We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm friendly and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bamburgh Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
tyne &wear
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Warm friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night mid week on the winter deal for dinner bed and breakfast. The hotel is clean and staff very friendly. Enjoyed every minute. Menu and food lovely no complaints. Excellent for dogs, we had a lawnee area outside our room with patio doors. Excellent idea and dogs made to feel very welcome.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ronneyroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for the five stars too! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    302
    125
    52
    28
See reviews for
215
483
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
grafter999
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for the dbb deal and needed a dog friendly place.

It was a wonderful place with great staff and food.

special thanks to the female member who made Alfie at home and the male new member of staff behind the bar @ evening time who was a credit to the hotel.

Gav, Julia and Alfie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grafter999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
A lovely review - thank you. And much appreciate the kind remarks about our staff and the five stars too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We ate in here during our stay in Seahouses and the food was delicious. The staff are really friendly, the atmosphere is great and most of all, they are dog friendly which is always a bonus for us.
Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrsSMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your review - we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Recently spent a night at the inn and I must say the room was reasonable and the food was good -BUT...all afternoon and all evening the din from the cellar cooler roared and vibrated around our room until 10pm. It re-started at around 8AM. We were not warned in advance of this intrusion into our anticipated peace and tranquility, so, the lesson is, do not book unless you can secure a sea view room. If you have a complaint, do not bother seeking an explanation/apology from the owners as they do not believe in responding to correspondence.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are well away from the various fans/air-con etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferkel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
That's not good to hear - but we would most certainly have done our best to move you into a different room if you had reported the issue. We are very proud of our high cellar standards and have won awards for our ale keeping therefore the cellar cooler does come into play. We want you to enjoy your stay with us- please just let know in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was very clean and comfortable, nice to have the sea view as well. Meals were delicious. Staff were welcoming, helpful and professional (superb customer service from all). Highly recommend this establishment. We will be happy to return as very convenient for the harbour and boat trips to the Farnes!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank herbel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
A cracking review - thank you very much. We all appreciate your five star rating too. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This must be the 5th or 6th time I have been to the Bamburgh Castle Hotel on one of their Winter Warmer deals and i still rave about the place. Stayed there for 3 nights between 10th and 13th March 2014 and cannot believe the value at £119.50 for 3 nights half board.
The food is very good, the service very friendly and the rooms very good, mine had a fairly large balcony just nice for relaxing after a hard days wander and of course with superb views of the harbour and the Farne Isles.
I will be going back here again without any doubt

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoppingGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
And you are a five star guest! We're looking forward to welcoming you back home soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a review of the public bar and dining area only as we did not stay at the Inn on this occasion (we have in the past enjoyed a three night winter bed, breakfast & evening meal stay).

As you enter the bar from the entrance via Main Street, the carpeted area with five large tables and chairs is the dog friendly part. A perfect view out to Seahouses harbour further enhances the area. There are bowls of water for the dogs, which are frequently topped up. The bar itself is large, clean and there is a wide variety of the usual ales and lagers, plus some real ales, wines and spirits. Tea and coffee is also always available.

The staff are so friendly and attentive, chatty and smiling, ensuring you are served quickly and are happy with your drinks / meals.

We chose to have three different meals, the Sunday Carvery is very popular, and it is easy to see why, the roast meats were so mouth-wateringly succulent, not dried out at all which can happen with carvery meats. The accompanying vegetables were also enjoyed, however, the broccoli was slightly too al-dente! Lovely rich gravy - delish!!
Another night we had a meal from the winter menu, I had steak pie, my husband had the burger. This time, both meals were slightly under-whelming for the price.
Our final meal was from the light bite menu, fish, chips and peas which was lovely, and just enough for lunch.

The Wi-Fi is fast and reliable, and free!!!

By the end of our holiday, our Labrador, Bella, knew the route from the accommodation where we were staying, to the door of the Inn!

A lovely pub to while away a few hours, we will be back in July, and again next March! (Or sooner, should we win the Lottery, because we will move to Seahouses, we love it so much!!!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for such a thorough review and for the five stars too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#10 of 25 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Property: The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing