We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Redesdale Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Redesdale Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Had an excellent stay for two nights, could not have wished for nicer owners, really looked after us, will be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms just as good as each other, very clean, and good veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    64
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
141
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We are 3 couples who have a few days away together occasionally, we stayed at The Redesdale for 2 nights last week, we were all very impressed with the really friendly staff. The rooms were very warm and comfortable and the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. On the first evening we all had a different dish and they were all very very tasty and generous portions. Most importantly one of our party was a coeliac and the chef at the hotel went out of their way to provide a very varied menu for him.
Will definitely recommend this place to all.
Very happy and delighted sixsome.

Room Tip: Room number 4 had a lovely sofa in it. Room 2 had a super view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEM1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

great value, had a great nights sleep, rooms clean and nice stall very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: had a lovely stay, rooms nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kae l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just spent two lovely nights at Redesdale Arms Hotel. Carol and staff couldn't do enough for us. Room was clean - loved the spotless IRONED sheets! Can't fault the food. A lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just returned from a relaxing weekend in a warm,friendly and cosy hotel.A christmas gift from my daughters-well done to you both for finding this little gem.Lovely ,delicious ,well cooked and well presented food.Lovely hostess Carrol and friendly staff make this hotel a must to visit.Will most definetly go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly5444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just returned from a couple of nights at the Redesdale. Many thank's to Carrol the owner and staff member the lovely Clare who made our stay most enjoyable. I cannot say anything negative about our stay which says it all. If you are looking for a break at a friendly and welcoming Hotel do yourself a favour and stay here, you won't be disappointed !!.
Once again many thank's to Carrol and Clare.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have used this hotel several times, and now, in fact, plan my trips to/from Scotland around a stay here.
The rooms are clean, spacious and functional. The bar serves well kept real ale, Timothy Taylor's Landlord when I have stayed. The food is home cooked and very good, with some great dishes; last stay was local game pie, lush!
The 'public' bar often has a good crowd of locals so you can expect some good chat but not an early night ;-)
Prices are very reasonable, there's Vodafone signal at least.
I highly recommend this hotel for a holiday, short break or, as I do, an overnight stop-over travelling to/from Scotland via the A68, the best route up the East coast :-)
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougoliver444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.0 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#6 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redesdale Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redesdale Arms

Property: The Redesdale Arms
Address: A68 | Rochester, Otterburn NE19 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redesdale Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redesdale Arms also known as "THE FIRST & LAST" is situated in the Northumberland International Dark Skies Park, a great location, for visiting Kielder, Hadrian's Wall, Rothbury and the Scottish Borders and a great place for stargazing. We have been accredited as a "Dark Sky Stay & Gaze" destination by Northumberland Tourism. With ten well appointed en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, and a disabled access room, all of which are comfortable, light and airy. Some of our rooms have fantastic views over the Rede Valley and surrounding hills. There is also a cosy bar and lounge with a log burner and restaurant which is ideal for hosting your special event or family get together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Redesdale Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redesdale Arms Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing