We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice helpfull staff, nice beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #15 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice helpfull staff, nice beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for a night in April 2014. Room was nice and clean, staff very friendly. We spent some time in the bar in the evening, couple of very nice pints of bitter. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. All in all a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

4 of us stayed here on the 12th april, for the price the place is superb. The staff were lovely. The rooms were comfortable and spacious with more entertainment options than top hotels (large screen tv and ipod dock) We didn't have time for dinner that night but breakfast in the morning was lovely. It was very busy when we arrived so speak too much to the landlord but he seemed very nice, the girl on the bar when we got back on the night time was lovely and friendly, we had a good laugh with her and she didn't rush us to finish drinks to close. Considering how busy it was when we arrived in the bar with music on too I was surprised you couldn't really hear anything from the rooms. Would definately return if me and the hubs need a cheap night away, didn't get to see much of the Village as we just came up late for the chillingham castle ghost tour but it looks lovely and the anchor was really well priced compared to some places I had looked at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleGem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Me and the wife stayed her in April 2014 for a night. Rooms are nice, bed conformable and nice power shower. The place itself is nice and cosy with top class staff. Paul the manager is a top lad. Thanks for the flaming absynth too. The wife was ill all day on Saturday ha ha. Definitely stay again very welcoming place. Thanks to all the staff hope to see ya all again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great communication from the Manager Paul as this was a very last minute booking. A late arrival and early breakfast were all accommodated with out any issues. Newly decorated room & powerful shower in a spacious well equipped room made my brief stay very enjoyable, and that was by no way influenced by the welcome glass of wine on offer! Breakfast was served by a friendly Chef, Will who was in for a long shift due to an earlier than normal breakfast. Nothing was a bother to either - just what customer service should be! Would stay again and recommend to all.

Room Tip: Double room had plenty of space and a big bathroom with a shower unit. Comfortable bed and fresh be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooler, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

stayed here for one night with my husband and little daughter, nice enjoyable stay, even though it,s above a pub the room was quiet, bed was very comfy, a cot is available on request, nice big telly in the room, lovely big bathroom separate to the bedroom, decor is good and room was nice and warm, breakfast was good, couple of small suggestions possibly some child safety sockets and the kettle is under the telly and i was a little worried the steam might cause a problem, would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wooler hotels
0.4 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#5 of 18 in Wooler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
0.2 mi away
Bridgend Farm
Bridgend Farm
#4 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockliffe House
Rockliffe House
#14 of 18 in Wooler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Property: The Anchor Inn
Address: 2 Cheviot Street, Wooler NE71 6LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Also Known As:
The Anchor Inn Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing