We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but sweet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otterburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short but sweet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My partner and I travelled up to Otterburn for a wedding. Unfortunately we were only staying for one night :(

The house was immaculate and our bedroom was so lovely and smelt so fresh and clean. The bed was really comfortable. We were disappointed we couldn't have just stayed in there all evening and relaxed munching on the goodies and making use of the sky TV, hehe!

The view from our room was of the lush Northumberland countryside. There were chickens roaming freely in the garden. What I wonderful life they lead, lucky chickens!

Breakfast was fab. Just what we needed after a night of dancing and drinking. Thank you.

We were made to feel very welcome and we were so well looked after. We wanted for nothing. Harry even drove us to the wedding venue.

We had such a lovely visit. So friendly. I love little Barney the dog. He made the stay even better.xx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maccalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Jen & Harry make your stay at the Dolphins very special, and nothing is too much trouble. Their guest house is decorated to a high standard and lots of little touches make it very special. A warm a friendly place to stay. Wonderful experience. Fred,Sara, and Lexi (who loved the complimentary chocolate in the bedroom-yum).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Just take a look at the rest of the reviews already left and it pretty much sums up our delightful experience too. We arrived on the Saturday afternoon to be greeted by Harry and Jen into their home/b&b. From the word go they were incredibly courteous and had everything spot on. We were shown to our room with a beautiful view out on to the countryside. We were tight for time and so were soon given a lift to the local wedding venue and arranged a time to be collected. (Incredible service). When we later got collected and returned to our room they had closed all the windows for us. Shut the curtains and pulled the bed covers down. A small touch but so cosy and welcoming. Before we knew it, after a lovely sleep we could smell the breakfast cooking. A full English soon devoured along with a great choice of cereals and fresh fruit. Set us up nicely for the return journey. After a good chat with the fabulous hosts we said our farewells and left with good memories of our friends wedding and more unusually the accommodation.

If ever I am back this way I shall definitely be making a return visit. Keep up the good work.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived in otterburn after a long drive, for a wedding in otterburn and we received such a friendly welcome from Jen and Harry! Jen made us a pot of tea and offered us sandwiches! Room was warm and clean and full of goodies! All furniture is great quality.

Breakfast was very very good, and had such a lovely chat with our hosts over breakfast. Felt like we had known them for ages!

Harry gave us a lift to the wedding and offered to collect us. They are so accommodating and friendly.

Definitely will be back and next time we will bring our daughter for a long weekend (the b&b is completely child friendly with changing area, etc).

Would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding at the end of March. Owners, Jen and Harry, were such welcoming and accommodating hosts and made us feel right at home. Our room was spacious, not to mention spotlessly clean, with a fab view over the hills (there was even an abundance of sweets to choose from!). 10/10 for the breakfast which was served in the family kitchen. Would recommend staying here without hesitation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lwilsonbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were attending a wedding at the 'usual' spot with family scattered over various hotels. We were so glad we chose here.
Other commentators say it all really; the welcome, the service, the standard of accommodation are all exceptional. Harry and Jen are relatively new to this apparently but they are the most friendly, professional and caring hosts I have ever met anywhere . Their attention to detail in all aspects is beyond comparison and their flexibility in allowing lie-ins and late breakfasts restored my faith in the British Hospitality industry. ( why do lesser establishments want to throw you out at 10.00 am with a raging hangover? ) .
The quality of every furnishing from the en-suite to the bed, in my opinion, is unequalled in B&B land. In fact the accommodation is more like a 5* boutique hotel but with a much more friendly but perfectly unobtrusive service. This makes the Dolphin exceptional value for money
This was our first visit to this part of Northumbria and our hosts ambassadorial zeal for their guests and their area means we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracegl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Friends and i were wondering where to stay whilst invited to a wedding at Woodhill Hall , we decided after looking on Trip Advisor this was the place, so glad we did there was two couples and from the moment we stepped into the place we were greeted with such a warm welcome Jen and Harry were just lovely,
We stayed in a room upstairs and were greeted with crisp white sheets and purple trim runners and cushions , lovely view of the garden.
As it was Easter we had a lovely Easter Card welcome from Jen and Harry and some little easter fluffy chicks scatterd around the room , what a lovely touch. Also another touch i liked in particular was the sweet jar , it was full of treats , there were wine glasses, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room , as well as a hairdryer and fluffy robes..excellent
The en suite was huge with all you can wish for including some company for your bath if needed ..a little rubber duck lol
Harry very kindly gave us a lift to the vehue once ready and were told that if it wasnt after midnight we can have him pick us up too for a fee of just £6 we took the offer up ..what a star .
Breakfast the next day was amazing , after making our choices the night before we all went for a full english ...nothing was too much trouble for them both and there was a constant supply of toast tea/ coffee and Orange juice for the four of us..
well done to you for both on this great guest house xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.2 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
19.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
10.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Dolphins Leslies Drive, Otterburn NE19 1HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family business situated in the heart of Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dolphins Guest House Bed & Breakfast Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing