We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olde Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Olde Ship Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Although not really aware of it we had booked a room (The Upper Deck) the was located in an adjacent building right next door. As the name implies, our rooms were located on the first floor with excellent views of the harbour both to the left and to the right. The Olde Ship Inn is located only a minutes walk away from the harbour making it convenient if a boat trip over to the Farne Islands has been booked.
Very clean with all the amenities one would expect of accommodation in this price category including Wi-Fi. Friendly and helpful staff add to the old world charm of the main building and the restaurant is to be recommended for both the variety of dishes on offer as well as the quality. There is not a nook or cranny that is not filled with a sea related ornament and one can spend hours simply discovering what's hidden around the next corner.
In all, a wonderful place that we shall certainly be making use of at some future date.

Room Tip: There is a side room that one could possibly describe as an old snug room available for those not wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForsetiGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    136
    36
    25
    18
See reviews for
61
275
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had been so busy for months, cancelled a week away , remembered the Olde Ship from last year ( lunch), rang in got the Lower Deck suite, clean, amusing staff, great food , receptionist was having a birthday munching cakes !!!
The room was brilliant overlooking the harbour and Farne Islands, 4 poster bed too !!
Restaurant was great , Lobster to die for, we have stayed in seaside places but nothing like this , the fish were still jumping on your plate they were that fresh.
Lunch, try the Cabin Bar , small select , good wholesome food

we would recommend the Olde Ship and intend to back in 6 - 8 weeks

Room Tip: The suites are best , not much more expensive than the exec rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Having eaten it their restaurant previuosly my wife and I decided to dine there for my birthday whilst on holiday. The service was excellant, food excellent and when the waitress bought my desert to the table she was followed by 2 others singing happy birthday with a candle flickering finishing off a wonderfull night. Will dine there again when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: Booking essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintageandretyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Wonderful stay despite the weather. Room was very clean, with a separate sitting room and view over the harbour. It was located upstairs in the annex. The food at breakfast and dinner was of a very high quality and service was friendly and efficient.
The inn itself is like a museum to the fishing trade, full of seafaring curiosities. It also has a wonderful selection of real ales and malt whiskies.
Ideally located for cruises to the Farne Islands with the booking booths just a minute away.
All in all one of the best places I've ever stayed!

Room Tip: Choose an annex room, quiet and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here mid my 2013. It's looking a bit tired and seems a little pricy for what is offered. Staff are pleasant and rooms have everything you need, even if the bathroom is across the corridor. Breakfast was poor quality, greasy and manufactured tasting. The surprise was having to request cereals and juice, these were not freely available which smacks of penny pinching. That said, the bed was comfy and I slept well.

Wanting to check out prior to 9am was a problem, so I had to leave due to work commitments and return later to settle up and hand over keys.

Must try harder.

James

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 785JamesH785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We ate at the Ship Inn during a recent stay in the area, the night we visited the weather was dreadful, it was blowing a gale and lashing down with rain but the pub was welcoming and the atmosphere very friendly. The main bar was packed as was the smaller of the restaurants but we were given a table in the bigger restaurant, we hadn't booked but only waited a short while. The food was excellent, there is quite a varied menu and when the food arrived it was delicious, both my partner and myself opted for the rack of ribs and it was lovely, please go hungry as the portions are on the big size, my partner regretted having a starter. Service in the restaurant was very good, staff were friendly and I would certainly recommend the Ship if you are in the area and looking for a nice place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irenenights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We only went for the Sunday night, 5th May 2013 and it was ok. The place was really busy. Everything was very clean although most of it could do with refurbishment. We had a small room which overlooked the car park, which was ok, but not outstanding. I think the price for bed and breakfast was overpriced for what we got compared to other places. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The drinks were dearer there than the other pubs in Seahouses. I was disappointed that we couldn't get into our room until 2pm so we just had to leave our things in the car, plus we spent a good bit of time trying to get the car parked. The Ship Inn was ok but wouldn't be my first choice in Seahouses.

Room Tip: Try and find out as much as you can about your room as there are no pictures on their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAL061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#10 of 26 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Ship Inn

Property: The Olde Ship Inn
Address: Seahouses NE68 7RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Olde Ship Hotel
The Olde Ship Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing