We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of life's great and pleasant surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Cuthbert's House
Ranked #1 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of life's great and pleasant surprises”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with friends from Ireland as a base for visiting points of interest in the local area. When we booked we were unaware of the many awards which Jim & Jill have received and so it was a really wonderful surprise to be greeted with such a calm and assured professional manner. We rang before our arrival, because we were early to check that it would be OK, and we were greeted with tea and biscuits and a big smile - just what is needed after a long drive. Every detail has been addressed from a handy torch in the bedside table, a bag of essentials if you have forgotten to pack them (razor, toothpaste/brush, DVDs on the local area etc) and everything in the room looked brand new. The overriding memory is of being immediately welcomed into the St Cuthberts family and nothing was too much trouble from arranging boat trips, restaurant advice, best beaches, all manner of local detailed advice etc. Indeed, my wife needed to see a doctor and Jim immediately arranged it and she was at the surgery and sorted out within 1 1/2 hours. If you intend to stay in the Seahouses area, this is a must. Some guests have suggested that the "value for money" is only a 4 rating but, for goodness sake, look at the quality of the venue, the food, the rooms and the fantastic welcome; this was a comprehensive and professional performance in every respect. Few hotels offer such a welcome. We think that it is cheap at the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We're so pleased you consider SCH to be such good value for money - we think so too! And we're pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay - thanks for your lovely review. Jeff - aka Jim - I answer to almost anything... ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
594
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Recently returned from a 4-day stay at St Cuthbert’s House and it was absolutely perfect. A beautiful converted chapel, light and airy, with a gorgeous bedroom we stayed in; very warm and friendly hosts, Jeff and Jill; a plethora of information thoughtfully pulled together, which included DVDs on the area in our bedroom, and great tips provided by Jeff every morning when we discussed our emerging plans for the day; a super breakfast choice every morning, where every dish we tried (which was several over 4 days) was delicious; and a wonderful choice of drinks in the little bar, in particular, a very good house red! I’m not a beer drinker, but they also have their own house beer especially labelled for them from a local brewery – I bought a few bottles for others to try!

St Cuthbert’s is a little bit of a walk from the seafront but worth it, and with lovely open countryside immediately behind the house.

We discovered on our return that Jeff and Jill had just won gold medal at the VisitEngland National Awards for 'England's Best B&B 2014', and we could understand why.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macblooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We like to share our insider tips and 'secret places' as plans emerge for the day. Glad you enjoyed that very good House red! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

To call St Cuthberts a b and b rather understates it.We have stayed in many large hotels that could learn from St Cuthberts.From our arrival we were treated with courtesy The place is well designed and Jeff as front of house made sure we got the best from our stay suggesting places to visit booking restaurants and generally being extremely helpful.Jill made us a very nice breakfast.We would certainly recommend to friends and should we return to this lovely part of the country would like to stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybershotEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for your review, we hope you'll return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay and can only say this is a superb base for a holiday in the area. The food is excellent and the hosts knowledge of the local area is great. We already had some ideas for days out but Jeff was able to suggest several others and also recommended places to eat in Seahouses, 2 of which we tried and were more than happy with. The building is beautifully decorated throughout and out room had a real touch of luxury about it. A 15 minute walk from the front, it may be a little further out than some people might like but at least it makes you feel like you earned that full English breakfast. And don't think that the breakfast is the usual fare served up by the chains, oh no, this is quality produce. When we go back up to Northumberland St. Cuthbert's House will be first on our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
The fact that you will return is the best compliment you can give us. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

St Cuthbert's is an ideal base for touring this part of the Northumberland coastline, Alnwick and Bamburgh Castle. However, this delightful B and B is far more than just a central base. From the moment I was welcomed by Jeff and Jill I knew my short break was assured a success. Nothing was too much trouble, and their through knowledge of the area helpful in planning, not only my day, but also in choosing an excellent place to eat in the evening. My room was spacious, extremely comfortable and immaculate. The breakfast is delicious (try Jill's potato cakes!). Thanks to St Cuthbert's and my hosts my first visit to Northumberland was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thanks for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed this first visit to Northumberland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed to celebrate my 50th Birthday and Jeff and Jill made us very welcome. 100% 5 star B & B and we were provided with everything we needed. Breakfast was very good there is plenty to keep you going till late dinner time. Our two days were great and we will be back again as this is a great base for touring Northumberland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New-Wingcommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed your special birthday celebration. Thanks for your review, we hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

St Cuthbert's House was our base for 3 nights and everything about it was totally superb. Jeff and Jill could not have done more to welcome us to this beautiful hotel and were indeed the perfect hosts with nothing being too much trouble. The accommodation was spacious and luxurious and sparkling clean, the food was lovely, the ambience was so relaxing and every help and advice was extended when needed. TV in the room, DVD player also. Nothing could have been bettered. A wonderful experience and we cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms were superb - I had a king sized bed in my room for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay., and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.9 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#6 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Cuthbert's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Property: St. Cuthbert's House
Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
St. Cuthbert's House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing