We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

3rd time staying here, keep returning for the view. Room 19 looks straight over the harbour to the Farne isles. Breakfast is fine. Not eaten in the evening used 3 different restaurants all with a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triingharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for the review - we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    320
    131
    54
    28
See reviews for
230
506
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I can only endorse other reviews - smart room, friendly staff, good value for money. Two small minuses - the real ale wasn't as good as I'd expected and the fried eggs at the breakfast buffet were swimming in oil. I learned too late that we could have had poached eggs to order.

Room Tip: Worth paying the bit extra for a sea-view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorizogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for your review and we really hope to welcome you again soon. Surprised by your comments about the ale - it is usually in tip top condition - so much so that we have won awards for it. Hope you return again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night as a treat for me n hubby n our boxer Frank as it was her birthday. Again we were greeted with a friendly welcome. Our room was lovely & clean with a comfy bed & ideal garden access! Food was fab & we enjoyed a few drinks & chatted to other guests. The beer garden is a lovely suntrap which we enjoyed as long as we could & then moved inside & enjoyed the harbour view. Can't wait to visit again & make the most of the winter offer! It's too good to miss!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
And a fab review - thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you in the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here end of May 2014 for three nights. Staff pleasant and helpful. Spacious room with a fantastic view of the harbour. Very clean, serviced daily. Comfortable king size bed. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Excellent breakfast with plenty of variety. Evening meal - good choice, very tasty and large portions. Two large bar/lounges to relax in. Two minute walk down to the harbour - from where we took a boat trip to the Farne Islands to see the puffins - excellent. Variety of shops within a few metres. We took a pleasant drive up the coast to Bamburgh castle - definitely one of the best castles in England. We also took a trip to Holy Island.
We would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Loved your review and the five stars too - thank you so much. For some reason TA did not publish our original reply. So apologies if we appeared rude in not replying. Hope to welcome you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second time staying at the Bamburgh Castle Inn and it was just as good as the 1st time. We stayed for 3 nights / 2 roooms in July. The sea view rooms were both excellent, very clean and roomy. The breakfasts were good they just need to sort out the dicky toaster!
we dined here all 3 nights and all meals were excellent. The beer garden has a fantastic view. Staff are helpful and friendly.free car parking. Hotel is in such a great location, perfect views, 2 minute walk to the shops and crazy golf. Beautiful views of Bamburgh Castle. Will def return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrso1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
What a fantastic review - we are so sorry for the delay in replying to you - for some reason TA had not posted our original reply?! Thank you for the five stars too and we look forward to welcoming you again soon :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Seahouses is a lovely little town on the coast but finding a nice local pub to eat in is not easy. On a Saturday night in summer we went in here first, weren't impressed by the menu so went out only to have to return as everywhere else was full. The menu is limited but the food is ok. My Dad had scampi which looked a little 'out of a bag' but my Mums chicken was good and my steak and ale pie was fine. The beer is good I will give them that and I've certainly been worse places but in the day and age of chain pubs who churn out cracking food in huge variations this little place lacks a bit. Good effort though and I would use it again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank StevePVFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for the review - we do serve as much food as we can that is home made, but the scampi is bought from a fishmonger and not made in our own kitchen. It is delicious, fresh juicy and crunchy though - we think. We do pride ourselves on delivering good, proper pub food that is cooked to order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After leaving the booking a bit late I thought I would struggle to get a decent room in Seahouses and so it turned out. However when I rang the Bamburgh they said they had a room but only the disabled bathroom adapted room on the ground floor was avaiable (with no sea view). We took the room but when we booked in the fiendly recettionist told us there had been a cancellation and we were upgraded to a sea view room,but we warned it was an attic room and smaller than the other.The room had faboulous views of the harbour,but we were slightly jealous that the adjoining rooms ahd balconies!...these go quickly!
The car park was free and the hotel is clean and comfortable and right in the middle of seahouses so it was a really enjoyable stay.
The only disappointment was the evening meal .The prices are high and the quality is not.Dont get me wrong,all cooked properly and edible just not what I would call restaurant quality food ,which is a great shame as it lets down the rest of the hotel.Also I think for the prices charged there should be waitress service and not the the "weatherspoons/brewers fayre method " of ordering.However the breakfast was very good........
That aside I was impressed with the hotel and the evening meal problem wouldnt stop me from returning,I would just find somewhere else for the evening meal.......

Room Tip: Book soon and get a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas_hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the review - we always do our best to help you have a great stay. Just a point to note - we are a pub with rooms - and our food service is - as is the norm with pubs - order at the bar. Hope you do return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
21.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Property: The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing