We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK - But a bit worn”
Review of Farne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farne House
York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK - But a bit worn”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

PUFFIN CRAG, FARNE HOUSE, SEAHOUSES
This is one of 7 Apartments in this small complex on the harbour-side at Seahouses. We rented it for a mid-week break in September 2013. The plus points are the location, with wonderful sea views, and the availability of a swimming pool (although this could have been a few degrees warmer to be comfortable). The 3 bedrooms are of a decent size but the kitchen is tiny and the dining/sitting room would be a bit cramped for 6 people. (As there were only two of us on this visit it was fine.) The bedroom downstairs was the one we used and the four poster bed was very comfortable. There was something of a damp smell when we arrived but this soon cleared and the apartment was warm and cosy with some background heating switched on. There was the occasional knocking from the water pipes, the hobs on the cooker were badly marked, and the dining room table top was loose. Parking is very limited and we had to park on the harbour path as there was no room in the complex's courtyard. There is a good selection of restaurants and takeaways within a few minutes walk and the 'Hot Kipper in a Bun' from the "Swallow Fisherman's Kitchen" just around the corner is not to be missed! We enjoyed our stay and Northumberland is a wonderful place but, although the apartment is quite comfortable, it had rather a worn-out feel to it and needs some updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JohnDYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in Seal's Bay. The property has three huge selling points. First the location overlooking Seahouses harbour. Seahouses is a fabulous base for exploring this beautiful part of the country. We travelled as far north as Edinburgh, for the festival, and as far south as Durham, all easily accessed from the A1. The cottage is in a perfect location within the town, and parking, though tight, is right outside your door.

Second is the view. Any previously reported problems with the huge picture window seems to have been remedied, and the condensation free view across the harbour to the Farne Islands beyond is breathtaking.

Thirdly, there is a swimming pool on site, which though small, was a real bonus when travelling with children. Best used by one family at a time though, so you occasionally have to pick your moment.

It was also spotlessly clean on arrival.

However, as described by others, it is rather let down by just feeling a little unloved and dated. There's evidence of damp on a few of the walls, there's an aroma of damp throughout the downstairs, and the carpeted bathroom and lavatory don't help.

Although it is comfortable enough, the kitchen equipment is in poor condition. The old electric hob is truly awful, the knobs kept falling off the washing machine, the pans are most definitely 'stick', the water heating system clanks and vibrates from next door and the shower facilities were probably cutting edge in the 80s. The heating is provided by electric storage heaters, which seem to have a 12 hour delay whether you're turning then on or off. Interesting to note that the positive reviews on their website, and that of English Country Cottages, seem to stop in about 2009.

It's a shame, because it could be so much more, and probably should be for the price, although we, at least, saw no evidence of the surcharges for heating and courtyard lighting that others have described. I agree it would benefit from a Welcome pack or visitor suggestions book.

We had a fabulous holiday and would return to Northumberland. We would only return to Farne House after a fairly substantial refurbishment.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank syringemonkey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We booked Seal's Bay in Farne House specifically because of its supposedly fabulous view from the picture window overlooking the harbour, a main selling point of the property. BUT imagine our disappointment to find the double-glazed window full of condensation! Two days before leaving we received a letter telling us workmen were going to replace the window during our last day there - no apology for the state of the window or for the disruption to our last day. On calling the company they were apologetic but they should have done that before - a Mrs Allen offered us a free weekend - not possible as we live in London so too far for such a short break. The company don't have good communication systems in place and have little empathy with clients. Also Mrs Allen claimed that the window damage was new but I'm sure it was not judging from the extent (and other comments here). We found the place quite comfortable but very dated - with very old equipment and inventory items missing, rug with curled up edges. There was no telephone for incoming calls, no video/DVD. The kitchen hob knobs were on full when we arrived so it was dangerous when we switched on the hob at the wall. Kitchen equipment was just about acceptable though not all there eg grater/ oven gloves. There was no information file/pack in the cottage with useful local information like the nearest doctor, rubbish day etc. The only documents from the owner (a company) were related to money - demand for pool money, breakage cost list, discount offer for future booking - no friendly welcome note. One can see their priorities! It was a pity as the location is wonderful. We booked with English Country Cottages and despite my feedback a week ago they have not even acknowledged my complaint.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyday1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had originally booked to stay at 'Waters Edge', having had a pleasant stay there ten years ago with our family. This time round, when we arrived at 'Waters Edge' we were stunned to find that the large picture window in the lounge was steamed up, ruining what is a fabulous view. On closer inspection, we discovered that there was nothing we could do, as the seals on the frame were gone. We were not prepared to stay, especially as we had paid for this view as far as we were concerned. Did not unpack but rang the owner who was rather rude and insulting! (Had at least expected an apology.) She suggested I was a fault-finder but did suggest we rented the apartment next door. As we had driven four hours with our two youngest children we agreed to see next door which is 'Puffin Crag'.( We were kept waiting nearly an hour in the car park for the keys to arrive.) The window at 'Puffin Crag' was fine and the apartment was clean, although the carpets need a shampooing. Among the many problems we encountered were: a faulty washing machine that would not spin, despite close adherence to the instructions; the bath we could not run as the hot tap would not work; a loud clanging noise every time we ran any hot water and a shower that was very slow to drain. Generally the whole place appears not to be maintained properly and in my view, the whole building needs new front windows and the interior up-dating. We also missed a 'Welcome Pack' which we are used to receiving on arrival at other places we have stayed. The owner states in a sheet designed to generate business, that she values past customers (us) but our treatment at the start of the week makes it a sure thing that none of us will be back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seahouses hotels

Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was an expensive mistake which if we'd bothered to check this website before we booked we would have never made. Place is tired and chintzy. There were damp problems in the toilet and bathroom. The bath carpet was rotten around the toilet. Not worth the money and the owner was less than sympathetic. My advice is not to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have just returned after a week staying in Harbour Heights. 5 years ago we stayed in Cragg End so we knew basically what the properties in this complex are like. We opted for Harbour Heights because of the fantastic views from the living room of Farne Island and the harbour at Seahouses.
We weren't disappointed. This comfortable property was just as we anticipated. It has 3 bedrooms (sleeps 5) but it was only the 2 of us who stayed. It was wonderful to come back to a warm cosy home from home after a day out. It was clean, the double bed in the main bedroom was extremely comfortable and the kitchen was well furnished for our stay. Would highly recommend for an ideal base for exploring the wonderful Northumbria area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank holidayfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My advice to anyone is don't go. Stayed for a week in August 2012, cost 1K, and found accomodation extremely dated, furniture and carpets stained, kitchen equipment ancient and of poor quality, and the supposedly modern bathroom to be anything but. The pool was very cold and the shower cubicle was old, dirty and in a poor state of repair. Complaints to the owner by letter received a response refuting any imperfections and English Country Cottages only filed our complaints for future reference. Have had many cottage holidays and this is definitely the worst so far in terms of description and value for money. The extra surcharge for non existent outside lighting and pool heating adds insult to injury.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seahouses hotels
0.6 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#11 of 25 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#8 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gun Rock
Gun Rock
#18 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horncliffe Bed & Breakfast
Horncliffe Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farne House

Property: Farne House
Address: Crewe Street, Seahouses NE68 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Seahouses
Hotel Class:4 star — Farne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Farne House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing