We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If your looking for quality accommodation in...”
other travellers have booked this property
open plan kitchen/living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
open plan kitchen/living area
modern farmhouse kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
open plan kitchen/living area
modern farmhouse kitchen
the Hemmel on a cloudy day
double/twin room
walk-in shower room
double bedroom for star gazers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Otterburn, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ktoxo
ktoxo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If your looking for quality accommodation in lovely peaceful countryside this is the place for you!”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, spacious accommodation, spotless clean with great countryside views. We booked this on a whim as we were hoping to experience dark skys and do a spot of star gazing but were defeated by the clouds and rain however we still had a lovely holiday. Kate the owner is lovely and does everything she can to make your stay enjoyable.We had to ring her as we were late arriving and after taking a wrong turn we ended up at the lambing shed in the pitch dark (and it is really dark!) Kate met us in the pouring rain to direct us to the cottage, when we eventually arrived we were greeted by a roaring log fire and home made cheese scones (which were delicious!) The property has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable with good selection of pots pans etc to rustle up a meal. A nice touch of basic provisions provided, tea bags, coffee etc on the basis that you replace what you use however as its quite remote and especially if arriving late make sure you take food and drink with you for the first night. Otterburn Mill which is less than a mile down the lane do a great selection of meals however we only tried the breakfast meals which were delicious and very reasonably priced too. Wifi is also very good at the cottage for those who cant manage without it and there's also a good selection of books, games and dvd's. Nice big sofa to relax in and an armchair which was great for two of us but I think the addition of another armchair or small sofa would make the lounge area perfect if four were staying. All in all a gorgeous place to stay and we hope to be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire and views
Liked least: Loved all of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccassi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It is a wonderful place to relax and chill so clean katy the owner is a really nice lady really helpful will definately return in the near future

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hootie196...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got home after 3 nights at The Hemmel.
Accommodation is lovely, absolutely everything you could need is in the house.
Clean & modern.
We even had home made scones left for us on arrival.
Absolutely idyllic spot with outstanding views from the living area. Great spot to explore the Northumberland coast.
Absolutely zero criticism for the accommodation, faultless from the minute we arrived.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thanks Darrell. So glad you all enjoyed your weekend . Was a pleasure having you stay and hope you get back to Northumberland soon. Great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee E
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

On arrival at the Barn the overwhelming feeling is one of Luxury. From the minute you step in to the wonderful beamed open-plan kitchen, dining and living room, bathed in sunshine from 2 patio doors on either side. The bathroom is very high quality , and the bedrooms are large and spacious. Kate the owner could not do enough for us, giving good advise on walks and eating out in the area. Nothing was too much trouble for her.We have been staying in holiday cottages for over 20 years, but Kate and her cottages take the number one position. It was the only time we have genuinely not wanted to leave and our dog refused to get in the car when we were leaving he wanted to stay as well. Lucky for us we are going back again later this year, and can relax again in this beautiful barn, with magnificent views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every aspect of the property and it's location
Liked least: Having to come home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay and I really look forward to your return. Best wishes to you both and a large woof to Linus!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retired19...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxed, peaceful whilst at the centre of so much to do”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for week at the Hemmel. Kate was a fabulous host and would answer any questions that we had. The accommodation was great; very modern and warm with lovely rooms with fabulous views where ever you looked.

The area is amazing; quiet unspoilt countryside for great walking in the hills and by the rivers. Interesting villages, great National Trust properties, good arts scene and the Kielder observatory experience. We also managed a local yoga class, a guided walk around Hexham and a night at the open air opera. Something for everyone. It couldn't have been bettered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, the countryside and the people we met
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
thank you so much, it was lovely having you stay with us and we hope to meet you again sometime for another yoga session and to discover the rest of Northumberland !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flansbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Country Cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Hemmel for 2 nights for a wedding in April. In advance Kate was always quick to respond and extremely helpful in arranging our booking.

On arrival Kate was there to meet us and show us around, the cottage was pristine and very inviting. There were 7 of us in total, 4 adults and 3 small children. Kate was fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful providing highchairs and travel cots and anything else we needed. She even left us cupcakes which were wolfed down once spotted by my 3 year old Niece!
The cottage itself is fabulously refurbished and decorated. The open plan kitchen and living space is fabulous for entertaining and socialising (we had a few family over the night before and day after the wedding). The bedrooms are simply and beautifully decorated and there is plenty of space for travel cots or even beds on the floor. The bathroom is fantastic, large and spacious with a superb shower.
Not only is the cottage stunning, it is superb for young families like ours. The kids had plenty of space to play inside and outside and we could easily keep an eye on them from the kitchen and living room. There are also plenty of books and games if the mood takes you.
Kate has provided absolutely everything you could need in the cottage there is a collection of foodstuffs which are extremely handy for putting together any meals. Plus there are all sorts of cooking implements and dishware so we had no trouble finding what we needed in order to put together some meals. The surrounding farming area is lovely for a short walk and the view are spectacular!

I would highly recommend the The Hemmel for anyone thinking of staying for a wedding at Otterburn Castle, walking trips or even a quiet getaway. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful interior
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcam73
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing all round !!!1”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent the weekend at the Hemmel, and had a great time. When we got there we were greeted by the owner, who showed us what was what.

The property was clean, for our arrival, as well as being modern as well kitted out with everything we could need. The owner even had the fire stove going for our arrival, making us feel at home at once. She even left us some home made cakes, which for the record were really nice.

If your looking for a chilled weekend, with amazing views, Then book here.

Also if the skies are clear at night, get out side and check out the stars. They were amazing in the dark skies. Only a shame we didnt take a telescope to enjoy them more.

Overall, a very good weekend for me and my family. Would be more than happy to recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing