We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Impressive Barn Conversion”
other travellers have booked this property
spacious , light-filled living area/kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
spacious , light-filled living area/kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
spacious , light-filled living area/kitchen
double bedroom for star gazers!
walk-in shower room
double/twin room
open plan kitchen/living area
Lovely views from the rear of the house towards otter burn and the cheviott hills
the Hemmel on a cloudy day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Otterburn, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony P
2 reviews
“Impressive Barn Conversion”
Reviewed 17 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The Hemmel, located just outside Otterburn, is a high quality, attractive barn conversion fitted out to a high standard. It's comfortable, has plenty of space, and there's a great view towards the Northumbria National Park at the rear. The owner, Kate, is very welcoming. Many of Northumbria’s attractions are within easy reach - Hadrian’s Wall, Alnwick Castle, Bambrough Castle, Hexham Cathedral, and the hills and valleys of the National Park. For walkers, the ridge of Simonside Hills, near Rothbury, provides spectacular views on a sunny day, and on an overcast day, the walk up to Hareshaw Waterfall, near Bellingham, is very attractive. There are three local pubs. The Redesdale Arms, just to the north west of Otterburn, provided the best welcome, service, food and drink, including local craft ales from the First & Last and Allendale breweries.

The Hemmel is a great place to stay - would visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2018
Thank you. So glad you enjoyed your stay and you would all be very welcome to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon b
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 27 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed here for three nights
Kate is a wonderful host
The beautiful photos do not to the cottage justice it is immaculate
The garden is secure so our two dogs could run around without getting out
Lots to do out and about walks waterfalls and coffee shops
Definitely be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2018
Thank you very much, That is very kind - look forward to seeing you and the dogs back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michturn4...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Had a fab weekend in the beautiful Hemmel, so quiet and relaxing we loved it . Kate was lovely and very welcoming and the homemade cakes were delicious and a lovely touch, can not recommend this place enough if your looking for a relaxing stay in scenic countryside this is the place for you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If only we could stay forever...”
Reviewed 26 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our 4th visit to Old Town Farm and the Hemmel is our favourite of the two cottages (if we had to really choose; but it's a close second over anywhere else we've stayed). The sunrise over the fields is spectacular and it's so quiet there that you think you are alone in the world. Kate is a wonderful host, and the welcoming lemon cake was just the thing after the long journey from the South. The cottage is so comfy and well thought out with luxury fittings everywhere so we heartily recommend to everyone. Good for night sky gazing too, although we don;t really know The Plough from Mars! A good base for getting into Scotland as well as Newcastle and the Hadrian's Wall area, there is plenty to do and see. We've been so captivated by the area we're planning on moving there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordonmck...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage in the English countryside”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had a lovely stay in the Hemmel - a beautiful cottage just a couple of minutes drive from Otterburn. The location is great - we were able to go for day trips to Alnwick and Hadrian's wall and come back to a tranquil countryside. Kate (the owner) lives next door and was unobtrusive, but had made it clear that she was there if we needed anything. This was our first holiday of this kind and we'll definitely be doing it again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside51...
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The cottage lived up to our high expectations. Lovely home-made scones upon arrival. Everything was very clean and beautifully presented. We were particularly impressed with the large and very secure back garden - ideal for our dog who could run and chase her ball and not even see the sheep in the neighbouring field. A great bonus. I would recommend this holiday let.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacie...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation, wonderful host & beautiful location...”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Absolutely loved our stay at The Hemel, the online photos don’t do it justice...our accommodation was beautiful, spacious & spotless. The property is a stunning conversion based on a working farm with gorgeous views & everything you could possibly need provided. Kate our host was friendly, welcoming & extremely helpful...sorting us out with any forgotten items from home! I’d highly recommend this holiday property & we’re all very sad to be leaving! 5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing