We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing visit”
Review of Megstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Megstone House
Ranked #5 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for one night in a large room with a four-poster bed. The proprietors are very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and surprisingly quiet as it overlooked the road.

The breakfast was very good and filling.

This puts a lot of hotels to shame and we would happily stay again.

My only suggestion would be not to have the heating so high as it was a bit warm for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephbloggs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Megstone House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at Megstone House, what a little gem of a place.
Donna and Paul are such welcoming friendly people who could not have done enough for us, the room was lovely, breakfast was delicious. Would definetely recommend to family and friends.
Thanks again, Pauline & Mike x

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

What a gem Megstone house is
exceptionally clean, tidy and well located
Donna and Paul the owners were the consummate hosts creating a friendly welcoming environment making us feel like we had been friends for years
Mike and Angie

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angiemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We were given a free upgrade 2 the 4 poster room & it was perfect. Would pay extra 2 stay in this room again. Perfect b&b. Easily 5 star.
Location was perfect.
Breakfast was perfect.
Owners were very friendly, nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Family members raved about the wonderful room and shower and breakfast. Having been in the hospitality industry, they said this is as good as it gets. Superb customer service combined with a really friendly welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a night's stay at the Megstone House B&B in Seahouses. We were greeted by a very friendly Donna and Paul. Our room was of a good size, comfortable bed, lovely white sheets, soft pillows. Bathroom excellent with soft white towels, plenty of shower gel, shampoo, body lotion etc. The breakfast was superb. There was fruit juice, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, tea, coffee and the full English was cooked to perfection, and was eaten in a warm, comfortable dining room which had beautiful white tablecloths. The whole house was spotlessly clean and freshly decorated throughout. We had a peep in the other two bedrooms and they were also superb. We would recommend this B&B wholeheartedly.Well done Donna and Paul and thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thedancingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Donna & Paul who made our stay extremely pleasant from start to finish - the rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean attention to detail is spot on , beds comfortable and breakfast lovely - you couldnt ask for a nicer place to stay - short walk into seahouses and a beautiful part of the north of england to visit - plenty to do and see - visit the the ship inn - atmosphere is how a pub should be
recommend Megstone House to anyone and what a lovely weekend spent in a beautiful little place
thanks Donna & Paul

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank breesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Longstone House Hotel
Longstone House Hotel
#19 of 25 in Seahouses
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#4 of 25 in Seahouses
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megstone House

Address: 187 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: £76 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Megstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megstone House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing