We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good samaritans”
Review of St Aidan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Aidan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good samaritans”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kindness on saturday when my husband was taken ill on the bench opposite your hotel. Your care and concern and practical assistance made a scary situation much easier than it might have been. My husband is much improved so once again many thanks.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
happy to help in any circumstances, but more importantly we are both very pleased to hear you husband is getting better thank you for letting us know and leaving your kind message sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    83
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
263
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were out for the day in Bamburgh and decided to stop the night nearby. A quick interweb search brought us to St Aidan hotel. We had a standard room which had everything we needed and there was no extra charge for our dog. The hotel is about a hundred yards out of Seahouses with a good footpath and a good walk directly across the road that takes you to the beach and on to Bamburgh. The owners are very friendly and have no problems with dogs, even letting them into the lounge which is cosy and has free coffee and biccies. There is a self service honesty bar for a dram whilst watching the sunset. The bedroom was big enough and even though it was the last standard available had a sea view and comfortable four poster bed. Loved the chocs on the bed on arrival and a well stocked tea stand with cafetieres and filter coffee, biccies, coffee, hot choc and tea. Toiletries were good and plentifully. The hotel, even though full, was quiet and we honestly thought we were two of only five
guests until breakfast. This was the best breakfast we've had in a hotel or b&b. The selection of fruit included strawbs, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, melon and more. A good pot of coffee arrived and was followed by a truly tasty full English breakfast. The owner was so polite and even brought dogger a breakfast sausage, which he woofed down in the room. I have been trying to think of something negative to write for balance, but can't. It was our first stay but certainly won't be our last.
A perfect spot for our spontaneous one night holiday, thank you.

Room Tip: The owner says the luxury rooms have spectacular sea views instead of our limited but lovely ones an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
what a lovely review thank you so much for all your lovely comments, and pleased that the lovely dogger enjoyed his sausage, as you say we are situated just far enough out of the village that we stay peaceful even when the village is really busy so very lucky, thanks again for taking the time to write your review sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
430 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We are staying two nights in the taste of Africa room. We cannot praise this hotel enough. Just wonderful to arrive to chocolates in your room. The bedding is gorgeous and bed very, very comfortable. Fantastic too to have lovely cookies AND lots of sachets of coffee. Too many hotels are too stingy in this regard. Breakfast is fantastic. I have never seen so many choices of fruit. We had cherries, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, blueberries.....et al. Great too to have binoculars in your bedroom to enjoy watching the birds on the Farne Islands. The honesty bar in lounge is great too as is the location 500M outside of Seahouses on the sea front. It is so quiet too. We highly recommend this hotel and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us , and pleased you had some decent weather for walking, thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and we hope you enjoy the rest of your walking holiday and look forward to seeing you again in the future sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed about a month ago and meant to write a review when we got back but time flies by but still wanted to put a review on as we had such a lovely stay. We stayed on the top floor in flavour of Morocco room. The views are lovely. Breakfast each day was fabulous. We chose this b & b based on other good reviews. We have a dog and wanted somewhere dog friendly which it really was ( Domino enjoyed his sausage each day after breakfast!). I would recommend St Aidan B & B to anyone whether they have a dog or not. We would also recommend the area as there is so much to see and do. Thank you John and Sue for having such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annnabelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay with us, and about seahouses itself we feel very lucky to live here, glad domino enjoyed his sausage too, as we say its his holiday as well , and thanks for recommending us sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

everything else was superb, exceeding expectations in all areas, particularly the breakfast. Have already recommended St Aidans to friends and will keep on as this is a little jewel, can't speak highly enough of it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 842Oggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for recommending us and just pleased everything was to your liking , lovely that you took time to write your review many thanks sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
173 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location right on the front with super views out to sea and only a stone throw from the town centre and the harbour. The breakfast was excellent, with the choice of fruits outstanding. A little disappointed with the 'Flavour of Morocco' room which was in the eaves. The room was clean with lots of little 'extras' not always found in B&B's, but it could probably do with redecorating

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Uppermilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and all that we provide here at st aidans sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in the "flavour of Orient" room which is ground floor level in an annexe off the main hotel. It was a very good hotel and would have been an "excellent" except for the smell of dog in our room and the shower was quite useless.

Breakfast was fanastic with more choice than any top hotel especially the lovely fresh fruits. John was very attentive and even gave us some good advice as to which pubs and restaurants were the best in seahouses.

Views over to Bamburgh castle and Farne Islands are great and it has a superb location. would definitely return although choose a different room to the Orient due to the 2 comments above.

Room Tip: Unless you have a dog yourself don't choose the Orient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in seahouses, as for the room and shower , its a shame you had nt mentioned it to us as at the time as we do need to know these things but look forward to you trying one of our other rooms and thanks again for taking time to write you review sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
21.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Aidan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Aidan Hotel

Property: St Aidan Hotel
Address: Seafront, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed bed and breakfast, with spectacular views of the Farne Islands, Bamburgh Castle & Holy Island ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Aidan Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing