We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nicely surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nicely surprised”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a Groupon one night. Hotel was lovely. Food good, staff great, nothing was a bother. Personally recommend the merlot. Very good location if you like sightseeing, talked to some walkers which were thrilled with the location. The town is small but very nice, very highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    105
    48
    36
    14
See reviews for
50
167
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned from a two day "Groupon" break at the Tankerville which we thoroughly enjoyed. We already understood this was an old coaching inn but we were pleasantly surprised with our room (1) which had everything that we required. The room/bathroom was clean and the bed very comfy. The staff were all very pleasant and the food was very good (would recommend the home made lasagne). Our pet dog was most welcomed and the staff served us breakfast in the bar so he could join us. We had a cooked breakfast on both days with no mention of any extra charge. I don't understand or recognise previous negative comments. Perhaps they have been taken on board? We would certainly return.
NB We would also recommend a day trip to Cragside, Rothbury (some 20 miles away) for those looking for something to fill their day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertd19m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed there for one night on a groupon offer. Lovely clean room ,friendly service. food excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel. Within easy walking distance to the village. plenty of local walks available.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 31.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night. Easy check in, clean and comfortable room. Was told our meal may be a while as we changed times and they had a party of 65 in, we didn't wait long at all. Beautiful food and staff very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was also beautiful. Lovely little village also. Thank you for our pleasant stay will defiantly return. Mr & mrs Surrey room 12 x

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for one night on a Groupon offer and enjoyed a relaxing break. Being an old building its a very traditional style. There were plenty staff around and we got a very warm welcome. We ate dinner in the hotel and were pleased with the quality of the food and good portion sizes. The cooked breakfast was excellent and there was plenty toast, cereals etc. Our room was small and decor a little dated but the bedroom was clean and the bed comfy. The shower room was incredibly small and you had to do a manoeuvre around the large sink to access the toilet and shower but I'm sure someone less able would be allocated a more accessible room. Overall very satisfied and I'm pleased that the confusion over Groupon was sorted out by the time we arrived.

Room Tip: If you want a bath request on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayloversncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned today from a 2night stay that we have really enjoyed the hotel is great staff very friendly food great our room was great comfy bed very clean what more can you want breakfast first class included . Some off the people who write some off these so called reviews must come from another planet what do they expect this is a very old coaching inn not a new build in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Booked the Tankeville for a 2 night stop on a Groupon. Room at rear clean and bed comfy. Plenty hot water for bath and/or shower. Staff helpful on the phone prior to arrival and on reception , courteous and professional. Loan of guide maps (which were returned ) and assistance with tide times for our day trip to Holy Island. Slept really well and had good English breakfasts. The staff went that extra step to locate a missing item- left behind and helpful in returning to me, so a big thank you to Debbie and Terri for that. Tankerville has been in Wooler for decades and has history , the sort worth reading about. It was a budget deal and did not disappoint. Some areas can be updated. The staff do a good job and share a joke too. We would like to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms (next to the side entrance - bright will get the morning sun. Those at rear will be quiet, Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
21.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
12.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
23.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
15.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Property: Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing