We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well deserved of all its excellent reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Cuthbert's House
Ranked #1 of 26 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well deserved of all its excellent reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just to reinforce all the very positive reviews below - St Cuthberts House is an excellent place to stay and well deserved of the regional Tourism Board Award it has received. Jill and Jeff are excellent hosts, the bedrooms are spacious with lovely big beds and high quality en-suites, the attention to detail means that the visitor feels welcomed, relaxed and very very comfortable. We would highly recommend St Cuthberts and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
The highest praise we get is that phrase 'we will certainly return' - it means a lot to us. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
588
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Agnes Water, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Wow! Fabulously comfortable accommodation. Fantastic food. Excellent hosts. This must be the best b&b in the area. Jill and Jeff are so helpful and have done such a tasteful conversion of this former chapel. There are so many really thoughtful touches - and having the bar and beautiful lounge area was a real bonus. Don't look anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

A beautifully rennovated former-Presbyterian church on the edge of Seahouses with six spacious, top quality en-suite rooms.

Jill and Jeff were friendly, helpful and welcoming whilst taking great professional pride in their successful guesthouse. They won a regional award from the Tourism Board this year and are off to the national awards soon. A little like the Oscars for hotel owners. I hope they win, they certainly have my vote.

A note to fellow Coeliacs - they keep a stock of scrummy gluten free sausages and bread to to hand - you only need ask.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Two rooms on the ground floor and four upstairs. All large, ensuite and beautifully presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thanks for your good wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from a couple of days at St. Cuthbert's House and found the hosts Jill & Jeff very hospitable and helpful from the time we booked. They recommended a taxi company to take us from the B&B to a wedding function at Newton Hall and gave us various tips and information about the surrounding area so we could get the best from the short break. The renovation on the church is lovely and in keeping with the caricature of the building and the bedrooms are very luxurious and spacious. The breakfasts are great and all locally sourced produce.
We are happy to recommend St Cuthbert's as a ideal base to relax and explore Northumbria and its wildlife and history. Thanks again David & Linda

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Closey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thanks for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just returned from our 3 nights stay at St Cuthberts House . What a wonderful time was had by all, not only did my mum catch up en route with friends from Northumberland, we were lucky to have met Jeff and Jill.
We were made very welcome and looked after extremely well, from start to finish. Our room was emaculate, clean and the property was very ,well maintained, in fact we couldn't fault our stay .
Despite the weather ( fog, fog and more fog) we were able to get out and about and had an awesome walk along the beach to Bamburgh, before coming back to our home ( for the weekend, anyway) We would definitely recommend St Cuthberts and look forward to our next visit !!! Thanks again , Jeff and Jill :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your time away together! It was lovely to have you here - thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose St. Cuthbert's House because we lived in the adjoining Manse in the 1950s. It proved an ideal place for a family get-together. Jill and Jeff were very welcoming and most helpful. They have renovated the old building extremely well. I liked the way the old windowsills have been saved and incorporated while the original harmonium stands by the door. The eating /sitting area is roomy and comfortable. Very generously Jill and Jeff served morning coffee there for other members of our family who had been staying elsewhere. The breakfast was excellent and special dietary needs were catered for without any fuss. The rooms are very well equipped and the fact that we could adjust the temperature was most welcome as was the hot water bottle! All in all Jill and Jeff are to be congratulated on the very high standard of the accommodation they provide.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We're pleased you enjoyed your family get-together in this place filled with memories for you all. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just had fantastic weekend staying with friends in St Cuthberts House Seahouses. Jeff and Jill made us all exceptionally welcome and catered for all our needs. The breakfasts were exceptional in choice and quality and included Kedgeree and mushrooms on a muffin which were both beautiful. I would recommend St Cuthberts to anyone. Their attention to detail , cleanliness and over feeling of luxury leads to a fantastic weekend and a complete feeling of relaxation . Thank you Jeff and Jill for a brilliant time . We will be back .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for your review - we're glad your 'friends reunion' weekend was such a great success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.9 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#6 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Cuthbert's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Property: St. Cuthbert's House
Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
St. Cuthbert's House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing