We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Leisure Park(Wooler)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
132
115
54
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
115
54
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoaching inncodbar areasteak piegarden houseroom ratebath and showerstaff could not have been morewarm welcomeroaring fireold buildingwell worth a visitfirst classholy islandweekend breakcheviot hillsbiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed in wooler camping and pub B and B better service then at this hotel staff rude don't like you speaking your mind while complaining . Young couple on first groupon didn't have all information staff rude unhelpful with there situation . Bed hard pillow like golf balls food close to the worsted iv had at prices I've payed less . Breakfast not included which we were not aware of till later consists of 1 sausage 1 bacon 1 egg 1 uncooked tomatoe 1 black pudding 1 mushroom never saw any fruit only marmalade on offer . Wanted to stay here over years glad I had a bad experience on a groupon and saved 125£ on this . Try black bull for food or chippy

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molyknockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This as really gone downhill. The service was terrible. It took over half an hour to check in, handed the key with no info, very rude. The meals are very poor. Frozen chips, no side salad or veg. Very basic, very overpriced. The shower didn't work. Room was cold a drafty. Only one sachet of coffee for two. No toilet roll. It said includes breakfast but when we went down there was no coffee. No fruit. No toast. Only to see there was an added charge of £6.95 for a cooked breakfast. This was very small, basic and poor. No one came to serve us. We also had trouble checking out. Yet again, no service! We would never stay here again, Everybody was very disappointed. You could see the over guests was disappointed too. Poor quality, very overpriced. Also a complete con with the breakfast!

Room Tip: Don't go!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vickya502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I never like to argue...however. There will certainly have been toast, coffee and fruit for breakfast, and I find it disappointing that you would suggest otherwise, there will also have been cereal & croissants (if you weren't on the terms that include a full breakfast)
A full breakfast is charged for if not already included in your booking, (they are £6.50, not £6.95), if no-one came to serve you how did you get a cooked breakfast to comment that it was 'small basic and poor'?
Over half an hour to check in? Half an hour is a very long time, having worked here for 15 years, I know it is impossible for anyone to be half an hour to be checked in.
All showers have been checked, today, and are working.
All meals on the menu specify what is served with them, if you would have liked a side salad, or some additional vegetables they would have come if ordered.
If you needed extra coffee and toilet rolls, we would have provided on request.
All rooms have central heating, plus an additional electric heater for extra heat.
Criticism is more often a help to us than upsetting, however, I find this review to be a work of fiction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here using the groupon offer. It was our first holiday with our five month old boy. The tankerville arms is a lovely hotel in beautiful grounds in rural wooler. The staff are exceptional and can't to enough for you. Our family room was perfect with plenty of room and partitioned area for our baby to sleep in their provided cot. The decor is traditional but this place it spotless and really cosy. We booked a table for dinner and the choice was great. Really tasty and extremely well presented. It was such a great place to stay we've booked to go back already. This is a lovely place to stay and child and dog friendly.
Perfect break away for families and couples.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank tonteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the tankerville the weekend before Christmas. We took our golden lab with us and I have to say we will be booking in again! The staff were really helpful and couldn't have been more helpful with my gluten free diet, In fact the food was excellent. Staying in wooler is a walkers dream and coming back to the hotel after a cold walk to sit in front of a roaring fire was great.....So great in fact we checked out, did a wild and windy walk, then headed back for back for a cuppa and free mince pie before heading home.
The only thing I would change would be the pillows on the bed. They are a bit old and flat, nice feather ones would be great. The room was warm and clean.
Our dog is only 7 mths old so we didn't want to leave him in the room himself for breakfast as he is still chewing things. The staff laid the table out in the bar so the dog could join us, great service! There is even free dog treats in the bar which I think is a lovely touch.
Near perfect stay all round :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trudi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked in advance and were lucky to get a table. the place was packed out, from experience. The hotel looked beautiful for the festive season. We were taken to our table and from the very start, the food came and each course was superb. they have one of the best chefs who knows how to really cook. From the soup to the cheese and beetroot starter to the turkey with all the works to the yummy dessert, to the coffee with melt in your mouth petifores, to the staff singing to the customers and finally a visit from Santa with a gift for each person, it was a day to remember. We felt like we were invited into a large family and made to feel so welcome. everyone worked so hard and were so pleasant. the hats were top quality and the Xmas crackers had great prizes inside. We are booked to go on New Year's Day and we look forward to that. But now that we know about this gem, we shall be coming here every year for Christmas as well as during the year. We have finally found a superb dining experience with all the added touches to make it an experience to remember. Thank you all to the staff of the Tankerville Arms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanThorkildsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews