We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the excellent reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Cuthbert's House
Ranked #1 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A two night stay away from the children to recharge the batteries and It certainly did that. Visited lots of old haunts, this is one of our favourite places to visit. Returning to the luxury of St Cuthbert's was wonderful. A lovely place to stay, very relaxed with all the little extras you could want. Loved the lounge area and the rooms were very comfortable. Jeff was always on hand to have a chat or offer any advice needed. What a wonderful success story this place is and Jeff and Jill deserve all the plaudits for their attention to detail and hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 753thorneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were made to feel very welcome and thus relaxed for our three night stay. Any questions and requests were helpfully answered and good recommendations made for meals (Jeff booked one restaurant on our behalf) and for the boat trip to the Farne Islands. The room was very comfortable and had everything needed - plenty of coat hangers, iron and hairdryer and emergency kit meaning a forgotten toothbrush was not a crisis! Also lovely underfloor heating in the bathroom.
We enjoyed the 15 minute walk to the harbour so for us the location was good. We would certainly return and recommend St Cuthbert's to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

It's lovely that you will recommend us to friends and family - we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our group of six friends could not have been made more welcome by Jeff and Jill, a really friendly couple - they went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible and St Cuthbert's house is a beautiful renovation with lovely facilities. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, the selection of drinks available from the honesty bar are great for relaxing in the main lounge and our hosts always remembered each of our names, a small but very personal touch (being on hand if we needed them, offering to assist with anything we might need or local advice - at the same time never being intrusive)

As music lovers, the 'icing on the cake' was a live performance on our first night in the main Cuthbert room and it is clear how highly regarded Jeff, Jill and their family are by members of the local community and other regulars. A magical atmosphere

We all intend to return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Andrew_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks so much, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the concert too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Congratulations to Jeff and Jill for their Gold Award from Visit England. Very well deserved. We arrived the evening after St Cuthbert's House had won the award. Jeff and Jill had to race up from Cheltenham to face a full house of guests. That's what I call dedication! My husband and I stayed for two nights in this delightful bed and breakfast. Excellent standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We're pleased you were able to share our celebration after receiving the Award! We hope we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for three nights at St Cuthberts House a top class B&B in Seahouses, just 3 miles from Bamburgh. Very welcoming, friendly and very comfortable accommodation. Breakfasts were everything breakfast should be and there was a mine of information to be gained from the lovely lounge area, which included an honesty bar. A definite candidate for many accolades from those fortunate enough to find this little gem on the Northumberland Coast.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with a view (through the houses of Bamburgh Castle but I would imagine any one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleywole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We like being regarded as a secret little gem! Thanks for your review, we hope we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at St Cuthbert's House for six nights from 27th April 2014. We wanted somewhere really special to celebrate our tenth anniversary, and from previous reviews and their website this B&B looked like a good choice.
When we arrived we received a very warm welcome from Jeff and Jill and they were perfect hosts throughout our stay. The information pack in our room was extremely comprehensive but Jeff was always willing to give us further advice on the best places to visit and to eat.
Our room was well furnished and extremely clean and comfortable (it was nice to have proper hangers in the wardrobe rather than the usual anti-theft hotel style).
Jill's cooked breakfasts were gorgeous. There were six choices for the main breakfast and between as we sampled five of them during our stay - all equally tasty.
We can honestly say that this is the best B&B that we have ever stayed at - it really is 5 star in every respect. We are delighted that we picked it for our special occasion and we very much hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for your review. We very much hope you will return too. Glad you appreciated those 'proper hangers'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We can only verify what other reviews have said about St Cuthbert's. Jeff and Jill gave us such a warm welcome it really was like going to stay with friends. Everything about this B&B was delightful: the rooms, the extra touches, the food, the beautiful lounge for relaxing after a long day's walking and as previously mentioned, the "honesty bar" with its extensive range of malts. Our only worry is that it will become so well known we won't be able to book another room there! We will definitely be back to this beautiful B&B in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for your review. It's so lovely that you felt you were with friends - that means a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
4.2 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
5.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#5 of 25 in Seahouses
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Cuthbert's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: £115 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
St. Cuthbert's House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing