We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly, stunning location.”
Review of St Aidan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Aidan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm friendly, stunning location.”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed for 3 days here from 21st March. The choice of breakfast was excellent with everything you could wish for, we had the full English which set us up for the day. Excellent service from John and Sue who are very friendly. The view from our room which was very comfortable, was stunning. We would have loved to stay longer but maybe next time. This was our third visit to Seahouses we love the area

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittypernickity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan992, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
thank you for your lovely comments, we love it when people enjoy themselves, hopefully see you again and i know the weather was sunny this time,but hopefully it will be a little warmer for you next time you come, thanks again john and sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    84
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
271
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Stayed here 12th March 2011 just booked as a walk in. Had the front bedroom with large picture window and uninterrupted views out to sea (as it was winter not many people walking about, but, in summer this hotel room must be a people watchers dream). Room was very nice, large, clean with walk in shower, which I prefer, digital tv, complimentary tea, coffee & chocolate drinks, complimentary toiletries, clean white towels.
The owner John is very friendly and the guests lounge has a honesty bar, a great idea normally but as we were only there the 1 night we didn't get to use it.
Breakfast was fabulous, we had just spent 1 night at the White Swan in Alnwick and I think I preferred St.Aidans. There was almost every fresh fruit you could think of & we topped it off with yoghurt, if you wanted there was also fruit juices & cereal etc., we were served tea or coffee immediately while we looked at the menu to select either full english or smoked haddock or smoked salmon & scrambled egg. We opted for full english and it was enormous, I can eat but this outdid me it was a shame to leave it as it was really nice. My other half managed to clean his plate though.
If you like walking you will love staying here, there are so many place nearby, its right between Seahouses and Bamburgh (great Castle here) both within walking distance. Its the first time we have visited Northumberland and apart from the terrible weather we had a lovely break. If we were ever up that way again I would definitely book into the St.Aidan.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasSwinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan992, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
thanks for your lovely comments sue and i are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again if you return to discover more of northumberland regards john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed one night in the Scotland room in the St Aidan hotel in August. The hotel is quite a traditional B&B. The manager/owner was really welcoming and lovely. The hotel has an honesty bar in the lounge which we didn't use, but it seemed like a fantastic idea.

The room was very clean and comfortable with added extras like a small cafetiere for proper coffee as well as tea and hot chocolate. The view is really the highlight in this room with an unspoilt view of Bamburgh Castle which changes as the light changes. Gorgeous. It was very relaxing to lie on the bed and just gaze out of the window.

The one downside to the room is that the doors between the bedroom and shower room/toilet are just thin wooden doors with slats (like the ones you might get on the front of a wardrobe). That just makes it a bit awkward if you're on a romantic break with your partner. The shower room was clean with an electric shower which was fine.

Breakfast was very good with enough choice for veggies and non-veggies. A really good selection of fruit as well as a good cooked breakfast.

It's a very short walk from the hotel to the main street and harbour in Seahouses. We went to a curry house on the main street (I think it was Indian Brasserie) recommended by the St Aidan's manager - it was very busy and very good food. We had a drink in the Olde Ship which is a tiny packed bar with all sorts of crazy seafaring memorabilia on the walls and ceiling. Definitely worth a visit for the guest ales and strange decor.

Seahouses is a strange place - very touristy in the not-so-good sense of the word with arcades and shops that sell a lot of tat. As long as you're prepared for that then you'll enjoy it.

Staying at St Aidan's meant that we could easily get one of the early boat trips out around the Farne Islands which was a highlight of our trip. We saw loads of seals and lots of different birds. Very highly recommended.

I've given St Aidan's a "Very Good" rating but it should be "Good" as it was better than average but not quite very good due to the lack of privacy in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SBPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan992, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
"GREAT NEWS" no more louvre doors we listen and learn, new modern doors fitted, thanks for your kind comments on breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We booked for 2 nights but felt unwilling to stay the second night. Despite stunning views, the hotel was in need of investment. This showed in the poor standard of cleanliness and lack of attention to detail. The room didn't warrant the price we were charged.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan992, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2010
unfortunately, despite our best efforts at all times, "You cannot please all for the people all of the time".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed in the Taste of Africa room which had just recently been carpeted. The hotel was fantastic short walk from town (best curry ever) right in front of beach where you can hear waves. We went for a trip to Farne Islands which was brisk but well worth the effort (wear warm stuff) and then returned for a warm shower and cup of tea. The breakfast was out of this world with fresh fruit, endless tea & coffee and the cooked English was the best yet with newspapers to mull over whilst you were relaxing.

I left my prized ring in the room and we were contacted by Management as soon as we had left they kindly forwarded the ring onto me which i received - many thanks guys - we will both be back next time we are in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChestyGriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire, england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Everything about this bed and breakfast was superb. We stayed in the Flavour of Scotland room which had a super-king size bed (made up from 2 twins), a large sofa which could be converted into extra sleeping, flat-screen tv, large shower room and the best bit....... A wonderful view up the beach to Bamburgh Castle and out towards the Farne Islands.
Breakfast consisted of 9 or 10 different fruits, 9 different cereals, yogurts, fruit juices and a great Full English or smoked haddock or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. All served with as much toast, tea and coffee as you could want.
A honesty bar in the residents lounge was lovely to come back to after an evening out with very cheap prices.
Stayed for 3 nights and had some great days out, Holy Island, Berwick-on-Tweed, Farne Islands, Bamburgh Castle. The Chillingham Wild Cattle were really amazing and interesting only 122 in the world so rarer than the Giant Panda - highly recomended if you're interested in wild-life.
All in all a wondeful stay in a great part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamisutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed in the taste of Scotland room- nice big bed, good mattress, lots of space. The funny slatted door on the bathroom has been mentioned in these reviews before- didn't really bother us.
Nice breakfast with lots of fresh fruit option - raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, grapefruit, grapes, bananas, apples (I sometimes feel when I'm staying in B&Bs that I would kill for some fresh fruit but that is no problem here).
Great views up the coast to Bamburgh castle, Lindisfarne and the long beach.
Good collection of board games in the resident's lounge. Friendly and fast check-in and out, easy parking, and easy to find due to its ridiculously good location.

PS: we were a bit disappointed by the inside of Bamburgh castle, if you don't mind walking a bit and like wild romantic views then would go for Dunstanburgh instead.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rblossomg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
21.1 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Aidan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Aidan Hotel

Property: St Aidan Hotel
Address: Seafront | St Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed bed and breakfast, with spectacular views of the Farne Islands, Bamburgh Castle & Holy Island ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Aidan Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing