We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of St Aidan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Aidan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
North east Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hotel has great views, right on the seafront with view of the islands. We had booked a room which was classed as a luxury room. Massive queen size bed cover and dressed with tartan. Room was a little cold when we arrived and also first thing in the morning, no radiators, only small convection heater. Room was of a good size with a sofa and small dressing table. Shower was a bit weak and bathroom was also really cold, especially in the morning, no heater in the room, albeit the it stated there was. Hotel had a sitting room with good views and a honesty bar with low prices. breakfast was very good, great selection of cereal and fresh fruit. Cooked breakfast was really nice as was my partners scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Overall a pleasant stay just needed to be a bit warmer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamesbond007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
so glad you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast and facilities we provide, you actually booked a standard room but as we were quiet ( only one week till we close for the winter) john offered you an upgrade to the luxury, so pleased you liked the room it does have a great view which your photo shows. all the rooms have individual heaters which guests can adjust up to sauna status but they have to be switched to full heat not half heat which you may not have realised and explains the temperature of your room. its great to get feed back from our guests and really appreciate it many thanks sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    84
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
271
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here with my hubby for the weekend recently..... Stayed in Taste of Africa Room......stunning sea views across to Farne Islands. Room had everything you could need and very tastfully decorated! Breakfast was fantastic, loads of choice and plenty of tea and coffee on offer. Stayed in Seahouses a few times but first time at St Aidens......will definitely return hopefully for our wedding anniversary in March.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wend62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
thank you so much for taking the time to write your review great to hear you liked Africa it has that lovely large window to look out to the Farne islands and pleased you enjoyed the breakfast we offer and the weather was nt to bad for you either, thanks again and look forward to seeing you in the future john and sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I had a 2 night short break at St Aidan's this week with my uncle. We knew the area but it was our first stay at this hotel. Rob's 80th birthday was fast approaching and I wanted somewhere special for us to stay, absorbing the fabulous Northumberland coast, the Farne Islands and the castles.
Our wives were elsewhere so our boots went on and we took our exercise walking the coast and more importantly enjoying the comfortable rooms, excellent views, great breakfast and warm welcome from John and Sue. The hotel really is that good and we shall return again. Seahouses is now blessed with good standard restaurants for evening meals too. Northumberland might be relatively undiscovered but not by us.

Don Reeve

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don_reeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
hi guys its was so lovely to meet you both, john and I love your enthusiasm for the area, hope your uncle rob has a wonderful 80th birthday and we both look forward to seeing you again in the future, thanks for your lovely comments and taking time to write your review sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly, good view and a 5 star breakfast. Thank you so much for the excellent coffee.
Very good people. We will be back.
My husband had a excellent birthday celebrating with a good walk '.
The view from the bedroom made a difference.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jusane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
we are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us, and the breakfast we provide, we always feel a good breakfast sets you up for the day. many thanks for taking time to write your review sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were visiting Seahouses after 18years and the welcome at the St Aidans was first class We stayed in the Moroccan room which had great views out the islands and into Seahouses room was nice and clean and the welcome chocolates were a nice touch Fresh fluffy towels daily Then the breakfast 5 star hotels could learn from the excellent St Aidans a fresh fruit selection that had raspberries blueberries strawberries melon grapes cherries a real surprise but so fresh and then a cooked breakfast to order either the full English or smoked salmon eggs or and this was a fantastic smoked haddock with poached eggs why write so much on breakfast Because it was a real first class start to the day The hotel has a lovely room that overlooks the views with a well stocked honesty bar there is something about serving yourself from the bar DVDs television and daily papers John recommended places to eat and drink and he was not wrong a pint or two in the old ship and excellent meals at Elan pizzeria and the Links Hotel This Hotel deserves 5star a gem

Room Tip: The Moroccan room lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyblue87London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments john and I are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us and what we offer at st aidans , john said you enjoyed the haddock its such a lovely piece of fish, swallow fish is a great asset to seahouses, thanks again for taking time to write your review sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed this last weekend. Great to visit the sights of Northumbria Coast. Very close to the centre of Seahouses within easy walk of harbour and town centre. Breakfast was very good. We stayed in the Morrocan room with great view of the bay and beach.
Good value and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
john and I so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Moroccan room and what we offer for breakfast, it s lovely to hear you enjoyed our views of the northumbrian coast line we are very lucky to be situated where we are thanks again for taking time to write you review sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We love this area and usually stay in a rented cottage for a week. However we were only there for 3 nights so chose St Aidan using TA. We were certainly not disappointed! I can only repeat what earlier reviews have stated, lovely clean room with lots of thought put in as to what you might need during your stay and fantastic breakfasts including so many different fruits that breakfast back home seems very boring. Sausages each morning for the dogs who were made very welcome. We stayed in the Flavour of the Orient room which is ideal if you have dogs as it has direct access to outside.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ,as you say that room is ideal if you have dogs straight out onto the front to walk them in the morning, before breakfast thanks again for taking time to write your review john and sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,227 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
205 reviews
21.1 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Aidan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Aidan Hotel

Property: St Aidan Hotel
Address: Seafront | St Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed bed and breakfast, with spectacular views of the Farne Islands, Bamburgh Castle & Holy Island ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Aidan Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing