We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Mounthooley Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mounthooley Bunkhouse
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here last weekend with a group of friends walking in the Cheviot hills. We loved this little hostel! The location is amazing, stunning views during the day and clear sky at night, in a beautiful College Valley. Lovely hostel, comfy beds with linen provided, nice kitchen and lounge area, wood burning stove.. Pauline and Ed are lovely hosts, very friendly and helpful, they made our stay that extra bit special. Oh, and Pauline's cooking! Lovely home cooked food, it was so nice to come back from the hill to somewhere which really felt like home away from home. Thank you very much for a wonderful weekend, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalergis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Mounthooley must be in one of the best locations for this type of accommodation--stunning views at every turn
Pauline tried to finish us of with dinner- huge meal of home cooked delights--I couldn't do it justice and just in case you managed dinner she served up a great cooked breakfast
We took her advice and took the walk up the Henhole to the top of Cheviot--it has to be one of the best hidden gems in the area--if it was in the Dales or the Lakes it would be famous for the fantastic series of waterfalls in a beautiful unspoilt valley--it is hard work though!
All-in all a fantastic place to stay for the lover of the outdoors---highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stopped over here for the last night of our Pennine Way. It's a short detour off the main Way, and probably not for purists, as it means missing The Schil. But is really is a great place to stay. It's a basic but comfortable hostel in an isolated spot at the head of the remote College Valley. Surrounded by the Cheviots, hosts Edward and Pauline are so friendly and hospitable it really is a privilege to stay here. After a 20 mile slog from Byrness, we were well revived by Pauline's delicious cooking, and the breakfast was just as good. Copious quantities, freshly cooked, and terrific value. Of all the places we stayed on the entire Pennine Way, I think this was my favourite, even better than the Tan Hill Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here last month and we had a great time in this away from it all little hostel. Everything we could need was provided in the hostel, comfy beds and a nice kitchen. The location is terrific and the night sky amazing with no light pollution. A great centre from which to explore Cheviot

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We cycled to Mounthooley from Gateshead. Arrived pleasantly tired and ready to rest and refuel.
We were welcomed by Pauline and settled into our accomodation in the annexe. The facilities were fine far better than most hostels. We had a magnificent three course meal, all home cooked and tons of it too. Also enjoyed a home cooked breakfast the following morning.
Without doubt way above any other place we have stayed. Food fantastic !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sladdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We booked Mounthooley for sole occupancy as a birthday weekend for my Brother, and it truly is a special place.
The accommodation is very good and the place is very well equipped. The wardens are very friendly and helpful, Pauline cooked fifteen of us a three course meal on the Saturday night and it was fantastic home cooked food and lots of it.
The setting of the hostel is in an area that is breathtaking right in the heart of the northern Cheviots with good access to the Shill and The Cheviot.
I only had two days, I could have stayed forever.
It's one of them places that only has one massive downside, the fact you have to leave and return to normality.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marknewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Enjoyed a night in Mounthooley earlier this month. Arrived there on foot, and found the owners very welcoming. The place is furnished with more flair than most hostels, and is obviously well maintained. Rooms are bright, colourful and airy. We hadn't pre-booked breakfast, but the owners were happy to provide one, which was one of the best breakfasts we've had in any B&B/hotel, and for only £3.50 each!

Can't think of anything that would improve this hostel, location is amazing - remote, wild and scenic.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M-Lark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wooler hotels
0 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
0 mi away
Riverside Leisure Park
0 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
255 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
0 mi away
East Horton Farmhouse
East Horton Farmhouse
#4 of 9 in Wooler
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mounthooley Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounthooley Bunkhouse

Address: Mount Hooley Bungalow College Valley Estates | Kirknewton, Wooler NE71 6TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wooler
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mounthooley Bunkhouse Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing