We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of The Olde Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Olde Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A quick stop en route to Scotland and well chosen. A great welcome, chose the best view from the Upper Deck. Watch the harbour life, the ducks and with the Farne Islands, Bamburgh and Lindisfarne Castles in view. Only the forgotten soap to fault this bit. The Hotel offers more exploration of its nautical exhibits than we had time for. Dinner was good, although service attention occasionally drifted: they did have a lot of diners to cope with. Would certainly call again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Upper Deck if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

We checked in as part of a walking holiday to find our bags had already been put into our room. The building itself if wonderfully rambling with a proper function room used by the local community upstairs. The pub boasts a lot of local history displayed around the building. I found myself reading large parts of it including the Victorian murder mystery, brilliant. The range of real and local beers was great. The food is of high quality and comes in appetite quenching portions. One plus point was good quality loose leaf tea and a strainer to pour with. Nice touch. looking for the excuse to return.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which came with a spa bath and 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neanderslob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Fantastic for a weekend trip. Two minutes from the harbour where boats left evert hour for The Farne Islands and Holy Island. Seahouses famous fish and chips not to be missed and don't forget to take home fresh shellfish and kippers. The hotel is steeped in history and it has to be said everything was sparkling clean. Food! Mmmm.staff very helpful and happy. Miles of beautiful beaches and some of the best castles in UK. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Winter is just as nice as summer as you see a variety of sea birds and seals. Personally I prefer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeordieGirl173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This review is more for Seahouses/Northumberland rather than the Ship inn but bear with me. This village/area has to be the best place to holiday in the country. Seahouses is a very small village with the best fish/chips anywhere. The people are so friendly [ very much like the irish ] and nothing is to much trouble. By useing this place as a base, you are free to explore as far up as the scottish border with ease [ or Ed/boro is you wish to travel further ] just 4mile north you have the magnificent Bamburgh Castle, a deff must see, another 4mile north you will find Holy Island/Lindisfarne, but watch the tidal crossing times. Next comes Berwick with its walls surrounding the town.Inland 12mle there is Alnwick Catle [ harry potter fans will love it alas] another brill place to spend many a hr, look out for the poision garden. South you will find Craster,Amble, Alnmouth all worth a vist.The ship pub itself is all decked out in fishing memorabilia from a time when we had great fishing fleets, and has a very pleasant atmosphere, staff are so cheerful ,we have stayed there in the past but now prefer to get a cottage.Holiday lets are plentyful, wheather that is a good thing or not ??. Boats trips to the Farnes are a must for kids, and scuba diving for adults if thats your thing.Behind the ship are 2 more pubs adj to each other, The Black swan and The Schooner. Live music every fri/sat at the latter.These pubs are golden, speaking as a real ale drinker. The Locals all have time for you.Seahouse,s gets a 11/10 definitely

Room Tip: Give Northumberland a try, you will love it.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HarryNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My wife & i spent two nights on a dinner, bed & breakfast deal in March and it proved to be excellent value.Very good choice of rooms. Restaurant very good and they catered for my wife who is GF very well.
The Saloon and Cabin bars have a tremendous atmosphere with plenty of locals and six real ales ales in superb condition.
All the staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their face.
WILL RETURN.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank IAN201237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is the second time we have had a weekend break here and both times have been great the rooms are warm and comfortable and if you are out in the annex you get a separate lounge which have great views over the harbour.
The evening meals were first rate, nothing fancy, good well cooked and presented food. The breakfasts were the same and set in attractive old world hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Recently spent a week in Seahouses and visited the Old Ship twice ...The hosts and staff really looked after all customers and were very welcoming. Food and drink very good value and what a great atmosphere on offer. A visit to Seahouses is not complete without trying a local bevy...If you have an interest in maritime history a visit is worthwhile to see all the old artifacts ...my thanks to the "Ship.."

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocket54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,285 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
493 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
536 reviews
18.8 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Ship Inn

Address: Seahouses NE68 7RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: £41 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Olde Ship Hotel
The Olde Ship Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing