We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, peace and quiet, a retreat from the hurly-burly of daily life-gorgeous!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fenton Hill Farm Cottages
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We wanted to explore Northumberland a little more, having been coming to stay with friends in Newcastle for decades. We certainly found a wonderful location in Fenton Hill cottages-the peace and tranquility they offer was delightful. We stayed in 2 bedroom Bramble and our friends came to stay with us for a change! The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable with beds already made-up for our arrival (a blessing as we were quite late arriving after a long drive) and towels and toiletries were provided-also a nice touch. The kitchen was very well appointed with a walk-in pantry that had extra storage and equipment as well. Another lovely touch is the birdfeeders outside the living room windows, we were regularly visited by woodpeckers and many other birds. Fenton Hill is an excellent location to travel to many of Northumberland's beautiful places inland and on the coast. Hugh and Margaret are lovely, genial hosts, and youngsters are bound to love the pet pigs, goats and Bumble the donkey who share the farm too. I would definitely recommend the cottages to anyone wanting fresh air along with beautiful views and peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettybooHomecounties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Fenton Hill Farm Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming, from home to home! All cottages are well equipped and comfortable. Margaret and hugh go above and beyond to accomadate all of your needs. Location perfect-fantastic views and lots of walks can be done from the doorstep. 25min drive from best beaches in england and 10min drive into nearest town. Cannot recommend enough. Excellent for all age ranges!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a very clean spacious cottage (elderberry) ideal for families looking for a place to relax and unwind. Feeding the donkey and pigs was a great way to pass the time and we loved seeing the pigmie goats - they are just so cute- we all miss them already! A good base to explore beautiful northumberland - I would recommend visiting Bamburgh castle beach and holy island.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knightlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just returned from another wonderful time at Fenton Hill. This is such a special place - we have been coming here for years and can't wait to come again. All the cottages are wonderfully warm, comfortable and well equipped, and the welcome from Hugh and Margaret feels like we've truly come home. This time we stayed in Honeysuckle Cottage with friends - a lovely spacious house with a huge living room complete with log burning stove and incredible views. We arrived in the dark, and to wake in the morning to panoramic views from the bedroom windows of Cheviot in one direction and Goat Crag in the other is awesome. We have been here in almost every type of weather and it is always lovely. There are stunning views from all the cottages, and abundant wildlife - this morning we watched a fox saunter across the field whilst we were washing up! These must be some of the best cottages in Northumberland.

Room Tip: All the cottages are fantastic - go for Honeysuckle or Elderberry for the most space, and Crabapple...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We had a fantastic 4 night break during half term week (oct/nov 2012) in Elderberry Cottage. The cottage is lovely and very well equipped. The bedrooms are really clean and great for larger families. One double room and one family room with a double and two singles.

The children LOVED feeding Bumble- the donkey and Mabel and Petunia - the pigs!! We loved watching the birds on the feeder outside the window, particularly the woodpeckers.

The walk to the secret waterfall was brilliant for us. We were able to have a nice walk without taking the car out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubyroo090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Elderberry for a week and I have to say this was perfect for anyone wanting a relaxing stay. Although we were out and about everyday it was lovely to come back to the warmth and comfort of a lovely farm cottage, everything you wanted and more besides.
We loved feeding the birds each day and the greedy woodpeckers thought the fatballs and seeds were great. I really cannot fault anything about this holiday and we are already trying to decide on dates to come back and visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Once you visit I guarantee you will be back. My first stay was at the age of six and have been just about every year. This year I am booked to celebrate my 46th birthday at Fenton Hill. The setting is tranquility itself, tucked away in the heart of the Cheviots but loads of activities if thats what you are looking for. Holy Island, Alnwick Gardens and Castle and of course the fantastic beaches make perfect days out. Theres loads of realy good places to eat in the surrounding villages - the red lion at Milfield does a great carvery. The accommodation is perfect for couples, families or large parties. The log fires make it an all year round perfect break. Margaret and Hugh couldn't be more accommodating and the extras like the pet donkey, pigs and trampoline mean my six year old and her cousins forget about the telly and make memories I know they will have for ever.

Room Tip: Elderberry and Honeysuckle cottages have french doors straight out to stunning views of the Cheviots...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wooler hotels
5.0 mi away
Riverside Leisure Park
4.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
4.7 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
East Horton Farmhouse
East Horton Farmhouse
#4 of 9 in Wooler
37 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
243 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bridgend Farm
Bridgend Farm
#4 of 18 in Wooler
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenton Hill Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenton Hill Farm Cottages

Address: Fenton Hill Farm | Crab-Apple Cottage, Wooler NE71 6JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wooler
Price Range: £30 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenton Hill Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crab-Apple Cottage is a lovely 4* self-catering property with wonderful views on a working farm near Wooler in North Northumberland on the edge of the National Park and a 30 minute drive from the coast. The cottage provides excellent accommodation and a quiet escape. Fenton Hill is a place of peace, tranquility and beauty at its best and yet the location is very central with so much to do nearby. The Cottage sleeps 5 in 3 bedrooms, an enclosed garden and is dog friendly. A great place for couples, family holidays, retreats, bird watching, walking, cycling or just to get away and enjoy the peace in a beautiful place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fenton Hill Farm Cottages Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing