We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Cuthbert's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Cuthbert's House
Ranked #1 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Jeff and Jill provide a most friendly welcome. Food excellent. Non greasy, beautifully prepared breakfast. Beautiful room and well equipped bathroom. Lounge comfortable with lots of local information. Hosts always ready with ideas of places to visit. Very relaxing week. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
The best compliment we can receive is to have you say you will return. We're so pleased you enjoyed your week here, adn we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
573
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very comfortable and spacious. Superb hospitality. Wonderful attention to detail. Hosts very helpful in advising on where to visit etc. All in all, everything we'd hoped for - and more! Justifiably award-winning!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewWintersgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We're pleased SCH provided more than you'd hoped for - that's great! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

When we arrived at St Cuthbert's House, we where greeted by the owners and made to feel like old friends, after showing us to our room, we where then helped with our luggage and made to feel immediately at home. Our room was large and well equipped with large windows and really comfortable bed, the shower room again was well appointed. The breakfast menu at St Cuthbert's with good choices and very well cooked and presented, the level of detail is exceptional in every way and nothing seems to present any problems what so ever even to providing information about public transport with the bus stop just around the corner. We shall definitely be staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you'll be coming back. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having recently spent a long weekend in Seahouse, we stayed in St Cuthbert's House, and weren't disappointed, accommodation, breakfast, location. The hosts Jill & Jeff were very
welcoming and made us feel at home, I would strongly advise anybody who wants a perfect weekend or more to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your weekend, and we hope you'll return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have visited Seahouses for over 20 years and this was the first time we have stayed without our daughter, we were looking for somewhere special and St Cuthbert's did not disappoint. Perfect is the only way I can describe our visit, from the hosts Jeff and Jill to the quality of the bedrooms to the delicious breakfasts.
We would highly recommend a visit to Cragside (National Trust) with its stunning house and gardens and also Howick Hall and gardens, we were incredibly lucky to have beautiful weather.
Pinnacles fish and chips are, in our opinion the best in the village and such good value. We also enjoyed pizzas at Elan pizzeria, our advice is book as it can be very busy and it may be worth knowing they do not accept cards. We also enjoy sampling the local ale at The Ship Inn but remember if you like real ale Jeff has many at the house to try.
Thank you Jeff, Jill and family, we feel very fortunate to have found such a beautiful place to stay in a part of the world that is very close to our hearts.

Green Features: St Cuthbert's takes care where ever possible to look after the environment and I was delighted to see and taste the products and talents of local people.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerEm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank YOU - for such a lovely review. We too are pleased you've found us, and we hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was our first (but hopefully not last) stay at St. Cuthbert's. From our welcome at arrival to our farewell at departure this was a very special place to stay. The building, a refurbished chapel, is full of character with some original features remaining. The room was the ultimate in luxurious comfort. Everything had been thought of and we felt utterly pampered.
The breakfasts were better than any we have experienced elsewhere and there is an excellent collection of bottled real ales which would make any CAMRA member smile!
There is plenty to do in the local area.....don't miss Cragside....but for us the lasting memory is one of complete relaxation in a beautiful setting.
I can honestly say that we have never experienced hospitality like this anywhere else.
A very special place .....visit it if you can.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laidbackreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely compliments you pay us here. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope that we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olten
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

It all started with a very warm welcome. We felt at home from the very first moment.
St. Cuthbert's House is the most impressive and most beautiful B&B we have ever been.The bedroom was elegant with a luxury en-suite. The former church with the high ceiling and the church windows gives a special atmosphere to the breakfast room and the living room with the bar.
Jill's breakfasts were delicious and Jeff's advices for exploring the area were always very helpful. We were lucky to have a house concert which was another highlight during our stay.
Jill and Jeff, you are wonderful hosts! Thank you very much. We hope that we will come back in the near future

Room Tip: Columba Room
See more room tips
Green Features: Jill and Jeff follow a green policy. They use products from local farmers and they offer bio-degradable organic toiletries.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed everything about SCH, and hope that we'll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#8 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Megstone House
Megstone House
#5 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Cuthbert's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Property: St. Cuthbert's House
Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
St. Cuthbert's House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing