We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of St Aidan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Aidan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for three nights in August. It is in a fantastic location, and we had good views of the Farne Islands from our room. We received a warm welcome and appreciated the special touches in the room. Breakfast choices were superb. A good place for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowbreck61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
we are pleased you enjoy your stay with us and thank you for taking time to write a review, we are very lucky to be situated on this coastline and we love to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our part of northumberland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    84
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
271
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Found this place by chance and got the last room. Glad we did. Friendly welcome and great service. Rooms a little tired but clean and have quite a few nice touches. Breakfast great, best one I've had in a while. Would stay again, would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunsearcher101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed for the night on our way down the coast. Our room, Scotland, was very well furnished with excellent views of Bamburgh Castle and the Farne Islands.

The owners were helpful and served an excellent breakfast. Recommended.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
many thanks for taking the time to to review our hotel and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

we stayed for a couple of nights on our tour down the coast and have to say we enjoyed every minute.The hotel is in a superb location with stunning sea views,although it is only five minutes walk from the town centre it has a lovely relaxing ambience.We stayed in the Moroccan room which was spotlessly clean with fresh clean towels,excellent tea coffee and biscuits and the most amazing view out over the Farne Islands.Breakfast was top class with a seven item full English which kept us going well into the afternoon,Overall a most enjoyable experience ,cheers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in northumberland and managed to visit holy island as well as travel down our coast line thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you again if you return to our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here while walking St Oswalds Way and arrived absolutely soaked. The room was perfect and a lovely hot shower sorted us out. The breakfast was lovely and with the hotel being just out of the town and on the seafront, when the sun shone the next morning the view was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
thank you so much for taking the time to write your review john and i are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful coastline, we have here, look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed here for three nights in June 2012 prior to meeting friends elsewhere in Northumberland and was delighted by all aspects of the hotel. My room was lovely, with beautiful views over the Farne Islands (it was the longest day and I found myself unable to close the curtains on the late evening seascape). The stretch of coast opposite the hotel is beautiful and I spent a lot of time just sitting and watching the sea, walking along the coast path, pottering on the beach and one afternoon walked from this beach to Bamburgh. Very peaceful and relaxing.

The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts extremely hospitable, warm and helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcountrylondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for these kind comments, we always appreciate feedback and are very pleased your stay with us was a good one.

After 8 years of operating this hotel, the breathtaking views we have still make us feel exceptionally lucky on this coastline of outstanding natural beauty.

John and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Could'nt fault the views or the breakfast. Our 'Africa' room was tiny and the bedding wasn't crisp. Overall, not good value and we were niggled by the surcharge for presenting a credit card.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
21.1 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Aidan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Aidan Hotel

Property: St Aidan Hotel
Address: Seafront | St Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed bed and breakfast, with spectacular views of the Farne Islands, Bamburgh Castle & Holy Island ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Aidan Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing