We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is about 400 years old and was a coaching Inn so it has lots of character.We had one of the family rooms even though there was only 2 of us and it was very comfortable and well furnished. All of the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The menu isn't extensive but the food is well cooked and well presented by Ashley, the chef .I can certainly recommend the Lindisfarne salad. I think they said that the majority of the staff have been there a good number of years and it shows as they all seem to take a pride in the hotel. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere and we would definitely stay here again when we are up in Northumberland. It is well located for Alnwick Castle and gardens, Bamburgh castle, Chillingham castle and Holy Island. So plenty to see and do all around.

Room Tip: We were told that rooms 1-9 are the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    105
    47
    36
    14
See reviews for
49
165
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Clean, comfortable, spacious room; unfailingly helpful and genuinely friendly staff; bar selling choice of well-kept local real beers; restaurant serving locally sourced produce cooked to perfection in copious portions. Am I dreaming?
One of the very best (and unanticipated) hotel experiences ever in UK. Oh, and I nearly forgot the Craster kippers for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Called in at the Tankerville Arms for a meal this summer, and found it good value. I had roast pork with three veg, from the specials board: excellent quality meat, tender and flavoursome, and a supremely generous portion - nearly a whole joint, or so it seemed. The potatoes and other veg were simply done and presented unadorned, save for some gravy: nothing fancy, but overall very good value. Some interesting real ales from a local brewery were making a guest appearance at the bar, and the barman was pleasant and attentive; the disarming way he calmly soaked up a lengthy and disjointed monologue from a bar-room bore while working was most impressive. Though I didn't actually stay as a resident here, I can recommend the food on the basis of this meal; however, this restaurant will not cater adequately, I suspect, for those foodies who enjoy anything fancy, continental-style, or dressed up in mysterious and exotic sauces.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrHickory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We called in here at 12 on a Sunday. Outside the board said "open al day for tea, coffee, and cakes" - unless it would seem when they're serving Sunday lunch. We were initially refused coffee but then the rather curt barman relented. The coffee and cakes were very good, if a bit pricey, but the whole visit was marred by the attitude towards us, as if wanting just a coffee at this time on Sunday was unusual. As a frequent traveller on this road, I shan't be breaking my journey here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missshep63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Tankerville Arms is perfectly placed to explore the Cheviot Hills to the west and the Northumberland coast to the east, and a more comfortable base you could not wish for!
We were made to feel most welcome at the Tankerville Arms from the moment we arrived until the time we had to leave. All the staff were extremely friendly and always prepared to go that extra mile to ensure our stay was as relaxed and enjoyable as possible.
The menu and quality of cuisine in the restaurant was exceptional and the service first rate.
The traditionally decorated en-suite rooms also were extremely clean and comfortable.
Overall, an excellent hotel in a beautiful area and definitely worth a return trip!

Room Tip: If it's a spacious family room you are after, look no further than Room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandJudy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

lovely base to explore nortumberland. the staff were very friendly and the breakfast very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brennie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Good food great staff lovely surroundings.A great base for exploring northumberland. Rooms comfortable if not a little out dated but the staff more than make up for this. Highly recomend and will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola_mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
21.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
12.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
23.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
15.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Property: Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing