We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable B & B in ideal location, great breakfasts”
Review of St Aidan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Aidan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very comfortable B & B in ideal location, great breakfasts”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this comfortable B & B, very well situated just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Seahouses, so very convenient but a lot quieter than being in the very centre with its large number of visitors. Sue and John Gibson are experienced hosts and run a relaxed and efficient B & B - clean comfortable rooms and really good breakfasts - 12 different fruits including fresh raspberries, blackberries and strawberries, as well as cereals and yoghurts, and 3 choices of cooked breakfast (we tried them all, all good). Lots of things to like - our bed was super-comfortable and we slept well every night; I took advantage of the fresh sealed Colombian ground coffee and cafetiere in our room each morning; there is a pleasant bar where you help yourself and put the money in an honesty bowl (ridiculously low prices - £2 for a G & T?). We had the Morocco room, small but very cosy, with a view over the sea and the Farnes, and also had a night in the India room as the Morocco room wasn't free when we booked, which was larger, with room for two comfy chairs and a coffee table, but not quite such a good shower, view along the bay and towards Bamburgh Castle. Fresh towels every day. Free Wi-Fi. Friendly atmosphere in the breakfast room with a nice lot of guests. The rooms have efficient heaters which warm the room up quickly, but the bathrooms have wall fan heaters which are less effective. Altogether we very much enjoyed our stay - Seahouses is an excellent base for exploring the Northumberland coast and this is very good, comfortable B & B in a prime position.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfinaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
thankyou so much for taking the time to write your review, it was lovely to meet you both and we are so please that you enjoyed your stay and everything we offer in the hotel, john and i love it when people get to see northumberland and everything it has to offer thanks again from both of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    83
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
261
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We booked the Morocco Room at the St Aidan after viewing the hotel online. A phone call to the ever helpful John resulted in a confirmation email almost immediately. I have read here a number of times how well organised the hotel is for a small establishment and I also found that to be the case. From checkin to check out, nothing was too much trouble.
The Morocco room is ensuite and has fantsastic views over the Farne Islands of Grace Darling fame. It was very comfortable and we slept well there for the 2 nights we stayed.
There is a LCD television available and free wi-fi, the code for which is given in the advice notes in the room.
Breakfasts were fantastic and very filling. We used the hotel as a base for touring around the many wonderful sights the far north east of England has to offer. John & Sue offer a packed lunch service of which we took advantage. To call it generous would be an understatement, it includes sandwich, crisps, chocolate bars and a flask of hot soup along with a cold drink amongst other goodies. Neither of us could finish all they had provided. It was all good quality and delightful refreshment after we had walked the many miles we did visiting Bamburgh Castle and the beautiful beaches there.
John was very helpful in advising on what to do and see and offered good advice on where to go in Seahouses for an evening meal, something they dont do (understandably) at the St Aidan. They even have a small bar in the hotel and it is based on a honesty box which I found remarkably refreshing in this age.
Unfortunately we didnt get to meet Sue as she was busy in the kitchen amongst her many other tasks I would imagine. However we did get to eat a lot of her lovely breakfasts and would like to thank her for the generous portions.
The hotel is a delight and the people running it even more so. On top of that the wonderful views from the hotel of the Farne Isles and the wild North Sea, and long beaches allowing long sunlit walks...what isnt to like? Book into the St Aidan and you will not be disappointed. Thanks John and Sue..we will be back one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Taffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
we can only thank you so much for your lovely comments, i m sorry i didn t get the chance to see you when you stayed , but we re thrilled you enjoyed yourselves, and will make sure I catch you when you return thanks again john and sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Gorgeous beach and sea view looking towards the Farne Islands out of one window and the magnificent Bamburgh Castle out of the other We could not have imagined a better location. A lovely room with en suite facilities and a breakfast to die for. What a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
thanks for your lovely comments, we still wake up in the morning in awe of the views we know we are very lucky and its wonderful to hear people sound so enthusiastic about the vistas and their stay with us thanks for taking the time to write your review sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed in the oriental room for 2 nights. Perfect with the dog as we had our own front door that lead out to the carpark and the beach is across the road.The location is ideal and the views are amazing. You can walk into town we ate in the links hotel both nights as dogs are allowed in the bar. Breakfast was lovely each morning with choices of fresh fruit along with choices for a cooked breakfast. I would definitely stay here again very welcoming hosts and just left to go as you please.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim gateshead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us flavour of the orient is definately ideal for people wanting to bring their pets and your doggy was lovely, thank you for taking the time to write your review sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Stopped for two nights in May. Does exactly what it says on the tin - Luxury Bed & Breakfast. Our rooms were well and tastefully furnished with terrific views. One complaint was that the toilet seat would not stand up. Is that some comment on Scotland as it was the ensuite in that room. Ladies only ? Breakfast was excellent for such a small establishment and John was an excellent host. Full marks all round- definitely worth the money and on our list of places to stop at again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MCASPETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
thank you for taking the time to write your response just so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ,we just love it when people enjoy our wonderful countryside ,oh and toilet seat comment noted, now adjusted so men friendly, as we always say cant rectify these things unless people let us know ,look forward to seeing you again, thanks again sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was our second visit, the last one being two years ago. If anything they have upped their very good game in the interim. They are also dog friendly, which is important to us. The position is great if you have a dog because it is a short walk down to the wonderful beach and then you can walk the two and a half miles to Bamburgh and back at low tide (the tide comes in a long way so check the tide tables).
The breakfasts were very good and there is a generous choice of fresh fruit.

Room Tip: There are two rooms off the car park which are handy if you have a dog and need to take him/her for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbothedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
thank you so much for your lovely comments, we love to see people come back and enjoy our wonderful beaches and views, and it certainly is a wonderful place to walk your dog, thank you again john and sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have just come back from my birthday treat which was a night in a hotel on Holy Island and a 2nd night in the St Aidan Hotel. My wife had booked both hotels as a surprise treat for me and we were not disappointed in either hotel. We had to leave Holy Island a bit earlier than we had planned but thats what happens when the tide times are against you. It meant that we arrived at St Aidans earlier than expected but that was not a problem as our room was ready so we could check in a little bit earlier than usual - excellent news for us. We were booked into the Indian room and after climbing up the stairs to the top level, we were not disappointed in our room. Beautiful views out over the green and in the distance Bamburgh Castle - wonderful! Unfortunately the weather was not too kind to us as it started raining while we were walking around Seahouses, fortunately we could go back to our room and make a cup of coffee and dry out. After a short while the rain stopped and we decided to go for a walk along the beautiful coastline that Northumberland has and walk to Bamburgh. Even though the weather was not at its best it stayed dry for us to walk to Bamburgh, have an ice cream at one of the shops, and walk back to Seahouses and our lovely warm hotel. I must add that we were not alone - far from it - on the beach, many people had wrapped up and decided to get some fresh air, and even though there was quite a few people out there was still plenty of room on the beach to walk at your own pace and not feel that your holding somebody up or getting in there way. It always amazes me whenever i,m at the coast, we have such beautiful beaches in Northumberland and no matter what the weather is you can just go out and enjoy the beautiful scenery and clear those cobwebs away!! Anyway back to the St Aidans, some lovely touches, from having an honesty box in the bar area and some sweets to have when your out and about, to the excellent choices of fruit at breakfast time, it almost seemed wrong to then order a full english after such lovely fruit. Top marks to the St Aidans, yes there are some little points you could nit pick about, but for the price you cannot go wrong. From a very friendly welcome to the lovely rooms and a good nights sleep and a breakfast that some 4 star hotels would envy, we could not fault the hotel. Please go and enjoy our beautiful beaches and stay in the St Aidans you will not be disappointed - we wern,t!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the top might be a bit of a climb for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindznMue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the weather was reasonably kind to you, as you say we are very lucky to have such beautiful countryside and beaches around us and we love it when people really enjoy themselves, thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely comments sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
21.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Aidan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Aidan Hotel

Property: St Aidan Hotel
Address: Seafront, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
St Aidan Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing