We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful pitch; dreadful customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Leisure Park
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Awful pitch; dreadful customer service”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked 3 large pitches for a weekend in July and were incredibly disappointed at how close together the pitches are. Your guide ropes touch the next tent in all directions bar the road side. The security at the site is a joke - they allow people to be very loud well into the early hours and with tents being so close together the noise really does travel.

I complained about all this on the day we left and was told to put it in writing. Despite two emails and 10 days passing I have heard nothing.

By far the worst camp site we have ever stayed on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VincentWindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    68
    35
    8
    23
See reviews for
121
52
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is actually the restaurant, bar and swimming pool attached to a caravan site and leisure park. But the restaurant / bar is open to the public and is by the main road and adjacent to a garden centre. Large car park with easy access. I have often called in for a pint or dinner on the way back from fell walking on the nearby Cheviot.

Spacious lounge, reasonably priced meals (Sunday lunch cost £6 per head) and cold beer. Service was prompt and efficient. Not brilliant but convenient and good value for money. Called in today for Sunday lunch and it was fine.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BobScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Friendly staff on arrival, our DeLuxe caravan was on Bamburgh Court (quiet & peaceful). We have no complaints about the caravan - interior size and fittings as expected and very clean. Only visited the Bar/Club once (on first night, to eat). Not really "us", but food was very acceptable standard. Shop adequately stocked and managed to get my preferred newspaper in each day (not normally stocked). Did not try pool. Only other interraction with staff was when returning late from a day out to find no electricity, one phone call and the permanently cheerful maintenance man was there in two minutes to fix it. We used the caravan as a base to explore Northumberland/Durham and have no complaints/issues with Riverside at all.

Room Tip: Bamburgh Court area was quiet & peaceful & 5 minute walk to shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely site however the swimming pool lets it down massively. You have to book at reception for a 45 minutes session. No advance bookings allowed so get there early as they fill up quickly. Don't lose the little ticket or you will be refused entry to the pool. The sessions start on the hour. Don't attempt to even enter the changing room before the start of your session, you'll be refused entry. Getting myself and two children changed used up 10 mins of our 45 mins session so time to enjoy the remaining 35 mins. The pool is tiny considering the size of the site. There a lot of warning/don't/no signs up but there is a hot tub. If you're lucky enough to be there when it's actually working you're only allowed in for 15 mins then it shuts down for 15 mins! The lifeguards are VERY passionate about enforcing the many rules in place so be sure to stick to them. We only stay on sites that have swimming pools but, honestly, this site might as well not have one with all of the restrictions it has!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikki9984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a three bedroom caravan so we could have a family holiday. The caravan whilst new was not the deluxe van advertised. Our main bedroom was so small we had to sidle up the edge of the bed. The toilet was tiny for the adults but the shower room was a little better sized. There was a table with four chairs which when we asked for another two chairs the receptionist asked why. We also pointed out a lot of shortcomings within the van such as no hand towels or bathmat to stand on when coming out of the shower. Only one teatowel for a week only to be told we should have brought these with us. I thought towels and linen supplied would cover this. We are still waiting for the chairs and towels even though we were told they would be delivered with an inventory on Sunday, it's now Tuesday! The club house and pool are on the opposite side of the main A697 we were almost a mile away from it so nights out will have to have a designated driver. The pool is small but the changing areas were clean and with children getting up early it wasnt difficult to go to the shop to book pool times.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank seanmhair11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting , stunning scenery and close to coast. Campsite very busy, tents crammed in and quote loud at night. Showers clean and water hot.
Not ideal for a quiet camping trip as adults. Great for kids.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had booked 3 nights stay at this campsite but left to find an alternative after just one night. Although the campsite looked tidy the bathrooms had a terrible smell and the showers were so hot that I had to leave the shampoo in my hair. After this disappointment I took my 3 kids to the pool, which is a 15 min walk away. Once we arrived we were confronted with the most unfriendly looking lifeguard who scared my kids and made us feel so uncomfortable.
In addition to this the campsite is directly next to a busy road which is loud and you have to cross this to get to the swimming pool.
All in all a very disappointing stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
0.8 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
21.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.5 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Border Forest Holiday Park
Border Forest Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hemmel Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Bridgend Farm
Bridgend Farm
#4 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Leisure Park

Property: Riverside Leisure Park
Address: South Road, Wooler NE71 6NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the stunning Northumberland countryside, on the edge of the Wooler Water, Riverside Leisure Park offers something very special indeed. Riverside combines a wonderful woodland setting with an abundance of wildlife and superb facilities to create a truly unique holiday location. With close proximity to some of the region's most popular sights, walking routes and historic attractions and Northumberland's amazing white sandy beaches just a short drive away, when it comes to location, it simply doesn't get any better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Riverside Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Leisure Park Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing