We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent value and extremely clean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Was a bit apprehensive about staying here after reading some of the reviews however, we had a great stay. We stayed in a family room which accommodated all five of us very well. Excellent value, extremely clean and super location. We had a meal here on the first night and across the road at the Old Shipe on the second night. Price wise they cost about the same. I preferred the meal at the Old Shipe but the rest of the family enjoyed both. It wasn't the most exciting meal but no complaints. Food aside, I was looking for a place to stay in a good location for visiting the Farne Island, Holy Island & Bamburgh Castle. This place provided us with excellent value for family accommodation. One small complaint would be the lack of mirrors in the family room. We have four women in the family and could find one mirror which was in the bathroom! It was until we were leaving that one of my daughters found another inside the vanity table.

I would agree with a previous reviewer that the chap who takes the phone booking could do with a lesson in customer service! I was rather put off, but I was really pleased we did stay here because it was ideal for our Easter break. So don't be put off.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CelticSpirit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We get so many lovely letters and cards of thanks which is lovely and we really appreciate that you have turned to TripAdvisor . Thank you for your very helpful suggestion about mirrors which we will address. With regard to customer service all our team are rigorously trained from customer service to food hygiene. A fact that we were the only pub in the locality to get five scores in the recent Scores on the Doors is testament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for The Bamburgh Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

Go anywhere else. The guy that FINALLY answered the phone was very rude, ignorant and completely lacking in any phone skills or manners. Liked the look of this place and if they get rid of Lurch, or buy him a personality, we might try it.
Went to the Ship instead.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Metzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Because of our popularity and close prime location next to the sea in the village the inn does get very busy at times which can mean the phone can take longer to answer. All messages are returned promptly and by our courteous staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This so called 3 star is charging similar prices to the 4 star Ship Inn, next door.
We stayed at both inns over one weekend. The Ship is far superior for the £20 extra for a room with 4 poster and super harbour and sea views and very helpful reception.
The service here was non-existent. The breakfast was sad. The dinner was OK.
The bathroom was tiny with no water pressure for the shower. They charge the same price for rooms with less space and features than others.
Don't bother taking your luggage in until you've checked in else you'll be lugging it around the bar before carrying it back to whence you came - with no help!!

Room Tip: Insist on low window sill for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

We are a three star inn because we offer low cost great value accommodation and are a pub with accommodation as opposed to being a hotel and do not offer services you would find in a four or five star hotel as such. Based on two people sharing our B & B rate starts at £40. Cracking value. Our winter break rates are just £39.50 per person per night dinner, bed and breakfast for all rooms, so book quickly to get a sea view! Top tip: My favourite room is 21 – there is a balcony overlooking the harbour.
We’re sad you thought our breakfast was sad. We think it’s great. We use world famous Bamburgh Banger sausages from R Carter & Sons – one of Rick Stein’s Food Heroes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Great for a relaxing stay. The inn is in a great location with wonderful views of the harbour. There was a lovely sunrise most mornings. The breakfast is ample and will set you up for the day. The staff were great and you could come and go as you pleased. We had a meal with some friends in the inn one evening which was excellent . I enjoyed a treatment at the spa linked to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaRomaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfasts are great, aren't they? We've just started using Bamburgh Bangers from nearby R Carter & Sons. They're one of Rick Stein's Food Heroes! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Once again the carvery was great. tender meat and a good selection of veg. What a shame they don't do the carvery on a saturday as the rest of the menu is overpriced. Drinks very expensive, but at least drunks won't be a problem.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank AnneNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2011

Thank you so much for your review. The carvery is indeed fantastic isn't it? I will pass on your comments about making it available on a Saturday.

As well as working for the inn I eat there regularly with my family and do find it good value. Have you tried our light bite range? I tucked into a hot beef sandwich - lots of meat, gravy and generous portion of chips for £6.95? Have a look next time you are in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I only popped in for lunch for a treat as it looked nice,prices high but thought it's a treat!! Food came and it looked like a 2 meals for £8 pub...fish and chips with peas! Chips frozen,a few dried up peas! I sent it back and had the carvery which was better but the roast potatos were raw in the middle!! Staff were rude when I complained and kept walking past while we were eating! The food should reflect
the price! And it didn't! We won't ever go again!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2011

The Bamburgh Castle Inn is famed in the area for its good food and friendly team of staff, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. All our food is cooked to order. As well as a seasonal menu we have daily changing specials as well, which vary according to local ingredients our chefs have sourced.

We pride ourselves on our polite, well trained staff who are always happy to help. It is our policy for staff to discreetly observe tables to clear away glasses, plates and to ensure customers are happy with their meal and enjoy the best possible experience at the Bamburgh Castle Inn.

We have a strong local cliental as well as being a popular destination for visitors to the area. We hope you will return to the Bamburgh Castle Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

went on an out of season deal,£79.00 b&b inc eve meal for two,the only thing we could find fault with was the en-suite,small, not finished off properly-poor bath with paint splashes on it,new handbasin but the stickers had not been removed,bed was two singles pushed together therefore had a ridge in the middle,plus side the room was too hot but had patio doors on a balcony to open,plenty of on-site parking

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontripusoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,264 reviews
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
527 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
214 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: £43 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing