We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another brief but very enjoyable visit!”
Review of The Redesdale Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Redesdale Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another brief but very enjoyable visit!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just enjoyed another brief but very enjoyable visit to the Redesdale Arms near Otterburn. This friendly roadside inn has all the traveller needs - comfortable bedrooms with ensuite facilities, a good nights sleep (although the weather was a little wild that night) and a hearty well cooked breakfast in the morning. Add to that an excellent evening meal with a wide choice ( I am not sure where the earlier reviewer stayed) including steaks, fresh fish dishes ( I had a wonderful fish and chips), locally sourced produce, vegetarian options and gluten free options - enough to suit all tastes. Add to that a wonderful array of hot and cold traditional puddings that had to be sampled...

We discovered that they are holding a special Stargazing weekend at the end of September - it is the perfect place to watch the heavens as the skies are so wide and dark in that part of the world so we may go back for that if we can book in.....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear MillyYork,
Thank you for another great review, it was lovely to welcome you back to the Redesdale Arms. We’re really looking forward to our first Stargazing weekend, we’ve already organised a second “Christmas Stargazing” event where we’ll be watching out for fabulous shooting stars produced by the Geminid Meteor shower, that’s over the weekend of the 13th & 14th December. I do hope you can make it, if not we’re planning further events over the winter period, when should have some lovely clear skies!
Thank you once again.
Carrol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    65
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
142
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Redesdale Arms on the Wednesday night and the following Monday traveling to and from Aviemore. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and efficient the rooms were nice as was the evening meal. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection. I'd be happy to stay there again if in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Redesdale Arms is perfectly situated a few miles south of Carter bar, the border area of England/Scotland, and is also a very welcoming place. The staff were attentive without being pushy, and seemed to be very pleased to see every customer as they entered. I had friends with me who were on a visit for the first time in the area, so those impressions were very important. The food was delicious, even though we only needed a sandwich - but what a lovely presentation it was, as they had opted for what, in some places, would just have been a few roasted veg and some cheese. This was served like the first course of a banquet! Exceptionally tasty (so they told me) and with a small side salad that made it into more of a light lunch. I had the terrine and it was again, superb. Well priced (medium range for this sort of snack) and the views from the windows is outstanding in such a beautiful area of England. Happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Probably any room on the front so you get the stunning views.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Tyke51,
Thank you for your kind review of the Redesdale Arms, it really does sum up what we try to achieve, so it is much appreciated! We're delighted you and your friends enjoyed your visit and hope that you will visit again, next time you are in Redesdale.
Kind regards
Carrol & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Called in here by chance on a Saturday morning on our way from Darlington to Edinburgh.
Four of us enjoyed a great breakfast and friendly service in pleasant surroundings.
Probably a good idea to phone ahead and let them know your expected arrival time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for a Saturday night following a nearby wedding. Very comfortable room with good facilities - comfy bed, nice shower and large settee.

Staff were nice and helpful and went out f their way to give us a good stay.

Very nice breakfast. Would stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh74Howitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We booked two nights at The Redesdale Arms because we were up in the area on business, what a fabulous place!
The room was welcoming and felt really homely, very nicely finished, the food was very good, especially the full English breakfast.
In a lovely place with fab surroundings.
Staff were friendly and welcoming.
We will definitely be back SOON

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T81083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the Redesdale Arms, we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in future.
Regards
Carrol & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Traveling home from Edinburgh stopped off for something to eat
pleasantly surprised .... inside it was a welcoming comfy place, seated next to the window the views were stunning
Ordered food and it arrived excellent presentation and tasted superb would recommend the special menu ( slow cooked belly pork ) delicious
dessert was high standard top off the main meal lovely... left very content and satisfied
excellent place will definitely call again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Syzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Syzy H,
Thank you very much for your lovely review Redesdale Arms. It’s great to know you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards
Carrol & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.0 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#6 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redesdale Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redesdale Arms

Property: The Redesdale Arms
Address: A68 | Rochester, Otterburn NE19 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redesdale Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redesdale Arms also known as "THE FIRST & LAST" is situated in the Northumberland International Dark Skies Park, a great location, for visiting Kielder, Hadrian's Wall, Rothbury and the Scottish Borders and a great place for stargazing. We have been accredited as a "Dark Sky Stay & Gaze" destination by Northumberland Tourism. With ten well appointed en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, and a disabled access room, all of which are comfortable, light and airy. Some of our rooms have fantastic views over the Rede Valley and surrounding hills. There is also a cosy bar and lounge with a log burner and restaurant which is ideal for hosting your special event or family get together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Redesdale Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redesdale Arms Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing