We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good introduction to the Farne Islands”

Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours offers a wide range of boat trip to the Farne islands in Northumberland. Our boats have toilets on board and our catamaran has disabled access when the tides are right. All ages are welcome as well as dogs. Our skippers and crewman are there to help you with any question you like so pleased do not hesitate to ask. If you want to know about our day to day adventures before you arrive, then why not have a look at our blog.
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first trip to the Farne Islands and although we were too late to see many birds the trip whetted our appetites sufficiently to think about planning a further trip next year to see the puffins etc. We watched the weather forecast for a decent day, and spoke to Serenity about the timings for the boat trips etc. I was impressed when I received a phone call just before we were setting off, from Serenity, to tell us that it was a beautiful day up in Seahouses . We had an enjoyable drive up and parked easily near the harbour. Serenity is a catamaran and very stable in the sea. The boat was very clean, the staff friendly and chatty. We sailed around the islands, saw various birds including two very young puffins who had not yet departed. The highlight was the seals, who bobbed inquisitively around the boat coming very close. They were very curious and it was lovely to see them. Thoroughly recommended .

Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarnes, Owner at Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your trip. Hopefully we will see you next year.
Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 605 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Really wanted to see the puffins but clearly hadn't done my research and it was too late in the season, not only had the puffins left but so had the majority of other birds. However, it was still a lovely trip, excellent, knowledgeable crew who took the boat close to rocks to see the birds and seals and pointed out various different birds and explained their habits. Gave us the history of the islands and the Grace Darling story. Landed on the island but as the puffins had gone, found an hour rather a long time to kill. Lots of other people had taken picnics, which we wished we had done as it was lunch time and would have been nice to sit and have a drink/snack. Only facilities are toilets and happy with that, would be a shame to find a café and gift shop. Had there been puffins, would have been very happy to take photos for an hour. Good trip at £13 plus landing fee of £5.40 if you're not an NT member.

Thank Pricklypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarnes, Owner at Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Sorry you missed the Puffins but I'm pleased you enjoyed your trip. The best time for the Puffins is May, June and a bit into July.
Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have wanted to go out to the Farne Islands for a very long time. We were holidaying nearby and having paid a visit to Lindisfarne we made our way to Seahouses. We only had enough change for a couple of hours at the car park (£1.50) so we prayed that we had timed our visit well enough to be able to get on a boat and get back in time for the 4pm deadline. We wandered along and saw that serenity was sailing at 2pm for about an hour and a half...perfect...except for it was just after 2pm. We went to the office window and the lady kindly phoned the boat to ask it to wait. Luck was on our side again as we had little cash on us and they only take cash payments...we had enough for the £22 fee for the two of us.

So off we went, the sea was very calm and the skipper and his mate very friendly. We were accompanied by their sea faring dog! Throughout the trip, at points of interest our skipper and his mate explained facts about the Islands, the birds, the history..it was wonderful. The time of year meant it was probably not the best to see the thousands of birds that are usually on the island, but the white rocks on the Islands were a result of thousands of visitors depositing their calling cards! We were actually more interested in seeing the seals...again, it is probably better to go at a different time of the year when their are pups however we were delighted to see so many seals popping their heads up and giving us a nonchalant glance. It is truly magnificent to be this close to nature and to see seals in their natural environment.

There are a number of different companies offering different lengths of trips and I cannot comment on how Serenity compares with them however the hour and a half trip is ideal and certainly well worth the money. Thank you

Thank JulieD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarnes, Owner at Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

I think you have made a mistake here as we are Serenity Farne Island Boats Tours. Just to point out that the best time to see the Puffins and all the other seabirds is May, June and a bit into July. Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was a 90 minute boat trip on the Glad Tidings VII boat. It was quite the rollercoaster ride on the sea as it was a windy day but this just made it more enjoyable. Be prepared to have some spray on your face if you sit on the outside! There are seats inside as well if you prefer a dry trip! There were many seals basking on the rocks which is a great sight. We had just missed the puffins (July-mid August is the best time to see them apparently).
This trip was £11 per adult and did not include an Island landing. All Farne islands are owned by the National Trust and these boats are all operated by National Trust employees I believe so they are knowledgeable and enthusiastic. You do get a live commentary for the main islands.
When you walk down to the Seahouses harbour you will see around 4 different companies all offering different types (and times) of boat trips to the Islands, including a sunset tour. The trips leave approx every 30 minutes so you will never have long to wait.
You can get here in 50 mins on the bus from Berwick-upon-tweed, and it is only around 10 mins from Bamburgh.

Thank sge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarnes, Owner at Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

I think you posted with the wrong company but I'm pleased you enjoyed your trip around the Farne Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were on the Farne Island boat trip 27.08.2013 @ 12.15 and what a lovely trip we had. Andrew our skipper and his brother are so passionate about the wildlife and very happy to share their knowledge. The hour spent on Inner Farne again was interesting and as National Trust members it was free to land. The NT rangers were around to share their knowledge.

Thank MCBAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarnes, Owner at Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and hopefully we will see you again sometime. Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Northumberland, England
 

Been to Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing