We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Redesdale Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Redesdale Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

If you don't like ready meals cooked in the microwave by the landlady, avoid the Redesdale arms at your peril. The food was foul. There was a specials board with loads of choice. We chose the lasagne, my husband the cottage pie. Frozen veg,frozen pie.frozen lasagne. It was horrible and so was the cost.

Mr and Mrs. C Watling.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stanley5931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleHotel, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
We take our reviews on trip advisor very seriously and this review is unjustified, inaccurate and in no way reflects the level of quality, service and hospitality at the Redesdale Arms. We are so disappointed that a customer apparently found the experience so awful, particularly as we have a policy of checking that customers and guests are enjoying their meal, then at the end of the meal, if they have not finished their food, we politely ask why, because the last thing we want is dissatisfied customers or guests, however, not one member of staff has received a complaint of this nature from anyone.
We certainly do not serve frozen lasagne, cottage pie or vegetables at the Redesdale Arms. Owner and qualified chef Mark works tirelessly to provide great home cooked food, for which we have a growing reputation. We sell our home cooked lasagne at £8.95 and our cottage pie at £7.95, and feel our prices are realistic and competitive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    64
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
141
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

This hotel was recommened to us by friends that visit Northumberland on a regular basis. From arriving at lunchtime to leaving three days later, we could not fault the service we received from the staff. On the Friday night, a large pre-wedding party occupied the dining room, causing us to leave it asap, but the staff were extremely apologetic and understanding and made sure we were comfortable in the bar. Our room was clean and adequate, the only fault being the window rattled when the wind blew, but this we cured with a pamphlet wedged in it. The food was excellent, a variery for every meal, and well presented. We found the location ideal for sightseeing, and a good base to work from. We were very pleased to find the bar stocked Laphroaig, our favouite whiskey, definitely a reason to return.!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

just spent two nights at the Redesdale in Northumberland,(not to be confused with one of a similar name in the Cotswolds).Very warm welcome on arrival,lovely comfortable double room,(lots of hot water and big bath,especially if you're the outdoor type !)Excellent beer,Taylors Landlord (£2.50 a pint...wow)and super food from a very tidy, creative and locally sourced menu,best fish pie i've ever had !Last but by no means least,you will have to go a long way to find the staff as friendly and welcoming as they are at the Redesdale and i mean ALL the staff,from the bar/waiting staff,breakfast waitress to the proprieters themselves.(you all deserve a rise) oops! sorry boss.Slightly remote the location may be,the welcome and experience is anything but...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

If you like remote then this is a great place to stay. near enough to places to visit but remote enough to have some peace and quiet.
Breakfast was really nice, selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and then hot English breakfast, enough to keep you going all day.
Evening meals were good value and, again, really nice. The lamb shank was excellent. Only had dessert 1 evening, sticky toffee pudding & ice cream, and this was nice too.
The room was clean and tidy. The only small issue was the shower temperature being a bit up & down but that was a tiny issue.
Will be going back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Brilliant location in open Northumberland countryside! We stayed a week for a much needed break. Most liked = the menu. There was a really good variety on the menu of fish and veggie dishes and service was prompt and friendly. Least liked - nothing really.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianrdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

A haven in this glorious landscape!
We knew the kitchen closed at 8.30pm so stopped at Corebridge for dinner (The Black Bull) which was very hearty and welcoming. What a nice suprise when we recieved a call from Redesdale Arms to check we were still going to stay with them as their kitchen was about to close. On arriving we were told that the chef was concerned that we would be arriving after the kitchen had closed and would not have eaten - it made you feel wanted and cared for. Our Jack Russell dog was made to feel welcome
The room was comfortable with plenty of room if a but basic but had all the ammenities that you would want. Shame there was no menu in the room, it is always good to see what you may have missed!
Good freshly cooked breakfast with good coffee
One to stay at again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Super hotel. Staff were really friendly, rooms great - plenty of space and very clean, breakfast delicious, location very handy for all the local areas of interest. Dinner good and we tried just about everything on the menu!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britfrenchteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.0 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#6 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redesdale Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redesdale Arms

Property: The Redesdale Arms
Address: A68 | Rochester, Otterburn NE19 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redesdale Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redesdale Arms also known as "THE FIRST & LAST" is situated in the Northumberland International Dark Skies Park, a great location, for visiting Kielder, Hadrian's Wall, Rothbury and the Scottish Borders and a great place for stargazing. We have been accredited as a "Dark Sky Stay & Gaze" destination by Northumberland Tourism. With ten well appointed en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, and a disabled access room, all of which are comfortable, light and airy. Some of our rooms have fantastic views over the Rede Valley and surrounding hills. There is also a cosy bar and lounge with a log burner and restaurant which is ideal for hosting your special event or family get together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Redesdale Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redesdale Arms Otterburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing