish for including some company for your bath if needed ..a little rubber duck lol
Harry very kindly gave us a lift to the vehue once ready and were told that if it wasnt after midnight we can have him pick us up too for a fee of just £6 we took the offer up ..what a star .
Breakfast the next day was amazing , after making our choices the night before we all went for a full english ...nothing was too much trouble for them both and there was a constant supply of toast tea/ coffee and Orange juice for the four of us..
well done to you for both on this great guest house xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A warm and friendly B & B with lovely hosts Jen and Harry. Great attention to detail and lovely meal made this a very pleasant and relaxing stay. The conservatory afforded beautiful views of the Northumberland countryside and we spent a lovely hour there with our papers and a lovely cup of tea made for us by our attentive hosts. a delightful break, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our stay at the Dolphins was a pleasure from start to finish - from the pickup by Harry from Newcastle train station, the comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean room (very comfy bed!), the fantastic full breakfast cooked by Jen (fresh laid eggs from their own hens!), and Harry ferrying us to and from the wedding venue. Really made to feel at home - nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful location too - plenty of nice walking in the area, which we are sure to go back and explore further another time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annitsford, Cramlington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at The Dolphins Guesthouse after attending a wedding at the nearby Woodhill Hall. From the very warm welcome to the beautiful room, our stay was fantastic! Our room was comfortable, clean and well decorated and included everything we needed and some lovely extra touches (the sweets and chocolates were a welcome treat). We were impressed with the offer of lifts to and from the wedding venue and it was no trouble for Harry to pick us up even as late as midnight! Our breakfast the next morning did not disappoint either with a choice of food that was both plentiful and high quality, We would definitely recommend The Dolphin to anybody wanting to visit and explore the beautiful countryside or attend an event at any of the local venues!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemimalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Dolphin for a wedding at nearby Woodhill Hall and from start to finish the whole experience was second to none. Before arriving at the Dolphin I had conversed over email with the owner Jen who was extremely informative and quick to answer any questions I had before our stay. On arrival to the Dolphin we were greeted by Jen who was very welcoming and made us feel right at home, she gave us the guided tour of her beautiful house and showed us to our room. The room we stayed in, with its attached en-suite, was clean, well decorated and spacious with amazing views of the Northumberland countryside. After getting ready for the wedding we went down the beautiful kitchen and met Harry, Jen's husband, who was very friendly and again made us very much at home. Harry offered a lift back from the venue on the night time as he knew taxis for hard to get. The next morning we woke to an amazing choice of cereals and fruits to start and then Jen made a full English breakfast (just one thing on the gorgeous breakfast menu). It was beautiful, with a flow of tea, coffee and fruit juice. Couldn't have asked for anything better than the whole experience and we will definitely be staying here again and would recommend to anybody staying in the Otterburn area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Jenny and Harry were so lovely and the breakfast fantastic. We thought the bed was one of (if not the) most comfortable we have slept in. But the best part was the hospitality of J+H. We'll be back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathmanduo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.2 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
10.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
21.9 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Dolphins Leslies Drive, Otterburn NE19 1HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family business situated in the heart of Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing