We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Looked very nice but after booking one night, all pre February 2014 reviews made sense.
Hotel needs full referb. Yellow paint, wall paper pealing off walls.
Wall paper continued off wall onto bathroom shelf ???
Evening meal, Rib eye 60% gristle.
Ordered a morning paper, found it in reception, well thumbed by anyone walking through, not delivered to room ?
Breakfast, told to get my own coffee from the machine, bacon cooked long before breakfast -dry.
Well over priced. Was worth £70 per night minus discount for steak, bacon and self service attitude.
POSITIVE SIDE - grounds well maintained.
Very disappointing, no one managing the place or bothered.
Sorry but that,s the truth and lessons havn,t been learnt from pre February reviews. Would love to have given a positive review but well below acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Been meaning to writ this for a while, as we had a great stay at Tankerville Arms at the end of March, despite a bad first night’s sleep. We booked a 2 night Groupon deal and the hotel was great with a real nice bar area and nice friendly staff. The room was not massive but just the ideal size for the 2 of us and nice and clean – the same with the bathroom, which ‘did’ have a bath, which was a bonus. We had a drink in the bar, which was real homely and a meal in the restaurant, which was real tasty and just the right size for my wife. If like me, you have a large appetite, you need to add extras (I had chips) and I was still a bit hungry at the end. Despite this, if was a nice meal and we retired for the night in a real good mood, unfortunately the bed was the most noisy bed we had ever slept on and made constant creaking noises every time we moved causing us to only have 3 hours sleep all night. I mentioned this to the receptionist in the morning and was immediately told we would be moved to another room, which was fantastic, bigger room and bathroom and a comfortable, quiet night’s sleep – Thank you for that. Funny enough the cooked breakfast was a lot better on the Monday morning than the Sunday, unsure if it was the same chef or not? Overall a very pleasant say and well defiantly be coming back and stopping again and only the bad nights first sleep stopped my giving 5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_Keep_it_METAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, Front Office Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you, looking forward to welcoming you back to The Tankerville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Six of us stayed here after a long walk from Kirk Yetholm, having found a good rate with Toprooms. For what we paid we were pleased with the size and comfort of the rooms. The food was only ok though; some of the meat dishes needed sauce or some moisture; there was no fresh fruit at brekkie, and the yoghurts were cheap and sugary. My main whinge would be about the grudging service, especially the bar shutters going up around 11pm, even for residents. After a 13 mile walk we were happy enough to turn in, but I might have felt a bit disgruntled if I had fancied another drink and/or if we had paid full price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, Front Office Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, all noted. I do remember you were asked if you would like anymore drinks, to which you replied 'no'. Had you replied 'yes' the bar would have remained unlocked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went here again (our 3rd time) and the place is just as good a great down to earth place where you get a warm welcome,.a very quiet lunch time and a very relaxing meal,my wife and mum in law had the soup and sandwich the cauliflower soup was thick and tasty as was the prawn sandwich nice thick brown bread with lots of filling each plate had a salad mix and a few crisp,s.I had the deep fried Brie 2 nice sized wedges of cheese done in a crispy batter with a good portion of salad, the salad was a really nice mix with lots of things in it not like the quick 3 item types you get in some places.we had 1 sweet Choc fudge cake this was served with cream and ice cream,very nice, the bill was around £21,very good value I think.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank poppythedog34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, Front Office Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We took advantage of a Groupon offer for Bed and Breakfast which was really good value as we were also able to take our dog. Its a little crooked and tired in places but it is old and traditional so don't expect 5*. Really big bedrooms with great views. Good old fashioned home cooking. Fab Sunday lunch and breakfast using locally sourced meat. Great location for dog walking. There is a big beer garden although it was a bit cold to sit out when we were there. Great service. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidhoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, Front Office Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here last week for one night on a Groupon deal and definitely got value for money. The staff were pleasant, our room was quite spacious and the bathroom was huge, the beds were comfy. When we saw the menu we weren't expecting much to be honest but actually the food was very good, very tasty, and our cooked breakfast was very good too and in a lovely light room. There was only one real ale on hand-pump which disappointed almost everyone who entered the bar whilst we were there but at least there is one and it was nice enough - would be nice to see a local real ale though.
Although we were in a room at the front of the hotel the road noise didn't disturb us and we are very light sleepers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, Front Office Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it. Usually 2 real ales on, sorry there wasn't during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed two nights. Location is fantastic for walkers and anybody wanting to explore Northumbria and the Borders. Easy access from the A1 north, on St Cuthberts way with breathtaking walks and views towards Cheviot (still topped in snow) and a bit quieter than some of the coastal towns that can get very busy. Traditional market town with several pubs and shops.

Hotel is an attractive older building with a traditional decor. Do not expect the standard sized rooms of a modern chain hotel. Popular with locals and the gathering there one evening of a Northumbrian pipes band was a happy coincidence for us. Everything very clean and well kept. Free wifi. We stayed in two different rooms and both had brand new and very well fitted bathroom suites. Comfy beds. Staff were lovely. A nice homely hospitality with smiles and real warmth.

Only downside was reading the excessive complaints from Groupon travellers on this site. We thought the food well and freshly cooked and ample, indeed almost too ample and would have liked some lighter options on the menu with more greens and fruit. Reception is run by staff on other duties and usually empty with longish waits to find somebody. Felt everybody was working very hard to make the hotel a success and everybody's stay pleasant.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank skimblejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
15.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
17.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
495 reviews
12.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range: £39 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing