We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic winter break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bamburgh Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another fantastic winter break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our second visit, we stayed for 2 nights DBB, room was immaculate with beautiful harbour view. Food lovely, staff fantastic, nothing is a bother to them. Have booked again for next year!! Fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: request sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Brilliant review - thank you :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    299
    125
    52
    28
See reviews for
215
479
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I almost forgot this review, however it was an evening booked for Friday 13th of December which included an evening meal, entertainment, one nights stay and breakfast the following morning. A disappointing turnout for the evening but that did,nt bother our party of four. We thouroughly enjoyed a Xmas meal and the entertainer Glen Roughhead is indeed a very talented singer. The accommodation was very comfortable. Well presented and WARM!!! Very pleasant and helpful staff and the following morning an equally pleasant breakfast enjoying views out across tthe harbour. At £65 per head it was excellent value for money and indeed that was reduced at checking out. Well worth the trip, the time and the money. Well done to all.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms cost a little more but its well worth the extra few pounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cattdvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
A lovely review - thank you! One thing to note - our sea view rooms and non sea view rooms cost the same during winter break rate periods, but as you point out there is a small difference for the remainder of the year. Well worth the small cost for our unbeatable views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent value for money can't pick a single fault. Sunday carvery was great, dinner was great and breakfast was great too, totally relaxing. The room was immaculate(28). Great location, great views. Seahouses is a little gem full of Northumbrian charm!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jem e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Love the little gem of Northumberland charm - we may have to quote you on that! Thank you so much for the review and for the five stars. We wish you a speedy return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

3 of us stayed for one night on 30.12.13 on th DBB deal. Staff were so friendly, rooms spacious, very clean and comfortable, food was excellent. Unfortunately they were fully booked, otherwise we would have stayed another few nights. The views were brilliant. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 10 on first floor had sea view and balcony - what more could you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
What a lovely review - thank you very much indeed and for the five stars too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were really looking forward to an evening meal in a lovely setting, but were so disappointed & quite frankly disgusted. We as a family have spent the last 20 years on holiday in the summer & New Year in Seahouses/Bamburgh & eaten in some fabulous places, but never tried the Bamburgh Castle until this Christmas/New Year.......but certainly shan't bother again. We actually considered booking in there for Dinner/Bed & Breakfast for 3 nights & are glad we didn't. The meal was appalling - small portions, chips were dry, £16.95 rib eye steak was so small it was untrue & not to mention the fat in it. The Bamburgh burger was dry, chewy & gristly... wouldn't even give it to our dog!!!! Having said that the staff were lovely & very welcoming. Such a shame & so disappointing.

Room Tip: Only ate in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Oh no - what a shame to read. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal. Please, please do come back and give us another try. I eat here as a regular local customer as do my friends and family. The food is cracking especially the steaks. Countdown to steak night is continuing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had another excellent time in Seahouses staying in this hotel, The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient and made us feel very welcome, The food was excellent and extremely good value, Bedrooms were warm and cosy with comfortable beds and had everything you could need. We have already booked our next stay for November, 2014.

Room Tip: Book a sea-view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Great to hear you have booked to come and stay again - thank you. And many thanks as well for your five stars and review. Much appreciated. See you in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

A great sea view, with welcoming staff, and a friendly outlook. Great value, proper pub food which you would be hard pressed not to enjoy. Recommend the pork dishes, and the steak and ale pie, which was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds_foodie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
My favourite is the steak and ale pie! Glad you enjoyed. Thank you for leaving such a nice review - and a helpful one at that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
3.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#10 of 25 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Property: The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing