We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay ..”
Review of The Redesdale Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Redesdale Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good stay ..”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked the Redesdale Arms as a last minute break and was really happy with the choice. The hotel is in a great location for exploring, not far from the Borders, Hadrian's Wall and the coast.

Rooms were spacious and of a decent quality, with all the nice touches you need for a break. It was also good to have a bath after a days walking.

We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was good, with a nice selection to suit all tastes.

The best thing for us was the service and friendliness of the staff. Everyone was really nice, from helping us out on places to visit to asking us how our day was, we were made to feel like we were at home.

I would certainly recommend this as a good place to stay on a weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiderBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    65
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
142
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The title above sums up what was a really enjoyable few days at the Redesdale Arms and I can only echo what other reviewers have recently written. The hotel's location is perfect for a real, "get away from it all" break being situated in often wild and beautiful countryside. Our room was spacious with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive and the dinner menu was varied and imaginative with some especially carefully-thought out vegetarian dishes. All in all, a well-run, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevetheman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay all four of us - my husband and I and two elderly friends. Hospitality was second to none and rooms very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Food superb and our every need was catered for. At the end of the day for dinner we could choose whether to eat in the pub or the restaurant. The Hotel is situated in beautiful countryside and within easy reach of so many places of interest to visit - Kirkharle Visitor Centre, Jedburgh, Melrose Abbey, Scotts View and Carter Bar, to name but a few. Staff extremely friendly and a warm welcome always awaits. We so look forward to our annual stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was a very pleasant overnight stay on our way to York. The staff were very friendly, the room was large for our party of three and the food great. We would stay there again if passing but it is a long way from Australia. It also had a special car event on that weekend and perchance was an old Morris Oxford parked in the hotel parking area which brought back some old memories.

Room Tip: We were grateful for a room for three which included our adult son.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraWanderer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel above the pub over a Friday and Saturday night.

Pros: The staff are very friendly and chatty and made us feel welcome. The room was appropriate for the price charged but of a better standard than some other hotels I have been in for the same price. We had dinner on Friday evening, the 3 course meal (inc one for a veggie) we had was very tasty and much enjoyed.

Cons: Our only annoyance was the noise from the pub on Saturday night from the bar and outside where there was much frivolity and harmonica playing until around 1am!

Conclusions: So if you want a super little hotel/restaurant and plan to prop up the bar with the locals of an evening, its great but perhaps a weekend booking would not suit light sleepers or those with a young family!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view but are above the bar/carpark so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for your kind review. Please accept our apologies for the noise on Saturday night. Due to the dreadful weather, a local music festival was cancelled early evening and lots of people descended upon the pub instead. Had we known it was going to be so noisy, we would have informed you at the time of booking and allocated a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Have just returned from a 4 night B&B stay at the Redesdale Arms and can truthfully say that we could not find any faults. The room was a good size, en suite and very clean, the food was excellent especially the full English breakfast and the evening meals were tasty and resonably priced. Mark and Carol and all the staff were friendly and helpful and even made up packed lunches for when we were walking all day. The Redesdale is great for a quiet break but well situated for walking or trips around the border regions.

Room Tip: Booked on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knitbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Everything was spot on great room lovely view. food great as was the service. Carol and Mark run a great friendly place, Andy bar guy always happy and polite. will return again. This is a place not to miss in my book:-) prices very good as well for the room and the food. Beauiful diining room very relaxing to eat in.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorklady17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.0 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#6 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redesdale Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redesdale Arms

Property: The Redesdale Arms
Address: A68 | Rochester, Otterburn NE19 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redesdale Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redesdale Arms also known as "THE FIRST & LAST" is situated in the Northumberland International Dark Skies Park, a great location, for visiting Kielder, Hadrian's Wall, Rothbury and the Scottish Borders and a great place for stargazing. We have been accredited as a "Dark Sky Stay & Gaze" destination by Northumberland Tourism. With ten well appointed en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, and a disabled access room, all of which are comfortable, light and airy. Some of our rooms have fantastic views over the Rede Valley and surrounding hills. There is also a cosy bar and lounge with a log burner and restaurant which is ideal for hosting your special event or family get together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Redesdale Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redesdale Arms Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing