We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What has happened?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bamburgh Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What has happened?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Always been impressed and had many meals here over the past couple of years. This time, the food was beyond ordinary and dare I say, horrid, I had no wish to embarrass my host, so I did not complain. Please try and match you fantastic location by producing good honest food. I'm sure it can be done as it has been in the past.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 77Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We were so sad to read your review and please do accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your meal. Please do give us another try and come back and enjoy the superb food that locals and visitors enjoy with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    299
    125
    52
    28
See reviews for
215
479
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berwick
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The only reason it isn't 5 dots is that the salad options on over the summer have been taken off. On 27th December people need salad. However a combination of starter and side of green salad was a tasty, if slightly more expensive substitute. The men in the group managed to stuff themselves with pork and fish'n'chips despite having wanted salad. Great food and good service and fabulous location with the upstairs being open. Better than Tenerife! Get on the salads David!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Ahhh! A great review - thank you! We will make sure your salas is back on when the weather is warmer. Will pass on the feedback to Davy boy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wressle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Between November and March the hotel offers winter deals that are very good value for money. We spent two nights in January 2014. The hotel was warm and the staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room was spacious and was well equipped as was the bathroom. The room had french windows leading to a decked balcony with stunning views of the Farne Islands and the harbour.

A buffet style breakfast was very good as was the extensive menu for the evening meal.

We will be returning for a short break next winter.

A great base for exploring and long coastal walks.

Nearest town Alnwick about 12 miles away.

Great old pub just across the road with warm log fire and real ale!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewartcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for a comprehensive review and for our five stars - please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Bamburgh Castle Inn is a good location for several reasons. It is in close proximity to Bamburgh Castle, Lindesfarne and is harbourside in Seahouses. You can wander around the village or visit several attractions close by.

Our breakfast was included and it was a delicious traditional English breakfast. We had dinner at the Inn also. We opted to order our meal then we went up a flight of stairs to a room that overlooked the harbour. The servers brought the meal to us. The only downfall was if you want another drink, you have to go all the way back down, order it, wait and bring it back up. Eating at The Bamburgh Castle Inn is like eating a home cooked meal. Delicious!

They provide WiFi but it was a bit of a joke really. We tried to connect in the pub and we're told to move closer to the connection. We were almost on top of it and it still didn't work. Fortunately WiFi is not a need for us when we are on holiday but if anyone needed it for business, it may be a bit of an issue.

I was glad to see the parking for guests was included.

The staff were pleasant and helpful.

I personally don't think I would want to stay during high season but we loved the time of year we went and would certainly return.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms at the top of the hotel facing the North Sea are by far the better rooms. You pay a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbean_breezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for leaving such a useful review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Just a couple of points: we are a pub so you do indeed have to order at the bar - which does mean coming back down stairs from our Sea View lounge to order. Also, the WiFi does work in the main public areas - I conduct many meetings from different locations in the pub (and beer garden!) and have not had issues with WiFi access. The code for the WiFi has caught me out however and it can be tricky to enter correctly. If you are having problems, ask a member of staff and we will do all we can to help. Please do come again soon and thank you for leaving this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our second visit, we stayed for 2 nights DBB, room was immaculate with beautiful harbour view. Food lovely, staff fantastic, nothing is a bother to them. Have booked again for next year!! Fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: request sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Brilliant review - thank you :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I almost forgot this review, however it was an evening booked for Friday 13th of December which included an evening meal, entertainment, one nights stay and breakfast the following morning. A disappointing turnout for the evening but that did,nt bother our party of four. We thouroughly enjoyed a Xmas meal and the entertainer Glen Roughhead is indeed a very talented singer. The accommodation was very comfortable. Well presented and WARM!!! Very pleasant and helpful staff and the following morning an equally pleasant breakfast enjoying views out across tthe harbour. At £65 per head it was excellent value for money and indeed that was reduced at checking out. Well worth the trip, the time and the money. Well done to all.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms cost a little more but its well worth the extra few pounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cattdvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
A lovely review - thank you! One thing to note - our sea view rooms and non sea view rooms cost the same during winter break rate periods, but as you point out there is a small difference for the remainder of the year. Well worth the small cost for our unbeatable views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent value for money can't pick a single fault. Sunday carvery was great, dinner was great and breakfast was great too, totally relaxing. The room was immaculate(28). Great location, great views. Seahouses is a little gem full of Northumbrian charm!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jem e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Love the little gem of Northumberland charm - we may have to quote you on that! Thank you so much for the review and for the five stars. We wish you a speedy return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
3.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#10 of 25 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Property: The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing