We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Riverside Leisure Park(Wooler)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
132
115
54
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
115
54
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoaching inncodbar areasteak piegarden houseroom ratebath and showerstaff could not have been morewarm welcomeroaring fireold buildingwell worth a visitfirst classholy islandweekend breakcheviot hillsbiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went to the Tankerville arms on a wet Sunday evening in anticipation of eating dinner. We found seats in a very pleasant bar area - lots of localised lighting, twinkly lights and candles. We got aperitifs and menus but were completely put off eating by the all pervasive synthetic spice aroma from the candles. The dining room was full so it seemed as if we would be eating in the bar which would not in principle be an issue were it not for the terrible, sickly smell. Had we not got drinks, we would have left straight away but we persevered long enough to down a glass of red before voting with our feet!!! The (very) bracing walk back to our hotel was very welcome to clear our heads of the ghastly chemical spice from the Tankerville's candles. we will not return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemissb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

So nice to stay somewhere so friendly with fab staff. Nothing was too much trouble
Excellent unique sausages!! Both with mash at dinner and at breakfast....
Lovely being able to help self to fresh coffee.
I would definitely return. So central too for lindisfarne sea houses st cuthberts way!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Went here for a meal with our friends, all 4 of us had different dishes and all of us were equally impressed with our choice. I had the lamb shank and the meat fell off the bone, it was delicious. The service was excellent and very friendly. It's been many years since I had been to the Tankerville arms, and it was a warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

So pleased you enjoyed it, come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I staeyed at the hotel as part of a friends family wedding party at Cuddystone Hall.
On the way home after checking out, I found out that that we should have been charged the rate quoted to the Bride's family for their friends staying and we were charged the full rate.
After a number of e-mails to the hotel, all without the courtesy of a reply, I thought that I would make other potential travellers aware of their overcharging. I was not surprised to find reading the other reviews that this was not the first time that they have overcharged a customer.

I would be very interested in the General Managers reply as they have not had the courtesy to reply to my communications!

A hotel of faded glory with helpful but overworked staff.

Be aware that on Sundays the last call for breakfast is 9am so no sleeping in!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Good Afternoon, no record of an email being received from anyone being overcharged. I struggle to understand why this would be your chosen way of contacting us over using the telephone. Please ring 01668 281581 and I will be more than happy to try and resolve your problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Haven't been here for a meal after a disappointing meal 2/3 years ago. Visited twice recently and all meals were good value. The Eyemouth haddock was excellent and very big. So glad we didn't bother with a starter!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank COZIETOES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

So glad you enjoyed it. We have just had to buy bigger plates for the fish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews