We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage by the sea.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlborough House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spittal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marlborough House
Ranked #3 of 4 Spittal B&B and Inns
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cottage by the sea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in the self catering cottage attached to Marlborough House and couldn't fault it at all. Very well equipped,immaculate and with an amazing view. You can park outside the door and there's a nice promenade to walk along as well as the beach almost on the doorstep.The location's ideal and we used it as a base to visit Berwick,Ford, Bamburgh and Holy Island. Very friendly hosts and Peter was on hand to give advice,directions etc. Would highly recommend the cottage to a couple or a family looking for a holiday by the shore but not too far from local amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurapaterson786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We were actually booked into another B&B, but they had plumbing problems, so they had kindly "bumped" us to the Marlborough, much to our good fortune.
Peter and his wife were very welcoming, and the stone house was beautiful, despite the thunder just after our arrival.
The very spacious family room we were given for just two of us looked our over the main road (very quiet, leads to a headland) and to the rear - the sea and harbour and part or the Lowry trail.

The room was very clean and comfortable, and the attention to detail was fantastic. We especially liked the pile of towels, crisp and white, tied in a bow. We also had digital TV on a large plasma screen on the wall, a desk and so much room we could have had a party!
Breakfast was really good, and much to my dismay I left a mac behind. Peter not only called to advise, but also posted it back to me before I had sent him any money. A good time was had by all. This little gem is much nicer place to stay to visit Alnwick, Holy Island and Berwick than the bigger towns around, it is quiet yet near enough to eatiers not to be too remote.
Just beware of sat nav's thought. They take you via a manual level crossing that is down a dirt track, and this is not the real way in, ask for directions first as I am sure Peter would only be too glad tot help. As he told us -"Local knowledge is everything".

I am much travelled and found this a real place of luxury, would highly recommend, not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Marlborough House is a lovely double fronted house in Spittal with a well presented garden to the front and the sea to the back. The ensuite bedroom is huge and tastefully decorated and has tea & coffee making facilities & fresh milk. The host, Peter, is extremely welcoming and friendly and cooks a great breakfast! He even offered to drive us to a local restaurant in the evening as it was raining! Great location for the beach and easy access to Berwick.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordielass64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2007

This place is a great find, if you're looking for accommodation in Berwick-upon-Tweed.

The Marlborough is set by the sea and offers two types of accommodation: a huge two bedroom cottage which can be rented per week. It consists of a lovely lounge area with an unrestricted view of the sea, modern kitchen and bathroom, flat screen TVs; the other accommodation offered is a room with ensuite bathroom, inside a spotlessly clean Victorian house.

The room looks out over a beautiful garden on one side, and the sea to the other. The room is tastefully decorated, very airy, with a comfortable king size bed, huge flat screen TV, DVD player and tea and coffee making facilities.

You can park your car out the back and step out straight onto the beach.

The host, Peter, is very friendly and makes a great breakfast.

The only down side is that Marlborough House is situated in the Spittal area of Berwick, not in the centre of town, so it's a 30 minute stroll - very pleasant when the weather is good, but not as convenient if you're in a hurry.

I'd definitely come here again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Flew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spittal
0.2 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.3 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Longridge Manor
West Longridge Manor
#2 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roxburgh Guest House
Roxburgh Guest House
#1 of 4 in Spittal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Property: Marlborough House
Address: 133 Main Street, Spittal, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed > Spittal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Spittal
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Spittal, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing