We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice......but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Nice......but tired”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Spent the night as a stop over en route from Edinburgh back home. Having left the booking fairly late we had limited choice for hotels but the Tankerville had a room. Thought it was a bit expensive but our fault for booking last minute. It's a fairly typical pub/hotel with a nice cosy bar and fire. We didn't eat but we did have pre-dinner drinks which was very nice. We had a warm welcome from the landlord too. The room was rather old fashioned, at best tired and not particularly clean. The carpet in the corner had rotted from a leak in the radiator and had a slightly sticky feel. The view was over the garden which was lovely but at 3.45am the sun rose and the thin white curtains magnified the rays resulting in us both being wide awake! The bathroom was large but basic, and the electric shower struggled to stay warm for very long.
At breakfast we ordered the full English which came with mushrooms....the plate arrived with no mushrooms and when we queried it were told they didn't have any. I know its a small thing being told and offered an alternative would have been nice.
It could be an absolutely beautiful hotel but I think it needs quite a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to standard for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NY777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    106
    49
    36
    14
See reviews for
51
170
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This place really needs a makeover very badly. The paint is peeling all over the outside and the inside is very gloomy. Beer is good, and the garden is nice to sit in when the sun is out. The big notice on the door says they only take cash and cheques, no cards, which is a real hassle as the nearest ATM is at the other end of the village. So ok for a bite to eat and a pint, but there are plenty of nicer places nearby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilMarshall2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Tankerville over 20 years ago.

Hadn't been back since but called in for lunch the other day.

The decor was just the same - nothing had changed. Paint and decoration required.

The food was ok but the portions were not over generous.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank snoophotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just spent 3 most enjoyable nights at this old English hotel/ pub .although the room was small it had everything we needed .the hotel has a laid back feel with the staff very helpful and friendly.This is a great area for waking and the scenery is breath taking.It is also has some stunning driving scenery.The food in the hotel is very good and the fish on the fish supper would feed a family of 4 alone.the bar has the usual beers and spirits with some nice local ales

Room Tip: We had a front view room we heard no noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Looked very nice but after booking one night, all pre February 2014 reviews made sense.
Hotel needs full referb. Yellow paint, wall paper pealing off walls.
Wall paper continued off wall onto bathroom shelf ???
Evening meal, Rib eye 60% gristle.
Ordered a morning paper, found it in reception, well thumbed by anyone walking through, not delivered to room ?
Breakfast, told to get my own coffee from the machine, bacon cooked long before breakfast -dry.
Well over priced. Was worth £70 per night minus discount for steak, bacon and self service attitude.
POSITIVE SIDE - grounds well maintained.
Very disappointing, no one managing the place or bothered.
Sorry but that,s the truth and lessons havn,t been learnt from pre February reviews. Would love to have given a positive review but well below acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Been meaning to writ this for a while, as we had a great stay at Tankerville Arms at the end of March, despite a bad first night’s sleep. We booked a 2 night Groupon deal and the hotel was great with a real nice bar area and nice friendly staff. The room was not massive but just the ideal size for the 2 of us and nice and clean – the same with the bathroom, which ‘did’ have a bath, which was a bonus. We had a drink in the bar, which was real homely and a meal in the restaurant, which was real tasty and just the right size for my wife. If like me, you have a large appetite, you need to add extras (I had chips) and I was still a bit hungry at the end. Despite this, if was a nice meal and we retired for the night in a real good mood, unfortunately the bed was the most noisy bed we had ever slept on and made constant creaking noises every time we moved causing us to only have 3 hours sleep all night. I mentioned this to the receptionist in the morning and was immediately told we would be moved to another room, which was fantastic, bigger room and bathroom and a comfortable, quiet night’s sleep – Thank you for that. Funny enough the cooked breakfast was a lot better on the Monday morning than the Sunday, unsure if it was the same chef or not? Overall a very pleasant say and well defiantly be coming back and stopping again and only the bad nights first sleep stopped my giving 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_Keep_it_METAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, Front Office Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you, looking forward to welcoming you back to The Tankerville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Six of us stayed here after a long walk from Kirk Yetholm, having found a good rate with Toprooms. For what we paid we were pleased with the size and comfort of the rooms. The food was only ok though; some of the meat dishes needed sauce or some moisture; there was no fresh fruit at brekkie, and the yoghurts were cheap and sugary. My main whinge would be about the grudging service, especially the bar shutters going up around 11pm, even for residents. After a 13 mile walk we were happy enough to turn in, but I might have felt a bit disgruntled if I had fancied another drink and/or if we had paid full price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTankerville A, Front Office Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, all noted. I do remember you were asked if you would like anymore drinks, to which you replied 'no'. Had you replied 'yes' the bar would have remained unlocked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
23.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
363 reviews
12.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
17.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
461 reviews
15.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Property: Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing