We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Aidan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
335
84
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
335
84
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoked haddockfarne islandseggs benedictfresh fruitfabulous viewsfriday and saturdaytop floorsmall hotelexcellent hoteloverlooking the seab bfull englishtwo nightsholy islandmain buildingbath and showerfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights this last week with our little dog. We've never been to Northumberland before and fancied staying somewhere on the coast first before moving inland to Wark near Hexham. The owner made us very welcome and helped us on numerous occasions(like finding somewhere to eat that accepts dogs). Our room was clean and comfortable and looked straight across to the north sea - brilliant view. Breakfast was delicious. My husband loved his cooked breakfast and I particularly liked all the different fresh fruits put out in individual dishes. Usually fruit is all put together as fruit salad but it was really good to choose the fruits you most liked and they were so sweet and delicious. We really liked Seahouses itself - the area was full of beautiful walks. We were just disappointed that it was too windy for us to do a boat trip round the Farne islands. That means an excuse to go back and if we do it will be to St. Aidan!!

Room Tip: Each room has a theme like "A taste of Scotland". We chose "A taste of Africa" and were delighted with it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshirepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

thank you for your lovely comments and we are so pleased you and your lovely little dog, enjoyed your visit to northumberland ,we are very lucky to be situated in such a beautiful area, we look forward to seeing you again if you decide to explore more of northumberland

john and sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

What a treat I gave myself by staying at the St. Aidan. Friendly welcome, superb room, superb view from room, excellent breakfast. Altogether, very, very good. I repeated the treat a few days later, on my return journey, and enjoyed a mirror image of my first stay, most enjoyable and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunroBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for you lovely comments,

sue and john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

St Aidan Hotel was a wonderful 'find'. We hadn't booked in anywhere in advance so were very lucky to find an available room. Seahouses was too busy so we were on our way to Bamburgh in search of a quiet, comfortable Bed abd Breakfast situated overlooking one of Northumberland's fantastic beaches. St Aidan more than fitted the bill.
Sue and John are professionals and fully understand the needs of their guests. Very clean. Amazingly comfortable bed and decor - even a little gold bag of chocolates sitting on the fluffy bath towels!
Breakfast was one of the best we've had anywhere in the world. Joe had a good, non-greasy full English breakfast. I had a choice of at least 12 fresh fruits, cereals and yoghurts.
Monty, our dog, was made very welcome and we had bracing walks on the North beach across the road from our room
Dinner is not provided but we had an excellent meal at The Links in Seahouses.

Room Tip: The Eastern Themed room is on the ground floor and has its own entrance from the car park.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

it makes our day when people enjoy their stay with us, thank you for your lovely comments and monty was a treasure

sue and john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We happened to spend a night in this hotel while wondering in the area and we were impressed: the room (1st floor) had a huge window with an excellent view on Bamburgh Castle, the Farne Islands and even Holy Island.
Good quality complementary breakfast with fruits, cereals, toast and a cooked dish of your own choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylviaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

thank you for your lovely comments flavour of scotland has got wonderful views and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed visiting our part of the world

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for three nights in August. It is in a fantastic location, and we had good views of the Farne Islands from our room. We received a warm welcome and appreciated the special touches in the room. Breakfast choices were superb. A good place for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowbreck61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

we are pleased you enjoy your stay with us and thank you for taking time to write a review, we are very lucky to be situated on this coastline and we love to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our part of northumberland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews